We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place to spend a few days” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Life in Amed Boutique Hotel

Save Saved
You added Life in Amed Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Life in Amed Boutique Hotel
Lean Village, Bunutan | Abang, Karangasem, Amed, Abang, Bali, Indonesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
5% Discount 7 night stay
Ranked #5 of 14 hotels in Amed
Sunnyvale, CA
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Lovely place to spend a few days”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We enjoyed our 4 nights here. The grounds/garden is beautifully maintained, and the bungalows are somewhat secluded behind shrubs. The front door and window coverings were beautifully carved and colorful. Each bungalow had different colors. The room was rather plain but adequate with stairs leading up to another room with twin beds. Perfect for a family. A big container of drinking water is available in the room. I would have given the the property 5 stars, except for the bed. Although comfortable, everytime you moved, the bed would make squeaking and creaking sounds. A little disturbing. Also it was impossible to take a shower without water flowing into the bath floor. A little dangerous. And the bathroom door had to be locked to keep it closed, which was necessary to keep the cold air inside the bedroom.

The property backs up to the beach. One morning we got up at 6 am to go down and see the fishermen come in. The horizon was dotted with many boats. It was fun seeing the fish they caught. The boats occupy most of the beach.

Staff was very friendly and the restaurant was wonderful. Very good food reasonably priced. You could eat in the restaurant or have food delivered to your room or around the pool. Best strawberry milkshake I had in Bali!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    98
    61
    23
    7
    2
See reviews for
71
64
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ubud, Indonesia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We stayed in the Perfumed Garden 3 bedroom villa. It was big enough to comfortably house 7 people, right on the beach, spacious garden with lounging chairs, swimming pool, food served at our massive dining table and massages in the garden. Snorkelling straight off the beach and boat trips available to other snorkelling spots (ask on the beach for Ketut to organise the boat trips). Although the restaurant had good reviews our food was average, but it didn't deflect from a great holiday. (Also a kettle in the room would have been good). We will definitely return!

Room Tip: Perfumed Garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

This hotel is very different than the other resorts on Bali. The concept is small, intimate. A small number of houses, clean, spaceous with two stories. Upstairs extra two beds. Shower outside, nice balkony, very charming. The swimmingpool is quite small, but there are not so many visitors anyway, so most of the times you will be on your own at the pool.
The restaurant is brilliant.Great variety of food, very well prepared for a very reasonable price. More reasonable than most Bali hotels. The staff is very friendly.
The environment of this hotel is an absolute benefit of this hotel. It is situated in the centre of a authentic fisherman's village. No commercial shops, markets, pubs, hotels, just real Bali life. Sometimes a bit noisy obviously, because of traffic, roosters, and mosque, but that is more charming than disturbing. The hotel provides ear plugs by the way ;-) and repellent. The beach is very near, big however occupied by the hundreds of fisherman's boats. If you want the touristic view on Bali, don't go here. But if you can appreciate real Indonesian life with the friendly people around you, this is a must to visit.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, try to get a hut near the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Im sitting here on our last morning of our stay at Life in Amed. We are having breakfast in the dining area even though we could have it in the villa. I do find the living area in the villa a little hot in the morning sun. We got up early this morning and saw the sun rise over Lombok with all the small fishing boats in the back drop. It was a lovely sight.
The Perfumed Garden is the large and impressive Villa on offer at Life in Amed. It consists of 3 bedrooms; 2 downstairs and 1 upstairs. All are large and have king size beds with A/c and bathrooms and are nicely decorated. You also have a large living area and kitchen and dining table that seats about 10. Your outlook is to a grassy knoll with palm trees then out to the beach, fishing boats and then the water. The water is very audible particularly at high tide. As you look from the villa outwards and to the right there is a great pool exclusively for your use. The pool is salt water and very clean and can be seen from the villa. If you are traveling with little ones who cannot swim, my suggestion is to either bring a life jacket from home OR as we did head to the big department store Carefours and buy a little suit with built in buoyancy. This will set you back about 450,000 IDR. or AUD$45.00 - best money we could have spent. I cannot begin to tell you how quickly little ones get to the pool and want to get in without waiting for you..... No pool in Bali has the regulations for fences that Australia does and your diligence is paramount.
I thought this place was great but please note that you are in a village and fisherman are right next to your villa. They start early, so if you dont want your sleep disrupted i would suggest a pair of ear plugs (standard part of my travel kit). I also want to talk about traveling with children - our party is 4 adults and 2 children (nearly 3 and 7) so having a 3 bedroom villa is great but you need to be aware of how this works!! The children had the upstairs bedroom. The bed was too high for the 3 year old, so they brought in a spare mattress for her. When the adults went to bed the parents locked the door so the children couldnt get out. Although this may sound terrible, the safety (pool) and security of your children is paramount. The 7 year old was able to be heard banging on the door or wall that would alert the adults if there was a problem we needed to deal with. We had this exact same situation in Seminyak, with the locking of the door. You just cannot risk little people around a pool. Here at Life in Amed you will need your insect repellent for the evenings. It's not too bad but you will need some protection. The staff are great; very friendly and helpful. Our special thanks to Susie, Ketut for her baby sitting on 2 occasions and to Wayan for hiring us his scooter. Amed is a region - a bit like Amalfi on the Amalfi Coast. A scooter is a great way to get around and see "Life in Amed" and we plan to do a bit more looking around over the next couple of days before we leave for the North/West. Many of the local restaurants offer a free transport system which is fantastic. I feel this is a great place to stay and our stay of 4 nights was just perfect. Happy travels.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Life in Amed was such a blessing to stay at. The photos on here and the website look amazing but to be there it really is something else. We stayed in the Beach House which is absolutely huge! The space was really comfortable, peaceful and spacious which makes it so restful to be at. The staff always treated us with such friendliness. Even if you do not end up staying here...(you'll be missing out!)...definitely go by and have some food....life chocolate cake...mmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Three couples were delighted when we saw the Balinese villa we had rented.Our own pool,waiters for drinks and food on call. The beach front house was all we could have hoped for in simplicity,position and ease of living.
The locals were keen to please and earn a few extra Rp.
We enjoyed in so much we are booked again next year to show the family the real Bali

Lee

Room Tip: Don't choose the room on the left hand side of the the house facing the ocean if you don't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Life in Amed is an enchanting place where you can really rest for a couple of days before going back to 'normal' life ;-)

The staff is very friendly, the bungalows are very clean, well furnished and BIG !
The pool is very nice and the access to the beach is super easy

Of course, this kind of experience must stay limited because life in Amed is clearly unreachable for balinese people...this place is designed for tourists so it would be too bad not to go and meet the people from the village...

In a nutshell : wonderful experience !

PS : a little desk, a trash-bin in the room and a little brush for the toilets please ! ;-)

Room Tip: All the room have a direct access to the pool and I have the impression that no one is better than a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Life in Amed Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Life in Amed Boutique Hotel

Address: Lean Village, Bunutan | Abang, Karangasem, Amed, Abang, Bali, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Abang > Amed
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Amed
#5 Romantic Hotel in Amed
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Life in Amed is a beachfront hotel in a traditional Balinese fishing village. Step back in time, enjoy the abundant marine life diving or snorkelling, gorgeous coastline and our quiet beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel so you can book your Life in Amed Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Life Amed Boutique Hotel
Life In Amed Boutique Hotel Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Life in Amed Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.