We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Moon Villas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Blue Moon Villas to your Saves list
Blue Moon Villas
Selang Beach, Amed, Abang, Bali, Indonesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Amed
perth
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Relaxing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

We stayed at the Blue Moon in the two storey Villa ( Blue Star ) . Its divine with a lovely view across the water and two wonderful horizon pools. I reluctantly left after four days as its not suitable for young children having stairs and ponds everywhere . You are charged a days stay penalty for leaing early if you booked longer which is normal in Bali . If your kids are older than six years or so I see no issues with safety. Dinner was very nice . You can get much better value for food next door at the Aqua Terrace or further to the right up the hill at Deep Blue . The rooms are well appointed, staff friendly and you will not get the loud noise you usually get in Amed staying near the beach so great for couples. You are a good walk from most things here but not too far that its an issue. Its a perfect space to relax. The Balinese Omlettes are lovely for breakfast. The morning brekkie fruit salads were near tasteless all four days so hopefully just a supplier issue. Internet is poor quality when staying in a room higher than the resturant here so bring a book and enjoy.

Room Tip: If you want to splurge, the Blue Angel suites right on cliff edge take some beating
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    75
    25
    11
    1
See reviews for
60
129
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We have just come back from a lovely holiday in Bali and spent 4 days out of our trip at Blue Moon.I had just come from climbing Mt Rinjani in Lombok so relaxing in Amed was the perfect thing as there is pretty much nothing to do in Amed but relax. We stayed in the Blue Paradise Penthouse and our two children were in villa under us. I will say though if you did have young children the villas are separate and not two bedroom in the same building so you may want to consider that, it was fine for our kids as they are teenagers. The villas were spotless and very comfortable. We had an amazing view across the water, and I loved looking at Mt Rinjani across the water knowing I had climbed it a few days earlier. The pool was beautiful and it was lovely swimming and looking out over the ocean. Breakfast was included in price and it was great, it was so big we really didn't eat anything else until dinner. We had dinner 3 out of 4 nights there and it was very nice. The staff there were all really lovely. They were very friendly and also very helpful. I know people have complained about noise Roosters, motorbikes etc. but that is pretty much Bali, animal and street noise is what you get. But to be honest it was hardly noticeable and we found the traffic so quite we didn't hesitate about hiring motorbikes for us and our two kids and felt perfectly safe.And I could think of worse things to be woken up by than a rooster in the morning.So in summing up Blue Moon is a lovely place with great staff and beautiful food and if you are looking to relax and do nothing its the perfect place.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

I was surprised to read the negative reviews on this place. We loved it and can't wait to go back. Upon arrival, we were greeted before we were even out of the car and whisked away to our room. We stayed in one of the new 1br villas. Our room was beautiful-spotless, luxurious and comfortable in every way. The room looked out over the sea and from the bed or from our private veranda we could see straight to the horizon. We did share a pool with two other rooms but only once did we see someone else. Staying at the first of the three rooms, we likely had a bit more privacy on our veranda than the other two so that might be a good one to request.

The staff were all lovely and accommodating. They explained everything upon arrival and were eager to assist in anything we needed. Breakfast was good and we ate dinner at the restaurant twice. The vegetarian Nasi Campur was amazing-I ordered it both times! Also, there is a tempe "light dish" that is sort of a "chips and salsa" Indonesian style. You can order food/beverages in your room as well.

I understand what others have said about the noise of the motorbikes. However, we also stayed at another resort in the middle of nowhere, certainly without traffic and the birds and roosters woke us up every morning. I wouldn't let a little street noise stop me. You never know what might happen when traveling-bring earplugs and a sleep mask! By the way, the other resorts we stayed in were double the cost of the Blue Moon and none of them were as nice.

The Blue Moon was just what we needed for relaxation and luxury without being over the top. The town of Amed is just a five minute drive and there are many local eateries, tours and dive shops when you are ready to venture out. We will definitely be going back!

