We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven on Earth” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palm Garden Amed Beach & Spa Resort Bali

Save Saved
You added Palm Garden Amed Beach & Spa Resort Bali to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Palm Garden Amed Beach & Spa Resort Bali
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Raya Amed | Lean Village, Bunutan | Abang, Karangasem, Amed, Bali, Indonesien, Amed, Abang, Bali 80852, Indonesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% off room rate
Ranked #1 of 14 hotels in Amed
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
“Heaven on Earth”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

While planning our one week vacation in Bali, we had wanted to see a different side of Bali, away from the southern beach areas of Kuta, Legian, Seminyak, Sanur or Nusa Dua - and thought of Amed, which was probably as far east as it gets in Bali. However, we were unsure of the area, and decided to just plan in a recce trip of one night only away from the south to see what Amed was all about. If we liked it, we could then return in future for a longer holiday.

We wanted a hotel by the beach; but it was high season and accommodation options were limited. Palm Garden Amed immediately captured our attention from the reviews here on TripAdvisor but unfortunately they had a minimum 2 night booking policy, while we had only 1 night to spare on our itinerary. Fortunately, e-mail correspondence was quick and promptly responded to and they gladly accommodated our request for one night as they had availability. Payment was made upfront through the hotel website with no issues - but curiously quoted in Swiss Francs. The reason for this was that the resort is owned and operated by a Swiss couple, who we actually met later during our stay.

The trip to Amed by car had spectacular scenery, especially once pass Candidasa, with views of the brooding Gunung Agung in the distance as well as rice paddies. The turn-off into the narrow road into Amed is an eye opener. Amed is actually only the name of the first village in a series of fishing villages along the east coast. As we drove through the fishing villages with names like Jemeluk, Bunutan and Lipah, we could feel immediately that the area was very rustic, basic, rural, authentic and had a relaxed vibe totally different from the overly populated crazy touristy areas of Kuta with its shops and many distractions in the south. This was the real Bali.

When we finally arrived at Lean village and saw the Palm Garden we were totally impressed. Certainly from what we saw along the road, the Palm Garden was probably the most upmarket resort in the area. It was certainly pretty, and with only 10 units of accommodation, a charming cosy and intimate resort in neatly manicured grounds. Check-in was a breeze, in fact all staff interaction we had throughout our stay was pleasant and great. We were even given sarongs to be worn if we chose to, which was a nice touch.

We were brought to our villa, which was the closest one to the swimming pool and restaurant, and immediately like what we saw. The villa had a traditional Balinese thatched roof with an outdoor patio but inside it was all modern, comfortable, new and decorated with teak furniture. With only five villas on the property, these were certainly the ones to go for. Although the oceanfront bungalows were great with its own plunge pools, these villas are so close to the beach anyway - the savings in the rate you pay are well worth it.

The villas come complete with a king-sized bed, air-cond, fan, safe, refrigerator, hair dryer and thankfully no television. Wi-Fi was available, and the password could be obtained from reception at no additional charge.

The semi-outdoor bathroom was spacious with rain-shower complete with hot water. It is certainly always an experience in Bali to be bathing outdoors under the stars!

The resort is located on a working fishing village, and the black sand beach is always full with the pretty traditional jukung fishing outrigger canoes lined up on the sand. We were sceptical of claims of snorkeling being possible on Bali beaches, but here in Amed, the water is indeed clear and calm, at least when we were there. At the headland right in front of the resort, you can indeed snorkel and although much of the coral is bleached, there is still enough to keep you occupied and colourful fish to see.

That night we tried out the resort spa, and the two local masseuses were very good. It was a totally relaxing experience with the cool night sea breeze tinkling the wind chimes as the massage was in progress. Would highly recommend the spa experience. Once or twice, the sound of motorcycles from the village next door did punctuate the bliss of the massage - but this is no big issue.

We didn't really get to try the restaurant food other than the breakfast, so we can't really comment on the food. We had read some previous mixed reviews of the breakfast, but we found it to be fine.

All-in-all, one night was really much too short a time to spend here, and before we knew it, our time in heaven was up. Would we return to Amed? Most definitely, and certainly it has to be the Palm Garden Amed.

Room Tip: The Villas are the ones to pick.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    94
    16
    5
    4
    0
See reviews for
12
83
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Way off the beaten track in a pretty garden setting. Service was excellent with very friendly helpful staff. Rooms were contemporary and very stylish. Ours had an outdoor bathroom which was amazing. Food was limited but freshly prepared and delicious. The beach had black sand with clear warm sea. Best to swim at high tide as otherwise shallow, but the pool was also lovely. Although at the very far end of the town of Amed, the local restaurants will pick you up and return you. Highly recommend

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the detached villas in the garden with a good sized terrace. There were some lar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Recently returned from Bali and Lombok and split the 15 day trip into 3 segments. First was Sanur, as a central location to take advantage of various day tours. Second was in the Amed area, and wrapped up the trip in Gili Trawangan. Each segment was very different from the other, which was the intention in order to have a variety of adventures and cultural experiences.

