We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfumed garden at "Life in Amed"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Life in Amed Boutique Hotel

Save Saved
You added Life in Amed Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Life in Amed Boutique Hotel
Lean Village, Bunutan | Abang, Karangasem, Amed, Abang, Bali, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 14 hotels in Amed
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfumed garden at "Life in Amed"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Three couples were delighted when we saw the Balinese villa we had rented.Our own pool,waiters for drinks and food on call. The beach front house was all we could have hoped for in simplicity,position and ease of living.
The locals were keen to please and earn a few extra Rp.
We enjoyed in so much we are booked again next year to show the family the real Bali

Lee

Room Tip: Don't choose the room on the left hand side of the the house facing the ocean if you don't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    97
    58
    23
    7
    1
See reviews for
70
61
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Paris
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Life in Amed is an enchanting place where you can really rest for a couple of days before going back to 'normal' life ;-)

The staff is very friendly, the bungalows are very clean, well furnished and BIG !
The pool is very nice and the access to the beach is super easy

Of course, this kind of experience must stay limited because life in Amed is clearly unreachable for balinese people...this place is designed for tourists so it would be too bad not to go and meet the people from the village...

In a nutshell : wonderful experience !

PS : a little desk, a trash-bin in the room and a little brush for the toilets please ! ;-)

Room Tip: All the room have a direct access to the pool and I have the impression that no one is better than a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Indeed we had some fantastic time at Life in Amed. Staff supergentle, food really good and facilities are pretty sound BUT the most exciting added value for this resort is the proximity with the local villagers. They might have been a bit noisy but what a great experience that was. We played football with many kids and they invited us to a marriage celebration just behind the hotel.
The area is not too commercial yet. perfect for families that want to get in touch with different local culture. Going back to Life in Amed what we think is really top is the luxurious yet understated aesthetics and atmosphere.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Family of four stayed at LIfe for seven nights. Accomodation was delightful (paradise suite). Afternoon on the beach playing with local kids was also a treat, food good, We dined in a number of other restaurants that provide free pick up and drop off. Amed is a fantastic place to travel with kids, truely lovely local village people who don't hassle you as in other more populated tourist areas of Bali.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights in the Perfumed Garden Villa. It is a 3 hour car trip from the airport, made easy by the pick up service. The villa is gorgeous. I spent the early mornings reading on the couch, then headed for breakfast when the rest if the group woke. We didn't eat anywhere else apart from the restaurant (the food was amazing!). We then spent the days by the private pool and day couch.

We walked to the local shop for supplies, and they delivered all our purchases to the hotel/villa. The grounds were all amazing. It was really nice being so close to the beach, and watching the fishing boats out every morning.

It is part of a small village which is really nice. There are people around on the street (along with the gorgeous children).

I would definitely recommend the villa or other accommodation within Life in Amed. It is truly a touch of Bali paradise!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

We just spent 3 nights here wish we could have spent longer the staff are wonderful the food very gd we are veg and found plenty to eat they even made us a special dessert the room we stayed in called sari was fantastic with views to match will be back I hope next year for longer thank u all at life in amed

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We visited Amed with grand parents and 2 young kids ages 3 and 7. We rented the owner's villa as it had 3 bedrooms and private pool and because we had driven all over the town and nothing compared, so we took it. Bit on the expensive side, but Amed is a bit out of the ways. The other rooms were fully booked, they looked good too. The villa definitely made up for the long drive. The restaurant was also priced well and good food. The staff are very friendly, beach access out front a plus, but found the locals along the beach a bit much. Location to dive spots is ideal. Recommend this resort to anyone visiting Amed as it is a very charming oasis.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Life in Amed Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Life in Amed Boutique Hotel

Address: Lean Village, Bunutan | Abang, Karangasem, Amed, Abang, Bali, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Abang > Amed
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Amed
#5 Romantic Hotel in Amed
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Life in Amed is a beachfront hotel in a traditional Balinese fishing village. Step back in time, enjoy the abundant marine life diving or snorkelling, gorgeous coastline and our quiet beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel so you can book your Life in Amed Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Life Amed Boutique Hotel
Life In Amed Boutique Hotel Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Life in Amed Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.