Room Tip: 1 bedroom villas are worth the splurge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BluemoonBali, Manager at Blue Moon Villas, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Loved it! Your review is priceless. It raised our spirits after the recent negative post. Thank you for loving it all!! Thank you for taking time to write your review. We look forward to welcoming you back to Blue Moon, before too long.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We stayed at Blue Moon at the start of June 2013 in a Blue Paradise Penthouse. The blue angel villas where full for the duration of our stay. We where very lucky with no other people staying in our section so we had a pool all to ourselves. The view was amazing, especially to watch the fishing boats coming in about 8am. The rooms are a little dated, however extremely clean with fresh linen etc. The outdoor bathroom was a treat and added a little extra to the room. What i liked most is there was NO TV!! The Wi-Fi was not working in our stay due to a large storm the week before. The new blue angel villas where being built at the time of stay, I would recommend to stay in the blue angel villas if you can, however, we where very happy in ours. There are a couple of sets of stairs in the property, so be wary of that when booking, again, it didn't bother us. The service here is excellent, always calling you by name and so very friendly. The staff organised scooters, snorkelling gear, beer and massages in room for us. They could not have been better and added to the delight that is Amed. We ate mainly at the villas and the food was well priced and tasty, no room service. There is an excellent Japanese restaurant next door, if you would like a change. We loved Amed, the old Bali and would return for a chilled out, relaxed, away from the world holiday.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BluemoonBali, Manager at Blue Moon Villas, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
We appreciate, very much, that you took time out to write a review of Blue Moon Villas. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay so much. Your very positive comments are most welcome & the staff will be very happy to read your kind remarks and positive feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back before too long. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We were disappointed with this place the moment we arrived. I could tell straight away that it was very far from the 5 star price tag (145euros per night) we had to pay. I was expecting total luxury in service and privacy and quiet for this price. The new 1 bed villas have perfect ocean views but sit just below a busy stretch of road where motorbikes are constantly revving their engines to get up that stretch of hill. In addition, the roosters etc woke us very very early every morning and the white curtains were useless in blocking out the rising sun. So, if you want to sleep beyond 6am this is NOT the place! Normally, hotels with these pricetags have at least dark, if not blockout curtains. The worst thing was that the new villas are built cheek by jowl so NO privacy. Its unbelievable for this money that they are not secluded from the neighbours. You can get private pool villas all over Bali for less than this, let alone the very long drive it is to get to Amed. The website photos portray a very different picture of this resort. For example, the restaurant is really quite dark, the placemats faded and the serviettes often unironed and dirty stains. Well in the photo the floor is light and all looks fresh and new. Also, there is a huge chunk missing on one of the front steps, a big chunk missing from the welcome mat and the signage is very average and faded. Not what you expect for the price.
Worse still was that we were completely stuck there as it is many kms from other establishments. Fortunately I discovered up to the right a place to eat called Paradise that was much much cheaper. So I felt stuck and had to pay high prices for meals and when I asked about a shuttle there was none (again, all high priced hotels in Bali provide shuttles). They said I had to pay 150,000RPH just to get a few km down to the village!!
In the room there was no information at all, no pricing for mini bar and precious little in the way of toiletries. there was no TV and no CD player. I appreciate that you don't come to Amed for TV but all the same, at these prices they should provide these things should you wish to relax with music or TV. If it rains then this may be something you want to do.
The teabags were basic quality and no creamer , had to ask for milk. Really, for these prices all these details should be attended to. We had to carry our own bags when we left as no one offered to help us bring them up. They also did not take time to give us basic information about Amed in lieu of providing the usual hotel folder with brochures etc. We felt very trapped and very ripped off. It is quite outrageous that they provided such a low level of care and interest for this money. Also, we did not have a computer and they wanted 20,000 RPH per hour to use theirs. Well, the wi-fi was supposed to be free anyway so that was just to sit at their terminal. In Ubud and Seminyak, internet cafes charge exactly half that amount! On the last day they let me have a brief time for free-again, many hotels charging significantly less than this amount (eg. The Haven/Artemis Villa in Seminyak) have computers available for guests for FREE!! And the cost is $90 per night not over $200!!