HIGHLIGHTS OF STAY AT PALM GARDEN:
1. Beautiful Location
Although many visitors to Bali focus their stay in the busy tourist centres around Denpasar, Kuta and Seminyak, I thankfully limited my time in those areas (often stuck in traffic) as part of day trips while in Sanur. I wanted to experience the quieter and less developed side of Bali, and the Amed area on the east coast certainly did not disappoint. This area is comprised of many traditional little fishing villages nestled in beautiful bays along the coast. Palm Garden is in the Lean village, between Selang and Lipah villages. The resort is at the very south end of the bay on a very beautiful, although narrow, sandy beach.

2. Quality Resort
As others have noted, this is a quality property. Less than 3 years old, the owners clearly put their hearts and money into designing an amazing small (10 unit) resort. Attention to detail is everywhere. Intricate stone carvings, woodwork, art, landscaping, furnishings, etc. all combine to create a very high end experience. We stayed in Villa 10, which is one of two ocean front villas with amazing views, large deck with comfy patio furniture and a private plunge pool. Also has the largest bathroom (outdoor) that I have ever experienced at a resort.

3. Customer Service
Reception, bar/restaurant, landscaping/maintenance and security staff are all friendly and willing to assist wherever possible. Staff knowledge of English varies, but all spoke enough to get by, and would refer you to others if they didn't fully understand your question/request. Little things like having sarongs, power converters and flashlights (for evening walks), and 2 courtesy bottles of water per villa per day available all contribute to a quality experience. The Swiss owners live on site most of the year. They introduced themselves upon arrival, were available to answer any questions, but stayed in the background. A special note of appreciation to Orlando (owner and managing director) who went the extra mile prior to my visit to assist with a domestic airline reservation.

4. Bar/Restaurant
Although the resort is very small, it has a full service bar/restaurant from early morning until late evening. Breakfast is included (and available until noon!), with guests able to choose from 3 sections from an a la carte menu. For a small resort, the range and choice of dinner options is surprisingly broad and reasonably priced. As in any restaurant, service is quicker when not as many guests are seated.

5. Good Snorkeling
The Amed area promotes itself as having some of the best snorkeling and diving in Bali. My expectations in this regard were pretty high, as I have had the good fortune to snorkel at many of the world's top locations. Although not fully meeting my expectations with respect to the quality of corals, the snorkeling in the Amed area is generally good (again keeping in mind my comparisons to past experiences), and is certainly better than most of what I subsequently saw at the Gili Islands. There is good snorkeling right off the beach in front of Palm Garden, and better if you swim south around the point to Selang Beach. I snorkelled at several other beaches including Lipah and Jemeluk, but found nothing better than Selang.

SUGGESTIONS TO MAKE YOUR STAY BETTER:
1. Explore the Culture of the Local Villages
Be sure to venture outside of the resort and walk through the local villages to experience the culture and daily routines of the residents. Even a 30 minute walk either south or north (I preferred north) of the resort will be a real eye opener of how basic life is in this area. Always felt very safe, and everyone was very friendly, with relatively few locals trying to sell you their goods. If you are tired and want a ride back to the resort, many locals will offer you 'transport'. More than once, when I asked what the cost would be, the reply I got was it was up to me to decide the amount.

2. Consider Stocking up on Drinks and Snacks Prior to Arrival
Although the villas have very reasonably priced mini bars for beer and sodas, you may wish to consider bringing your alcohol and snack preferences with you. There are a couple of small stores for basics in the next village north Lipah, but this is a bit of a hike with a couple of hills.

3. Remember to Bring Cash
Although Palm resort accepts credit cards, not all restaurants and stores do, and there is no ATM yet within a half hour drive. Locals expect IDR currency for services such as transport, etc.

4. Try Other Restaurants
Although the restaurant at Palm Garden is good, I would recommend also trying nearby Sails (they will transport you to/from their restaurant at no cost). Good menu/food/service, and free bottled water is included with meal, and no service charge automatically included on bill. Life is Amed is another good option (although limited seating) just a few minutes walk north of Palm Garden. Both of these restaurants accept major credit cards.

5. Bring Something to Read
There are thankfully no TV sets or phones in the villas.

6. Swim at High Tide
The beach at Palm Garden is best used during high tide. Once in the water, there is coral that is hard on the feet, so consider bringing or renting water shoes unless you have fins. The coral has been cleared by the fishermen directly in front of villas 9 and 10, to allow easier access for their boats. If the tide is going out when you are swimming, this is the safest place to enter and return to shore. In the alternative, a similar coral clearing is located further north on the beach, close to the rock water break.

