We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Swiss Bijou in Amed” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palm Garden Amed Beach & Spa Resort Bali

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Amed
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Palm Garden Amed Beach & Spa Resort Bali
Save
You added Palm Garden Amed Beach & Spa Resort Bali to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Raya Amed | Lean Village, Bunutan | Abang, Karangasem, Amed, Bali, Indonesien, Amed, Abang, Bali 80852, Indonesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Amed
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Bern, Switzerland
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Swiss Bijou in Amed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

When SwissTV showed us how a Swiss couple realized their dream project in Amed, it reminded us of our last Bali roundtrip in 1996. our decision to book in palmgarden was a good one!
We enjoyed every minute of our 8-day stay. Allready the 2,5hr drive from the airport to the North Eastern coast of Bali was a sightseeing ride "par exellence".
The resort is built with Swiss ideas, Asian know-how and built with Balinese manpower.
Well maintained are the water quality in the spacious pool, the cleanliness of all rooms in "Swiss standard level", and the menue selection of Asian-, Swiss- & International- specialties served with a friendly smile in the spacious restaurant.
Staff of the whole resort, recruited from nearby villages, and the owners Anni&Orlando, do a great job to keep their guests in a happy vacation mood.
The snorkeling in the coral riff in front of the resort is very special. a must for every "exotic fish lover". Ueli & Ruth H.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    18
    7
    4
    1
See reviews for
15
101
6
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Australia
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights, initially had booked in the attached bungalow but when we got there found it was very small so upgraded to the villa then the private pool villa on our last night. It is a very nicely designed hotel. Rooms are nice with nice outdoor bathroom, the villas are a much nicer size than the attached bungalow which is a bit pokey. Nice breakfast options which is included in the price. Now have safety boxes in the villas (dont know if they plan to put them in their bungalows). Yes there is no wifi (apparently not available at this end of the beach) and no TVs in room but who really needs a TV when you are situated on a beach like this!!! Very relaxing watching the fisherman come in of a morning and the village children play soccer of a night. Food in the restaurant is nice with a few swiss options which is a nice change from all balinese. The english is not as good with some of the staff as other hotels we have stayed but i assume this is due to the hotel being newish and the area generally not getting as many tourists as other areas of bali. I agree the prices are more than other hotels in the area but you only have to take a look at the others to see that this is the nicest in the area. Most of the others are run down, old and hagged. The owners were very nice to us when our next hotel/destination forgot to pick us up and we ended up in Amed for an extra night. would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Get the villa - bungalow is a bit small - ok for a night or two but a bit pokey if you have lots of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

After reading the good reviews it was a Big disappointment to actually stay at this overpriced resort. The rooms are ridiculously small and the rooms/hotel lack many of the features you normally wouldnt even look for before booking in this Price category. No useful internet, no TV or safetyboxes at all, no newspaper an so on.
The resort unexpctedly turned out to be situated very inconviently for exploring the island.
We originally booked 11 nights but changed that to 8. At check out we then had the very unpleasant experience of the owner refusing to make a promised refund. Hé even lost his temper in the lobby in front of other guests when we tried to sort things out.
The resort is new and seemingly clean, but two of us incurred a stomach infection, which could only stem from the hotel, as we had only eaten food from the hotel kitchen.
To sum up: not recommendable.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalmGardenAmed, Inhaber at Palm Garden Amed Beach & Spa Resort Bali, responded to this review, May 4, 2012
The resort has 3 categories of accommodation. It can not be expected that the smaller bungalows have the same comfort as our villa, which is reflected in the price. The Palm Garden Amed Resort is the newest and cleanest four star resort on the Amed coast, with maximum comfort and excellent cuisine. When guests eat their meals on trips or locally, the hotel can occur any stomach problems are blamed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burpengary
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012

We stayed 6 nights and were the only ones at the resort. The same comment has been made in other reviews. This is a very nice place at Lean Beach. There are fishing boats on the beach and they go out each morning so you get to see them all return at about 7 - 8 am. There is traditional villages along the road and you can walk a short distance either way to access supplies.

The resort staff are amazing and could not help us enough. The menu is limited however the staff will mix and match which expands the options. Ate at the hotel for all meals except 2. We went to Sails for lunch which was also very good food and view.

We would go back to Amed but maybe not this resort due to the price. It is probably double what it should be hence the low occupancy rate. There is no TV, in room safe, WiFi or tea and coffee making facilities. We used our own driver due to the inflated transfer costs. Again nearly twice the local rate.

The gardens are very well kept and the place is very clean and tidy. The staff are first class. The pool is very nice and is the centrepiece of the resort.

While I was accessing the internet in the lobby, a number of walk-in tourists asked for the price and all said the prices were way too high and left. They will need to reduce their prices at lot to get occupancy rates to viable levels.

Room Tip: Small Hotel so no need to pay for Ocean Front Villa
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maslin Beach, South Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2011

We recently returned to Amed and had planned to stay at the Puri Wirata for 4 nights. After one night at the Puri Wirata, we couldn't stand the croaking of the frogs outside our room and the abundance of insects, bugs, etc.

We had been to Amed 2 years ago and decided to look for a new hotel. We drove by the Palm Garden and decided to stop in and look around. The resort is nothing short of immaculate with impecably maintained grounds. The staff were extremely friendly and courteous with attentive service.

