We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would love to give it a five, but...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Baliku Dive Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Baliku Dive Resort to your Saves list
Baliku Dive Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Banyuning, Amed, Abang, Bali 80852, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Amed
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Boston, MA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Would love to give it a five, but...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We enjoyed our five night stay at Baliku very much. Our private Villa (#1) has an amazing view, the staff is wonderful and so eager to please, and the food was very good (try the black rice pudding for breakfast!) The snorkeling or diving right off of the beach is amazing and the dive shop staff very eager to help. So it has all the trappings of a five star rating, except for the little things that would make it so. For example, at all of the other places we stayed in Bali, there was a book in the room which talked about the area and gave examples of things to do. Since Baliku is in a remote area, we had to figure it out by ourselves, and while the staff is awesome, English is not their primary language, so it was sometimes difficult to know whether we were successful in making ourselves understood, and as a result, we probably didn't do as much as we might have. At the other places, the owners were around, so they were able to help us. The villa was wonderful, but again there were little things that need attention - the paint was peeling off of the wall in the bathroom, none of the dispensers for the shampoo, conditioner or bubble bath worked, and there was confusion about the ride we had arranged through the owner as the staff didn't seem to have a record of it, as examples. But again, we absolutely would recommend Baliku and would come back again, it just didn't quite get to the five star mark, but certainly a strong four!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    67
    16
    5
    4
See reviews for
44
159
20
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Merimbula, Australia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Finding a place near the Amed action is a challenge. As peaceful Amed is there are only a couple of must do's and snorkelling over the Japanese Submarine Wreck is one of the. Baliku is in the idea location for doing this but do not be fooled by it being called a Dive Resort. The rooms are amazing along with the staff and food. Be sure to hire your snorkelling gear from the local provider Wyan and you may be lucky and he will escort you on a snorkel to his Clown Fish and Anemone Garden which was amazing. I love Bali and Amed is a great place to experience the true Bali culture and friendly people. The rooms are spacious and there is a great daybed area overlooking the ocean.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Four wonderful days of relaxed diving and taking it easy.
The rooms were a good size with a big comfortable bed, I spent some time spread out on the huge day bed on the balcony, our room faced east over the water so this was a great place for an afternoon siesta.
Staff were very friendly and couldn't do enough for us.There was a good choice of meals and serves were generous.
Thanks to Murray Nicho and Helene in the dive shop for showing me the sights and critters to photograph, my wife and I will be back.

Room Tip: Ask for the room near the pool if you have trouble with stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
207 reviews 207 reviews
93 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
207 helpful votes 207 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

We were so pleased to have chosen this resort to stay for 8 days in Amed. Our room was lovely with a four poster bed draped with a mosquito net, crisp white sheets and a big doona. The mattress was comfortable and the air conditioning was good, although on most nights we slept with the doors open and the air conditioner off. The sea breeze provided sufficient cooling. There was a decent sized television in a cabinet which received the Australian channel and a couple of news channels. The sweeping view to the ocean and hills could have been on a postcard. In addition to the bedroom and bathroom, there was a small dressing room which also contained a fridge and sink and there was plenty of bench space for storage of suitcases and photographic gear I loved it that there were good tea and coffee making facilities including milk- again, rare to be provided in Bali hotels. . The bathroom was spacious and had a good shower over a bath big enough for two. Lighting in all the rooms was good and believe me , this is unusual in Bali, even for five star hotels. Outside the room and overlooking the view, there was a huge, king sized day bed and a small table and chairs. A good, free afternoon tea was also available every afternoon.

We ate most of our meals in the restaurant. The ‘no extra cost’ breakfast consisted of muesli, cereals, black rice pudding, pastries, a very big fresh fruit salad , eggs, toast and coffee. It was also possible to order a number of other things for a small price. The lunch and dinner menu had a wide variety of dishes offered (I have separate review for the restaurant) and the food was as good, if not better than the other restaurants we tried. The meals were ‘home cooked’ style. The steak with mushroom sauce and the fresh fish (not always available when we were there) with mango and cilantro relish were our favourite dishes of the ones we tried. Free afternoon tea was also served. All the staff were charming and gracious. The hotel arranged a transfer back to Denpasar and the car was newish and the driver, very good.

The only slight downsides were that there were a lot of steep stairs to our room and I would not recommend this hotel for people who have difficulties with their knees, mobility or who don't like a bit of exercise. There were also occasional power outages but this is probably normal for the areas of Bali which are outside of the biggest tourist areas.

The dive centre was fantastic and Murray, Niko and Helen were wonderful guides. They were fun to be with and had great knowledge of, and experience with the local dive sites. They were safety conscious and gave excellent briefings. On one dive, there was a sudden, strong and unexpected current which we had to negotiate to get back to shore and I had confidence that Niko knew exactly what to do. Helen also made me a wonderful video.

I am already planning a return visit.

Room Tip: Stay in one of the lower floors if you don't like exercise - we loved the top rooms though and d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

What can you say that hasn't already been said. Accommodation very relaxed and perfect place to wind down. Staff always helpful and friendly, and Donna makes you feel like your family there for a visit, always well looked after. Myself I'm there for the diving and underwater photography and the crew at the dive shop are the best. Great drift dives, macro when we were after it and night dives that turned up subjects that ticked a few bucket list boxes for me. Thanks again to Murray and Nick for making the trip worthwhile. Can't wit till the next time I'm there, and the sooner the better - Brad, Perth

Room Tip: I like the bottom villa. has a bit of a side lane-way off the steps leading up into the day bed area...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, New South Wales, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We have stayed here for two years in a row and loved every minute of it both times. Donna's staff are extremely welcoming and available at any time of the day or night. I celebrated my birthday at the resort and the staff went above and beyond to make it a celebration to remember. They made me the most beautiful birthday cake and sand happy birthday which was so lovely. The rooms are just beautiful and extremely spacious with everything you need. The restaurant serves the nicest food and they have a huge variety. We hired scooters and went exploring for hours at a time which was very enjoyable. I would recommend this resort to anyone wanting a relaxing balinese holiday we will definately be going back again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

we called in for lunch, then went back for dinner, then went back the next day to stay.
everything, food, staff, room cleanliness and appointments was of a very high standard.
we wished we had more time and have vowed to return for a longer stay. .steve and jo.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Baliku Dive Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baliku Dive Resort

Address: Banyuning, Amed, Abang, Bali 80852, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Abang > Amed
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Amed
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Amed
#2 Family Hotel in Amed
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Amed
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Baliku Dive Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An harmonious synthesis of traditional balinese craftsmanship and the more eclectic "Bali modern" style. Beautiful villas surrounded by lush gardens, frequented by a rich variety of birdlife and butterflies.A boutique style resort nestled on the hillside above a fishing village with stunning mountain and ocean views to Lombok, yet just steps away from the beach - a real retreat. A real retreat, yet only an hour or so from cultural and historical sites of interest as well as incredible shopping destinations, making Baliku the ideal base for your tropical sojourn. Luxurious villas with breathtaking views - privacy assured. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your Baliku Dive Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baliku Dive Hotel Amed
Baliku Boutique Hotel
Baliku Dive Resort Amed, Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Baliku Dive Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.