We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint, well kept accommodation in a convenient location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pondok Bukit Bungalows

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amed
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pondok Bukit Bungalows
Save
You added Pondok Bukit Bungalows to your Saves list
Beach Road, Amed, Abang, Bali 80852, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 44 Amed B&B and Inns
Durham, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Quaint, well kept accommodation in a convenient location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

I stayed here for three nights in March whilst completing my Advanced Open Water Course with Jukung Dive. The accommodation was reasonably priced. On arrival to the bungalows, you walk up some steps of a walled area, so the bungalows cannot be seen from the road. In order to get to your accommodation you walk along a wooden pathway where underneath there is a fish pond. There are seating areas with loungers to relax in and the pool is right outside the accommodation.

I stayed in the twin room on my own. On arrival, the room was clean and well presented. There was well functioning air con and a digital safe. To my delight, there was an open air bathroom attached to the room which meant you were showering being able to hear the sea and all the wildlife around you. The showers have hot water and the bathrooms are kept very clean.

The breakfast that was included was basic - toast, orange juice and a selection of teas - but was satisfactory for me. There was the option to supplement this with other breakfast items if desired. You can eat dinner at the bungalows restaurant also, and they have a wide writer including western and Balinese foods, which were delicious.

A note to women travelling on their own (as I was) - I felt very safe and well looked after for the whole of my stay and during my diving. The accommodation was secure and I had no concerns.

I had a very pleasant stay in the bungalows and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
7
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Niel, Antwerpen, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We stayed at Pondok Bukit Bungalows for 5 days while doing our Open Water certification at Jukung Dive. We had a wonderful room: very clean, nicely decorated, airconditioning, warm water shower and beautiful small sitting area outside. There is also a beautiful swimming pool for the few guests in this little resort.
We used their taxi service to go from and to the hotel: the drivers offered an excellent service, it is a correct price (compared it to other offers) and they use a pool of local drivers to support local economy.
We rented a scooter from a lady working in the restaurant and made a beautiful daytrip along the coast through local villages, a wonderful day!

And if you want to go diving: Jukung Dive was truly amazing! We had an amazing instructor (Sidarta), beautiful dive spots in the area and the entire organization is just very professional. Great experience, thanks again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niel, Antwerpen, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We stayed at Pondok Bukit Bungalows for 5 days while doing our Open Water certification at Jukung Dive. We had a wonderful room: very clean, nicely decorated, airconditioning, warm water shower and beautiful small sitting area outside. There is also a beautiful swimming pool for the few guests in this little resort.
We used their taxi service to go from and to the hotel: the drivers offered an excellent service, it is a correct price (compared it to other offers) and they use a pool of local drivers to support local economy.
We rented a scooter from a lady working in the restaurant and made a beautiful daytrip along the coast through local villages, a wonderful day!

And if you want to go diving: Jukung Dive was truly amazing! We had an amazing instructor (Sidarta), beautiful dive spots in the area and the entire organization is just very professional. Great experience, thanks again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Did some diving as well in Amed with Jukung Dive and stayed in their bungalows; Pondok Bukit Bungalows (don't get confused; this is NOT Jukung Bali! Completely different place in Amed!! At Jukung Dive/Pondok Bukit Bungalows you get great diving, service, very nice rooms and great food....
If you stay in Amed, stay at the Jukung Dive Pondok Bukit Bungalows!!!

Room Tip: Room 1 is a huge family room with amazing ocean view...;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

I stayed at one of the three Pondok Bukit rooms for 1 week and did the 11-dive safari with Jukung Dive Bali. I left Bali a happy man.
Although the room is very basic and has no TV, it has aircon and a HUGE comfy 4-poster bed with mosquito net. The room is very clean and is nicely decorated. It is right next to the pool and has a view of the beach. The room is very quiet, I can hear the waves crashing onto the pebble stone beach every night. Water pressure is very low though, so showers take much longer than usual, but hey, no rush there, everything in Amed is sloooooowww...
The restaurant is pretty good too, may not be the cheapest around but stilll reasonably priced (around US$5 for an entree). Food and drinks are tasty and clean, it serves both traditional Indonesian as well as Western dishes. A nice and quiet environment to sit down, have a meal and read a book at the same time.
The dive shop is very well organized. The staff are experienced and know exactly what they are doing. I did most of my dives alone with the DM, who did 1,500+ dives in that area and knows exactly what to look for and where to look for them. As for the dive sites, most are quite beautiful but diving the Liberty wreck at night was definitely the highlight of my trip.
In conclusion, I would recommend Jukung Dive Bali to my friends and will stay with them again if I happen to go to Amed again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2011

While reviewing where to stay and dive in east Bali, we strumbled across Amed and Jukung Dive Bali. So, we decided to give it a try.

We were greeted by Wayan at the airport and transfered to Jukung Bali Bungalow. We were surprised by the bungalow upon arrival in Amed. It was so beautiful. The entire place was lit up as we arrived at night. There were 3 bungalows owned by Jukung Dive Bali. The entire building is painted in white with an open concept bathroom. The room is spacious and as well as the bathroom. They have a nice pool in front of the bungalows and open view to the sea.

We stayed 5 nights with Jukung Dive Bali and did 12 dives with them. It was an awesome trip for us. We enjoyed the stay, the scenary, the food, the people and most of all the atmosphere in Amed.

Thanks Maarten and the team for the great vacation.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pondok Bukit Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pondok Bukit Bungalows

Address: Beach Road, Amed, Abang, Bali 80852, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Abang > Amed
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Amed
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our spacious bungalows all have seaview on the Amed bay and have a 3 steps access to one of our pools.Terraces are next to the bungalows.They have AC,private bathroom with hot water,safe,wifi.Nextdoor you will find our PADI 5 star dive resort Jukung Dive that welcomes divers from all levels and our famous restaurant ''Cafe Senang'' that serves breakfast lunch and dinner. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pondok Bukit Bungalows Amed, Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pondok Bukit Bungalows, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.