Our room was the Oceanfront Villa (number 9) and had all the conveniences one would expect from a luxury resort...except there wasn't a safe in the room.

There is one matter we'd like to mention regarding our room. The management should consider providing a privacy screen between the owners residence and the outdoor shower. There is an unobstructed view directly into the shower area from the rear room of the owners residence. Unfortunately, you don't notice this until you stoop down at crotch level.

Room Tip: Go with the Ocean Front Villa and spoil yourself with the private pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne Australia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

I had looked at staying here though it looked too perfect on website photos, no reviews in English to speak of plus the price on the site was in CHF (Swiss Francs) 200 per night - so gave it a miss. However being underwhelmed by our accomodation ar Blue Moon we went for a walk down the hill and decided to check out the Palm Garden Resort which looked very bright and inviting - the friendly greeting plus the price for a lovely Villa with private pool USD $200 including tax didn’t take much to convince me to make the move.

We also took a peek at ‘Life in Amed’ however it wasn’t in the same class as Palm Garden and whilst the Villas were very nice ( looked at a two story) the pool is small in a not so large lawn area - there was no verandah.I would only stay here if I was not spending much time during the day at resort.

The Palm Garden Resort is immaculately maintained ( the owners are Swiss) the gardens carefully tended, - it is a good and reassuring reflection on the management when employees seem to both enjoy and are clearly proud of their job.

Our beautiful Oceanfront Villa was well designed with a large and the best designed bathroom I have seen in holiday accommodation. It is an indoor outdoor bathroom with partly enclosed toilet, large shower area, large double hand-basins, and an area to dry off clothes on clothes horse. And a first for anywhere I have stayed in the world were bed lamps that you could actually read a book by - my suspicion that a woman had a hand in this design was confirmed during a conversation with the owners :-) This thoughtfully designed Villa had a large cool entrance hall ( a room in itself actually) where you can leave shoes and luggage etc, a King sized bed and a day bed, plenty of drawers and wardrobe space and was furnished with brightly coloured silks and attractive artifacts. The large roomy and shaded terrace overlooking the very close sea front had both a sun bed and cane table and chairs plus our own pool to have a refreshing dip.

Staying in Amed you have to decide if you want a (fabulous) view on cliff tops which means there will be steps ( lots most likely) or beachfront - Palm Garden resort is beachfront though coming from Australia I use the term loosely. Don’t be fooled by the photos there is no golden sand - it is black. You can hire gear and go snorkeling off the beach though I wouldn’t come to Amed especially for the snorkeling even around the shipwreck nearby.

The food at the resort is pretty good though not an extensive menu and the serves are not overly generous - the prices are quite reasonable for both food and drink.The friendly staff will happily make endless trips to your villa with pots of tea or coffee or something cold and refreshing.. Sails restaurant nearby has very good meals and a lovely view if you arrive early enough - they will pick up and drop you off.

This is a great spot for a couple ( I don’t think there are any villas with twin beds however they will make up the day bed for one person to sleep) to come for an absolutely relaxing few days or so - sleep, eat drink, read have a dip in the pool....

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2011

Lean Beach has only one other hotel, Life in Amed, which has crowded the rooms together and overbuilt in the little space they have (stayed 2 nights and moved). Palm Garden on the other hand has a great location towards the end of the bay, a great beach out front (without the boats taking up too much space on the sand) and very well planned lay out of bungalows, pool and restaurant. Whilst more expensive than others, you pay for what you get - the rooms are very clean, spacious, quiet and have all that is required. Food is great, staff are friendly and helpful, being newish any teething problems have now been ironed out. Lean Beach is still very much a fishing village and as such suffers badly from the rubbish problem facing Bali, the other bays in Amed have more development and as a consequence have tried to address the problem with some success. Restaurants nearby are at Life in Amed, (which was ok) and the excellent Sails restaurant, who collect and drop people off. Appx 5 min drive from Palm Garden.

Room Tip: All rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Palm Garden Amed Beach & Spa Resort Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Garden Amed Beach & Spa Resort Bali

Address: Jalan Raya Amed | Lean Village, Bunutan | Abang, Karangasem, Amed, Bali, Indonesien, Amed, Abang, Bali 80852, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Abang > Amed
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Amed
#1 Family Hotel in Amed
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Amed
#2 Spa Hotel in Amed
#2 Romantic Hotel in Amed
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Palm Garden Amed Beach & Spa Resort Bali 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palm Garden Amed - Beach & SPA ResortSituated on the north-eastern coast of Bali directly on the black sand lava beach lies our built PALM GARDEN AMED BEACH & SPA RESORT. Amidst dozens of shadow- providing coconut palm trees it is harmonically embedded in the crescent-shaped bay of Lean.Away from the mass tourism, you will find the original and authentic Bali with its unique cultural flavour and the traditional lifestyle of its local people.Every day you will witness the spectacle of the local fishermen on their picturesque outrigger boats returning home from their morning routine. Waiting ever so patiently for he catch, the women with their children welcome their husbands on the beach.A cool refreshing bath in the large open swimming pool is complemented by a spectacular view overlooking the crystal-clear, turquoise ocean and the nearby coral reef beneath. The 28 degree warm water its fascinating underwater world guarantee you a splendid time with unforgettable impressions. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Palm Garden Amed Beach & Spa Resort Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palm Garden Amed Beach & Spa Resort Bali, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.