All of the above really disappointed us as we had thought we would splurge on a few nights of total luxury, assuming that $200AUS would buy that in Amed. Yes, the ocean view was perfect but so many other aspects were just not good value for money. The staff also kept giving furtive looks and I got the strong impression they were really out to get as much money from us as possible but not reciprocating with the level of kindness and attention to service and detail that should be included. I have never had this experience in Bali anywhere else and certainly never paid anything like this amount of money anywhere else but had far, far better experiences. It has made me question why I got sucked in and I really am nervous about coming back to Amed. If I could be refunded some of what I outlayed I would. they should learn that not all tourists have huge budgets and for us it was an enormous expense which was not worth it at all. Oh yes, I forgot to say that the bed was very hard and the pillow terrible quality. We are in a place a third of the price in Ubud with comfortable bed/pillows just like in Candidasa. Appalling...
And one night some locals were screaming and yelling for hours which disturbed our sleep too.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BluemoonBali, Manager at Blue Moon Villas, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Dear Guest..We are very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us and very sorry to disappoint you.
We are naturally upset to read such a negative review.
As you say, you were disappointed by Blue Moon from the moment you arrived. You had expected a 5 star resort with total luxury and all things associated with a 5 star hotel. You had not anticipated our quiet location.
When a guest arrives with certain expectations and assumptions that we cannot live up to.. there is no way that we can make it right.
Many hotels and restaurants get 4 or 5 stars on Tripadvisor, but this does not make them a 4 or 5 star establishment.
We do not purport to be a 5 star resort with all the luxury that a guest may expect from a 5 star hotel. We do not have butler service , private pool villas, TVs/Dvds,, free shuttles or extensive toiletries & teas.
We are a small family run business with varying types of rooms. Our rooms start at €65/night, including breakfast, tax & service.
We are situated on a spectacular coastline in rural Bali.
We really try our very best to provide a beautiful environment & a beautiful experience of Bali, for all our guests. But it is not possible to please all the people all the time; and especially when you look through the eyes of disappointment, it is difficult to see the good things.
To address a few of your complaints;
We are sorry that the hotel info book was not in your room. It was at the printers being updated. We should have given you a copy of the old one.
There are external blinds on the terrace to block out the sun in the morning.
The 3 new Blue Angel Oceanfront 1 Bedroom villas are are separated from each other by wooden screens and plants. The garden is growing well, and will soon provide further privacy.
We use one of the best quality sprung mattresses available.
There are several other eating places within walking distance. Also good choice of places with free pick up service.
We have some of the most kind and caring staff possible. They were aware that you were not happy and were looking at you, only with concern for your well being.
We hope that you & your son enjoyed the rest of your time in Bali and that its magic washed away your disappointment with Blue Moon Villas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northallerton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Unfortunately it rained the majority of the time in Amed when we stayed at Blue Moon Villas. The hotel is nice and the rooms are really well laid out and very relaxing. We stayed in the luxury rooms overlooking the sea. The only let down was there was no sanitary provision for females nor bin liners, also, there was no powered milk for tea/coffee or cups in the room. The breakfast was very good and the view from the restaurant was really good. The food is slightly expensive to eat on an evening and drink also quite expensive. You can eat cheaper and food is just as good if you book a taxi through one of the other restaurants (they will pick up and collect). We did just that with Bali Beer and Grill which was really nice.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BluemoonBali, Manager at Blue Moon Villas, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Thank you so much for taking time to post a review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, despite the rain! The Rainy Season finished later than usual this year.
Apologies for the lack of cups and milk in your room.
Thank you for all your kind comments
Happy to hear that Bali Beer & Grill was a nice alternative place to eat..
We hope, one day, we will have chance to welcome you back to Blue Moon Villas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

We had a lovely time staying at Blue Moon Villas. The friendly staff were so helpful and nothing was too much trouble. Our room was beautiful and the view out to sea amazing.

Food was tasty and reasonably priced. We had a peek at the new villas and they looked lovely with fantastic views over the sea.

Blue Moon is perfect for a chill out break. If you are fond of the beach, you might want to choose a different area because although the snorkelling & diving are good, the beaches in this area have black volcanic sand. It didn't matter to us as we enjoyed relaxing by the lovely pool.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BluemoonBali, Manager at Blue Moon Villas, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Dear Guests. We thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for all your kind comments about the staff, rooms, food and ambiance at Blue Moon. It is much appreciated. We hope you can travel back to stay with us again, sometime in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Blue Moon Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Moon Villas

Address: Selang Beach, Amed, Abang, Bali, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Abang > Amed
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Amed
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Amed
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Paradise - with stunning ocean views - in enchanting Amed - East Bali. Stylish, relaxed and welcoming. Beautiful rooms. Set in a lush tropical garden with 3 swimming pools overlooking the ocean, Blue Moon Villas is the perfect place to relax in Amed, East Bali. Our unique boutique resort nestles on a small headland overlooking the Bali Sea with access to the beach below us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your Blue Moon Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Moon Villas Hotel Amed
Blue Moon Villas Amed, Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Moon Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.