7. Consider a Half or Full Day Land Tour
The east coast of Bali is beautiful, and definitely worth exploring. Consider taking a private tour with a local driver to see the sights. A half day tour will cost approx. $30 US and a full day approx. $45 US. Two drivers that I used and would highly recommend as being reliable, friendly, knowledgeable, and speak good English are:

Wayan mangkuredana@yahoo.com

Salit Arsa amed-salit@hotmail.com

I hope that this info helps to make your stay in the Amed area more enjoyable!
Best wishes for a great vacation,
Dave

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

This is an impeccably kept resort in an isolated corner of Bali, well off the beaten track for most tourists except those with a bent for diving. But that's it's plus and its minus. The resort is Swiss owned and run with the attention to detail you would expect from this style of management. The rooms are well appointed and well maintained. The pool and surrounds are clean and have a beautiful view through the local fishing boats to the sea beyond. The reef is maybe 30 metres from shore if you feel like a snorkel (the reef itself is dead but a variety of colourful fish abound). For the more adventurous there are the more sophisticated dives that can be organised through the resort and for which this part of Bali is famous.
The local restaurants in the area are good - try Aqua Terrace (see separate review) you won't be disappointed - but we didn't try the hotel for dinner although other guests seemed satisfied. The reason was that the complimentary breakfast were very ordinary and dinner we thought promised to be of the same standard. Why don't hotels promote their food by providing a well cooked and presented breakfast?
Would I recommend this resort? Yes, with the reservations based on the above.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

stayed in january with my mother to show her a different side of bali. Palm garden does look pretty and the drive to amed is gorgeous but for some reason that i cant put my finger on Palm Garden just didnt meet our expectations. The room was fine, clean, thin mattress and not enough blankets, bathroom good. Nice to have an outdoor shower especially when it is pouring with rain. Maybe because at the time we were there in January there was only 1 other couple so there was no atmosphere.the beach was murky(wet season) full of fishing boats so that you couldnt walk very far along it, the staff were inattentive (except for the front desk and cleaner) the included breakfast very basic, we had 1 evening meal which was just edible so decided not to bother again except for the hot chips and steamed tomato. Spa was only ok. Visited my sister staying further along the beach in a cheaper place which had a much better restaurant ,better location and outlook , and general overall feel so we ended up spending more time there. Palm Garden wasnt for us but it is a pretty place. Maybe try in high season when there is more people around, the ocean should be cleaner and the owner may be around for guidance. Also for a large group of friends with scooters to get around could be good.

Room Tip: take a villa and stay in high season .
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

My husband and I stayed for two nights at the end of our Bali trip and loved every minute.

Pros:
- Lovely, attentive, and sweet staff who spoke good English.
- Beautiful views of the beach with locals and colorful fishing boats.
- Walking distance (2km) to Japanese shipwreck snorkeling spot.
- Good restaurant with local and western food which stays open until 11PM and has room service.
- Very quiet and peaceful.
- Deep pool was fun for adults.

Cons:
- Nothing really to complain about, but if I had to make up something it would be that the shower drain was a little bit clogged.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Bungalow, and it had high ceilings and a comfortable layout with a large porch. Yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nha Trang
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

We had our first trip to beautiful island of bali and we stayed 5 nights at Palm Garden Resort.
The Place is nice, beautifully designed and well maintained. A quiet place, not for guests who expect party locations close by. The room was fine and fit our needs.
Dont expect a TV or other equipment, just what you really need is there. I dont use TV in my holiday anyway, so i dont missed it at all. The owner told us, that a WiFi should be in service soon. We visited some close-by Restaurants that had WiFi, but the Internet connection is delivered via wireless telephone and its slow anyway. Its enough to check your emails.

We recommend this place for travellers / couples who like to spend time in a quiet surrounding in a pictoresque landscape.

Room Tip: If you like to make yourself a really pleasant stay, choose a villa. the room is spacious and beauti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Palm Garden Amed Beach & Spa Resort Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Garden Amed Beach & Spa Resort Bali

Address: Jalan Raya Amed | Lean Village, Bunutan | Abang, Karangasem, Amed, Bali, Indonesien, Amed, Abang, Bali 80852, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Abang > Amed
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Amed
#1 Romantic Hotel in Amed
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Amed
#4 Family Hotel in Amed
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Palm Garden Amed Beach & Spa Resort Bali 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palm Garden Amed - Beach & SPA ResortSituated on the north-eastern coast of Bali directly on the black sand lava beach lies our newly built PALM GARDEN AMED BEACH & SPA RESORT. Amidst dozens of shadow- providing coconut palm trees it is harmonically embedded in the crescent-shaped bay of Lean.Away from the mass tourism, you will find the original and authentic Bali with its unique cultural flavour and the traditional lifestyle of its local people.Every day you will witness the spectacle of the local fishermen on their picturesque outrigger boats returning home from their morning routine. Waiting ever so patiently for he catch, the women with their children welcome their husbands on the beach.A cool refreshing bath in the large open swimming pool is complemented by a spectacular view overlooking the crystal-clear, turquoise ocean and the nearby coral reef beneath. The 28 degree warm weather its fascinating underwater world guarantee you a splendid time with unforgettable impressions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Tingo so you can book your Palm Garden Amed Beach & Spa Resort Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palm Garden Amed Beach & Spa Resort Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palm Garden Amed Beach & Spa Resort Bali, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.