We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Aiona restaurant experience - garden of delights and rules” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aiona Garden of Health

Aiona Garden of Health
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Amed
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Aiona Garden of Health
Save
You added Aiona Garden of Health to your Saves list
Bunutan, Amed, Abang, Bali, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 14 Hotels in Amed
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Aiona restaurant experience - garden of delights and rules”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2011

We read with amusement the very varied reviews on this site after visiting here for lunch . The gardens are a lovely location, very green and inviting with lots of colour in the flowering shrubs, and the owners both really friendly, although w got the sense that there were deffinite ways of doing things like others have said. The food was delicicious, the chocolate cake lovely, and the coffee brilliant after the coffee we'd been served at our hotel in the morning.

One man arrived while we were having lunch to enquire about a room. Perhaps it was the fact that he;d inadvertently wandered past the private sign past the second gate, but his enquiry was met with the response that they didn't have single prices, he'[d have to pay for a double, and perhaps he;'d be better off finding a cheaper place (which they suggested) nearby. Despite this, and being told off for thinking about drinking his own water, he stayed for lunch.

Having had our phone enquiry about accommodation met with a request to submit something via the website, we can only surmise that they have a screening policy for guests before they are accepted!?

We'd consider going back though, it was a tasty and entertaining experience!

Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    7
    1
    3
    13
See reviews for
5
10
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2010

Fortunately, we did not have to suffer staying at this place. We stopped by for a meal one night at around 7pm and were declined a table and sent away by the German proprietor with firm instructions on how the restaurant worked: "You come before 3pm, order your meals, pay a deposit and then return at 6 - 6.15 and eat - and 'no' you cannot phone your order through." We entertained this somewhat unusual request, understanding that it was a small establishment and, as he explained, they had experienced 'no-shows' in the past.

As to the food, I can second others' reviews that it was fresh and good, albeit the servings a little on the small side. The service and the 'vibe', however, was extraordinary. We found it hard to believe that our host could be as rude as he was. After the initial shock of receiving such treatment (and perhaps as a way of coping with the experience), we started to see the comedy in it, as did our fellow diners, all having a bit of a giggle in his absence.

If you are curious after all these terrible reviews and want to have the experience for yourself, enjoy the food and try to see the funny side - at least you will be prepared!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Narrawallee
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2010

This was the big disappointment in our holiday in Bali. If only we had consulted with trip advisor first!!! We were sold on the idea of staying in a place that was also a vegetarian restaurant (as we are vegetarians) however - it is not really a restaurant at all - you have to book in advance for each meal and there is no choice.There are RULES for everything and a price for everything too.
The german man was welcoming but intense and the woman owner was frosty. It was not like being in Bali at all where generally the people are so friendly.
Although they present as a "super spiritual" centre....they don't seem to have any personal joy. It is a very contradictory environment and consequently the vibe is awful. They have a superior manner which appears judgmental and makes you feel uncomfortable. I felt so strongly about this that I chose to leave after 1 day (I had booked for 3) rather than have our wonderful stay spoiled by the last three days here. It was my daughters (11 year old) first trip to Bali and I wanted her to have great memories of a lovely friendly country. Despite having paid for 3 days and only staying 1 (I didn't bother to ask for a refund) I was still asked for the extra $1 for the bottle of water I had bought!!!
We were very glad to leave.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, AB
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2010

This place is suriprisingly not very hospitable even though it markets itself as a yoga/meditation health resort. The German owner is not very flexible and the energy here is not very open or warm for what I expected of a yoga/meditation place. He has very strict rules (eg. My partner and I had to order the same things on the menu for each meal??) and he is not very flexible or catering to the guests' needs. I was first quoted a price that included hot water but then was told upon arrival that there was an additional surcharge for hot water. As in the previous review, small extra charges for everything! I also agree with the previous review that all the staff are not very welcoming and friendly. There were other issues, from weird small things like the housekeepers stealing the soap that we personally brought, to not providing breakfast items that were listed on the menu! It is also very loud for meditation and sleep due to the many chickens running around that will wake you up at 4 am. I am not sure why he has them anyways if he is really vegetarian?? Rooms are overpriced and the food is also overpriced but good quality. Stop by if you are looking for a healthy meal in the area but do not stay, very strange energy here and not very hospitable compared to many of the Bali hotels I have stayed at. Balinese owned hotels are much more hospitable and provide better customer service.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2009

We wanted to love this place. We loved the idea of it and even the rustic huts were fun b/c they providedawonderful way to sleep near the sound of the small waves crashing at night. But we just couldn't get beyond the unwelcoming staff (owners and/or management - not sure) that make you feel like you invaded their personal space. They are running 2 guesthouses but literally give you dirty looks as they stomp around the property correcting you for any wrong move. Don't anticipate being invited over to the fire for an evening chat - unless of course you want to pay for this (since this is an option for a fee). Don't expect a small bar of soap in the bathroom upon arrival, unless you want to pay for this as well. They will also charge you to look at their small shell museum and to even show you where to snorkel. But I will say that when they aren't giving you unfriendly looks, or answering simple questions with sarcasm, they do serve absolutely delicious food in a lovely little setting.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2008

Aiona is an unusual property. Walking through the front gate, one could be forgiven for thinking he had been transported magically to northern California, or Sedona, AZ. That's because Aiona is focused very much on alternative therapies and spiritual, as well as physical, comfort.

The setting is a beautiful garden of mango and custard apple trees, with hibiscus and frangipani, too. Rahel (the owner) cooks up marvelous vegetarian ayurvedic meals, snacks, and kitchen accompaniments, which you may purchase as gifts or souvenirs for your own home.

Bungalows are more than basic, with separate private bathrooms (outdoor but with plumbing). The entire property is tranquil, relaxed, and refreshing. A variety of alternative therapies are offered, from massage to yoga, to tarot-readings. Have a browse through the shell museum, if you are interested. Aiona is smoke-free and alcohol-free, but you will be so relaxed you will hardly notice the absence of these two potential toxins. And if you're bored? Slip on some fins and a mask and snorkel on the home reef right outside the beach gate of Aiona -- no joking, it is 5 steps away from the property.

  • Liked — Personalized service and lovely setting
  • Disliked — lots of stairs with heavy luggage -- but this is not their fault!
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aiona Garden of Health? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aiona Garden of Health

Address: Bunutan, Amed, Abang, Bali, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Abang > Amed
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 14 Hotels in Amed
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
Aiona Garden Of Health Amed, Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aiona Garden of Health, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.