We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Resting and diving” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Baliku Dive Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Baliku Dive Resort to your Saves list
Baliku Dive Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Banyuning, Amed, Abang, Bali 80852, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Amed
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
“Resting and diving”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

hotel was very nice. Our room had beautiful patio with the huge bad where we seating during sun rise with the gorgeous sea view. Also it was fist hotel were we get a bottle of Champagne in a room bar. The service was also very good. Furthermore would like to say about Bali ku dive shop. Don't pay station that it is small and facing the road. I did 3 very productive dives with Nico. Approach him when your are there he is a great instructor. Looking forward to get back to dive there.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    62
    16
    5
    4
See reviews for
43
149
18
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2014

We stayed in Baliku for six nights - basically sitting atop a fishing village and surrounded by pretty impressive mountains.
.
The staff, I have to say,were incredible!They are a credit to themselves and set an example for everyone on manners and respect.

The food in the restaurant was excellent too. Would have eaten in it every night but wanted to go out and try a few places.

Its a small enough and quiet hotel which I happen to like personally as its away from the hoards of people to allow for a bit of relaxing, the rooms though are very big, well furnished and have amazing views.

There's plenty to do too however, make sure you bring a snorkel, you can go out to the Japanese shipwreck opposite the hotel and check out the coral reef too. its very cool.or if you fancy diving speak to the staff down stairs.I also recommend that you do that.

All in all Ahmed I thought was lovely, and Baliku was top notch!

Room Tip: Just get sea view as high up as you can. If you don't mind steps. It's worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmö, Sweden
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2014

Baliku is located at the far end of the Amed area. It takes some good 15 minutes to get there by car from Amed and there are not many facilities or dining options close to the hotel, but to be honest that does not really matter since the restaurant is good with a variety of nice dishes at reasonable prices. We had all our meals in the restaurant and it was an enjoyable experience.

The rooms provide spectacular sea view and are separated from the reception/restaurant building and it takes some steps to get there. Rooms are quite spacious, clean with a huge bed. our room had a nice veranda.

The pool is large and is a nice option to the pebble beach that is a great place for snorleking, but the pebbles also mean it is not that comfortable in other aspects.

About the snorkeling - it is really good, with clear water and abundant marine life just by the hotel. Even better snorkeling is available a few kilometers further away, ask the hotel to get you in contact with a local fishermen with a traditional boat that can take you there. You could also ask for for a sailing/fishing trip and enjoy the sun setting over the volcano and coastline.

The hotel staff is very friendly, informal and helpful. The really make you enjoy your stay.

This is a good place to relax and enjoy great snorkeling just a few steps from the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoi an
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2014

perfect place to stay as a group, nicelittle swimming pool to chill after your dives, food is average but the diving club below the hotel is great and professional. Rooms are clean and cosy. Staff is helpful.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2014

It's true you have to walk up a lot of stone steps to the top rooms (but the sherpas carry your luggage) but once you are there the views are spectacular. We were there 2 nights only at the end of September but we got to watch the fishing boats with their colourful sails returning in the morning. Our room was large and very comfortable - giant bed with lots of netting flowing in the ocean breeze, an immense daybed with many cushions on our totally private terrace with a dining table. Both nights we had our meals delivered to our room; they have a fabulous chef. Free parking and a small pool to sun beside. It's a great place to chill out after a lot of travelling.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSW
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2014

It took approximately two hours by cab to reach Baliku from Denpasar Airport. Traffic conditions are variable but what's the hurry?

We had Room 7 and there were 70 big steps to negotiate to reach our beautiful bungalo. The view was spectacular. Our room was fabulous with a small kitchenette attached. Bottled water was provided each day along with generous supplies of very nice shampoo, conditioner and body wash.

We ate all our meals at Baliku Resort. The menu was well priced and varied. Breakfast was included in our tariff. We would normally eat out but this is a very quiet, primitive part of Bali and we didn't see the point of hunting down other restaurants when the one on site was so nice.

The pool area was quiet and relaxing with a fabulous view over the bay.

The snorkelling was across the road. Note that the beach is stoney. There's no 'strolling' along this beach unfortunately. Don't forget your reef shoes. There was minimal current out in the water but we noticed several children swimming with lifejackets on. This would have made life much easier for the parents. The water was crystal clear and there was so much to see!

The Baliku Dive shop was immediately below the resort. My husband did two dives with very professional staff. It was his first time and he loved it.

We hired a motor bike one day and headed south 70 minutes to one of the Water Palaces. It was worth the ride but note that you travel on a very narrow road with a dog, chicken or child crossing in front of you every 50 metres! It's not for the faint hearted. We are not normally bike riders. We went slowly and carefully!

We thoroughly recommend Baliku Resort. If you love diving and/or are looking for some downtime, this is the place to come. It's a great way to unwind and start your holiday in Bali!. We had four nights before heading to Seminyak. It was the only time on our Bali trip that we got to read!

Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geraldton, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2014

the quiet east coast of Bali is beautiful in so many ways. Diving and snorkelling across the road from comfortable roomy bungalows with day beds, great views, wonderful food, friendly helpful staff make the holiday memorable

Room Tip: room with a day bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Baliku Dive Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baliku Dive Resort

Address: Banyuning, Amed, Abang, Bali 80852, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Abang > Amed
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Amed
#2 Romantic Hotel in Amed
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Amed
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Baliku Dive Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An harmonious synthesis of traditional balinese craftsmanship and the more eclectic "Bali modern" style. Beautiful villas surrounded by lush gardens, frequented by a rich variety of birdlife and butterflies.A boutique style resort nestled on the hillside above a fishing village with stunning mountain and ocean views to Lombok, yet just steps away from the beach - a real retreat. A real retreat, yet only an hour or so from cultural and historical sites of interest as well as incredible shopping destinations, making Baliku the ideal base for your tropical sojourn. Luxurious villas with breathtaking views - privacy assured. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Baliku Dive Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baliku Dive Hotel Amed
Baliku Boutique Hotel
Baliku Dive Resort Amed, Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Baliku Dive Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.