We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent.... and even better by the pool” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bedulu Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Bedulu Resort to your Saves list
Bedulu Resort
Bunutan Village, Amed, Abang, Bali, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 53 Specialty Lodging in Amed
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Excellent.... and even better by the pool”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Not much I can say other than great things about Bedulu Resort. The swimming pool, views and family welcoming atmosphee were highlights for me..... and not to be forgetten either was the fresh seafeood and wood fired pizzas.We spent an amazing week here. Will be back one day.

I had reservations about coming to Indonesia with young children but we felt so safe and welcomed here at Bedulu and in Amed in geneal, a world away from Kuta, so peaceful and quiet. We were invited to attend ceremonies with the family that owns and manages the resort and our children would play with their children.... couldn't have been better.

Room Tip: Superior and Family Rooms by the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    24
    9
    5
    4
See reviews for
18
54
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, null, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

The place is great with nice scenery and very friendly staffs.

However the rooms especially the toilet requires some serious maintenance. Perhaps due to the use of water tanks for sanitary facilities, the water pressure is not really desirable at many times. Toilet flushes encounter much problem and shower spray has minimal water flowing out. You wont be able to use the traditional bath tub as the bath tub will not be able to fill up any water level higher than your ankle. Drainage is also a problem in the bath tub.

I also do feel a bit insecure with the locking system of the rooms. It can be easily unlocked from the outside with a card or branch (owners, u shld know what i'm talking about and maybe look into it)

Despite all the buts, the resort is still great with the pool, food, scenic view from the sun bed and its tranquility. I will definitely return to bedulu, hoping to see changes to what i have pointed out.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

I had such high hopes for this hotel after reading the reviews. I was sadly disappointed.

We arrived in Amed for the first time ever after travelling to Bali many many times.

I'll make this a brief review.

When we arrived the staff appeared to have no idea they were expecting us. It wasn't purely down to the language barrier as my wife speaks fluent Bahasa. The steps upto the room are a challenge. I'm pretty fit but I found it a challenge due to the heat and no shade as you hiked up and up the stairs. The rubbish that littered the climb to our room didn't help the barren landscape.

The room was very disappointing. Huge gaps in the doors meant that mozzies had free reign into your room. The aircondioner was woeful it may well have been just blowing hot air. There was a ceiling fan but it was useless as the cover over the 4 poster bed eliminated any relief it may have given you. Sadly you couldn't take the cover off as it was needed to protect you from the mozzies. The bathroom was one of the worst I've had in Bali (I've stayed in 2 star and 5 star places) Tiolet seat was broken and had a smell coming from it. There was no shower gel which isn't a crime but you do expect soap to wash your hands or a hand towel at the sink! There was a window in the bathroom with no fly screen so it meant that it was just another access point for mozzies to get into your room. Bathroom floor needed a bloody good scrub with bleach. There was a lot of noise from chickens, dogs & locals who just live metres away.

Positives...the day bed was a nice touch. Watching the sunrise and the fishing boats return back to shore was just amazing. The view from the infiniti pool was worth the effort to get up there and trust me you need to get into the pool after the hike up! But as I said the view was exceptional.

We were supposed to stay 3 nights but left after our first night. We had already paid for our room but didn't ask for a refund as we didn't want to cause a problem etc and just wrote it off as a mistake. To be fair the manager did make the effort to speak to us about why we were leaving but we'd already made up our mind to go.

The above is only my opinion. You may stay there and love it...sadly, we didn't.

Room Tip: Get the room in the middle close to the pool. Also, the staff told us that there wasn't a bemo i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

This was one of those places you almost don't want to share and keep this info to yourself. I loved the rustic off the beaten path location of Amed in general and then was impressed with the offereings of Bedulu Resort and Service so far off the beaten path.
First and foremost is the design of the property, perched on a hill over looking an infinity pool and or a ocean view with gorgeous flowers around the property. As others note this is more of an adult resort or perhaps older children due to the many stairs about the property and tranquil enviornment. The staff was friendly but gave you your space and privacy, which we enjoyed staying here as a couple. The driver we booked through the hotel was excellent as well, even stopped for lunch and pointed out areas of intrest along the way. I thought it was very thoughtful to include bfast with the stay. Sometimes we ordered more than what was offered and the charges were minimal and worth it for us.
Snorkeling here is amazing, some of the best I've ever expierenced, located right off shore either in front of the hotel or I'd reccommend 3 mins down the road in front of Blue Star Cafe as well. Warm shallow waters teaming with fish that are not afraid of you and swim along. I enjoyed each spot for different fish and corals.
Bedulu was a sancuary on the coast; I loved how the chickens, frogs, wind and ocean sounds blended together at night into a blissful white noise, I slept well here on the comfortable beds! Even the thuderstorms were lovely to watch at night from your outdoor daybed on the covered veranda. I really wish I could of stayed longer as it was a 3 hour drive with the holiday season traffic.
Thank you for a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: Corner Wrung (next door) has snorkeling gear rental for CHEAP and a good lunch!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali, Indonesia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

you will have a really pleasant stay here. super nice infinity pool! okay maybe the size of the pool not fit for a pro olympic athlete. its small but i could guarantee that you'll love their pool just as much as we do. face directly to the beach. just super!
all of the staffs are helpful and friendly.
their room is superb. i had family room which is cater for 4 pax. traditionally modern design. private.
they have many steps. maybe a little too much for the elder.
this resort is beautiful, wonderful...just amazing!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denpasar, Indonesia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

This resort is wonderful, away from hustle and really nice view. Me and my friends book a Family Room, the room was great and close to the pool. The staff are very friendly and helpful, the pool overlooking to the ocean and we really love the pool. Very suitable for relaxing and we would come back again to stay here.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

What's there to expect when you pay approximately 25 euros for a room? Well if you stay in Bedulu, you can expext a lot. Wonderful small little house, with just a bathroom, huge bed and amazing daybed outside overlooking the ocean. Walking distance from Jemeluk were the snorkeling was the best i've ever experienced. ! Not all the staff speaks proper English and the breakfast is really simple, but once you sit down at the infinity pool overlooking the ocean these minor flaws are easily forgotten. We stayed here for 4 nights but wished we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Bedulu Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bedulu Resort

Address: Bunutan Village, Amed, Abang, Bali, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Abang > Amed
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 53 Specialty Lodging in Amed
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
‘Bedulu Resort’ located in Bunutan village, Amed on Bali’s northeast coast is the perfect hideaway for those wanting total relaxation and an authentic Balinese experience. The Amed region is the jewel of Bali, featuring a coral fringed shore marked by secluded bays with sandy beaches and forested mountains that rise dramatically from the sea. Whether you choose to relax by the pool or explore the region & meet the friendly locals, Bedulu is the perfect place for your next vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Bedulu Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bedulu Resort Amed, Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bedulu Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.