We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Secluded resort perfect place to read a book” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Santai Hotel Bali

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Santai Hotel Bali to your Saves list
Santai Hotel Bali
3.5 of 5 Villa   |   Bunutan | Karangasem, Amed, Abang, Bali, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 53 Specialty Lodging in Amed
Bennebroek, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Secluded resort perfect place to read a book”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2011

The cottages are in good Bali taste. The served breakfast was really good. The resort is rather small, the pool is okay and much better than the beach to cool down. The beach is black sand and full of stones and fragments of broken coral and litter. You can't go from the beach into the sea without shoes. We came to Amed for the snorkeling but the sea was much too rough those days. Go to this resort if you want some days of rest. The best part of the visit to Amed was the trip from Ubud via scenic hill side route via Sidemen.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    54
    20
    8
    5
See reviews for
36
65
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hinckley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2010

We stayed at the Santai for two nights in Nov '10. I originally phoned up the night before and was told that there were no vacancies so we deicided to rent a car and venture to Amed to see if there was alternate accomodation. As we passsed the hotel there was a sign stating vacancies available and we stopped to confirm this. We wanted a beach bungalow and there was one available (No.3 I think) which was next to the restaurant and in front of the pool. Upon inspection we were immediately smitten and booked there and then.

The room was fantastic, very rustic but Polynesian in appearance. The bungalow was very clean with a great outside shower. There were another two beds upstairs on the front balcony which would come in handy for a family with kids.

The Santai has a great house reef and if you use the beach boys you can negotiate for about $20 a snorkeling trip to a sunken ship and a great coral garden (trip lasts for about 2.5 hours)

The restaurant has a fantastic chef and we didnt bother to wander outside and try different restaurants, no need to when they have a great menu. The staff were friendly and helpful at all times and if you want a place just to chill / snorkel and listen to the waves on the beach then this is the palce to go.

We will defintely go back again but next time stay for a full week as we had such a great time.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2010

We(my husband and I) recently spent 7 nights at Santai. The setting is beautiful! and yes the coffee on the balcony every morning was a real treat. Our room was number 9 which was spacious, clean and more than comfortable. It was however very, very close to the road which meant it was noisy, and for a longer stay this became annoying. We dined in the restaurant for all but three meals and wondered where the chilli was in the meals. I felt the meal prices were a little on the high side. We stayed in Ubud after this and compared prices, and even allowing for the extra freight component, double the price for a large bottle of water was a bit much. When we left we both commented that there was "something missing". This hotel seems to be geared to European travellers, and being Aussies...maybe this was the problem. The staff were pleasant, but the friendliness we have experienced at other hotels in Bali, both in the Amed region at Blue Moon and in Ubud just was not there at Santai. This was disappointing.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Århus, Denmark
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2010

Expectations as to the standard of the Santai were very high and these were just about satisfied. The location in Amed with direct access to the narrow, stoney beach is good. Don't come expecting a fantastic sandy beach but do come if you want to experience a superb coral reef, rich in flora & fauna, just 15 meters off shore! Fantastic! Pool with views over the sea was also great and very relaxing. The location is also superb in terms of access to some of the best scuba diving I've ever experienced. The restaurant was marvellous and boasts of a fine and varied menu. We ate at the Santai every evening and were never disappointed. The drawbacks? We booked a room called "Ocean View" which had not even a glimpse of the water! The room was on the first floor and backed onto the road and car park which meant that traffic noise provided a regular background noise throughout our stay. Disappointing when you've booked something entitled "Ocean View" and have been expecting a beach front location. And the uninvited guest? Well this was a four legged rodent who invaded our friend's room every night and forced them to vacate the room and move in with their children on the ground floor!! Squemish people would probably have run a mile but one has to remember that travelling in Asia provides some alternative experiences! All in all a good recommendation for Santai but do yourself a favour and try to avoid rooms backing onto the road. And say hello to Reme the rat from us!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2010

We stayed for four nights during our trip to Indonesia. The hotel is really relaxing, the swimming pool ideal for cooling off on hot days (greenery around the pool means that there is some areas in the shade), the restaurant served both local and western type food. Every morning, a pot of water for tea and coffee was left outside on our sitting area so we could enjoy a drink as soon as we woke up.
Internet - wifi - was available at a small price ( pre-paid cards on sale in reception)
Amed itself is very small - more like a scattering of a few hotels, restaurants and diving schools spread along the coastline.
We booked a day tour for our last day in Santai - we were very happy with the driver, transport etc that the hotel arranged for us. So although Amed is small, it's possible to travel to see some of the sights - Royal Water Gardens and Bat Temple were two that we particularily enjoyed
Would I stay again ? If I was in the area and wanting somewhere to relax, definitely!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2010

I absolutely adored Santai. We arrived expecting to spend only a night here before moving on, but the place is so perfect, and so charming that we stayed 3 nights. Because of this, we had to change rooms every day, which I actually liked as we got to experience different types of room in the hotel.

Amed is a very quite part of Bali, and this hotel is quite remote- you'll need a taxi or a bike to get anywhere- but that's part of its charm. All the bungalows are beautiful- spacious, cool and inviting, with lovely outdoor bathrooms, and an outdoor decking area outside with day beds where you can relax. Every morning, the staff bring you a tray of coffee and leave it outside your door, so you can relax on your terrace with your coffee before going to breakfast.

The food here is absolutely lovely- a beautiful menu with a great range of choices, and lovely cocktails.

This hotel is right next door to the sea- an archway in the wall takes you directly onto the beach- it's a black sand beach as it's volcanic, but it's a stunning stretch of beach/sea. There's a coral reef directly outsie the hotel as well, and you can hire scuba equipment from the hotel and swim out to explore the reef- definitely worth doing!

The swimming pool is absolutley stunning- quite, relaxing, clean.

I would definitely recommend this hotel to anybody looking for a relaxing, reasonably priced, beautiful and quiet hotel.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Top Contributor
186 reviews 186 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
147 helpful votes 147 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2010

All great about our stay there (4 nights in ocean bungalow - 2 kids and 2 adults).

The best for this hotel :

- Rooms with ocean view, perfect to suit for families : large bed for parents and 2 small beds upstairs for kids and great open-air bathroom
- Snorkelling and see lots of fishes only 30 meters in front of hotel with coral reefs
- Good service (rental scooter directly from hotel for example)
- Spa / Massage with ocean view
- Very good restaurant (i recommand the oven-baked chocolate mousse)

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Santai Hotel Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santai Hotel Bali

Address: Bunutan | Karangasem, Amed, Abang, Bali, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Abang > Amed
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 53 Specialty Lodging in Amed
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Santai Hotel Bali 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Santai Hotel Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santai Hotel Bali Amed

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Santai Hotel Bali, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.