We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful View Right From The Window” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Samudra

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kanyakumari
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Samudra
Save
You added Hotel Samudra to your Saves list
Sannathi Street, Kanyakumari 629702, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 22 Kanyakumari B&B and Inns
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful View Right From The Window”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

The Location of this hotel is unbeatable. The ferry stop to Vivekanand Stone, Kanyakumari Temple and the Kanyakumari Market is literally at walking distances. You can even see the sunrise and sunset from comfort of the hotel terrace. If you can get the sea facing rooms the mesmerizing view of vivekanand smarak is spell binding.

We did not eat there, and did not had time to experience other facilities(if any, did not bother to explore). For 1300Rs a night for three persons it was decent choice. The manager even helped us to book nice cab (with Hindi/English speaking driver) for a drop to Madurai. The rooms were moderately clean and met our expectations.

Room Tip: The sea facing rooms are must have. The breeze, The Sea, The sunrise and Pipal tree next to the wind...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    9
    2
    5
    7
See reviews for
13
4
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
delhi
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

I stayed there with my family on 25th Oct/12. We did not have bookings with them, but they provided a delux room with beautiful view of the Rock memorial. The room was clean. It has a huge balcony facing the sea. Management and staff were found to be cordial with their inherent limitations of bringing food from outside, conjusted lobby etc. Otherwise a good hotel at its price.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

I had booked a deluxe room in this hotel and it was a nightmare! Till sun down everything seemed fine then I noticed roaches walking around in the room....lifted the mattress and found hordes of them!!!!!!!!!!
At first the manager seemed surprised (really!!!) he agreed to give us another room (executive room this time) ....guess what....ant infestation in that room!!!
If you are looking forward to a nice shower after 10 am...forget it....hot water is only provided from 5am to 10 am ....its like staying in an overpriced hostel!!!
Be it the deluxe or executive room...you are wasting your money!!!
As for the view, neither room has a pleasant direct view.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

We had booked two A/C double Rooms in this hotel for 19 th /20 Feb 2012. On reaching the hotel we found our fooms were on the fouth floor ( sixith counting basement).The lift goes to the third floor & one floor we had to climb stairs.The dark blue colour of the rooms was depressing.The hotel has no resturant. The food is brought from resturants opposite to the hotel, the food in these resturants gave stale food which was stinking.No Blankets were provided even when we requested for the same only a thin bed sheet was provided for cover.
There is no hot water in the showers the hot water is only provided in a seprate tap in the toilet for you to have a bath by mixing the water in the bucket.
We have travelled to other places in south on this trip but we found this as the worst hotel in the entire tour.
The advance was paid by bank credit & 50 % balance was paid by card. the hotel could not provide us the bill of our stay. The bill was to be sent to us within 15 days of our returns but till date no bill has been sent to us.
.

Room Tip: We do not recomend this hotel to any one
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enumclaw, Washington
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012 via mobile

Not quite a jail, but metal doors and permanently open windows - you can follow the dirty hand marks along the walls to find your room. Great staff, good prices and location and SCREAMING LOUD PINK PAINT. Enjoy.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

At the glance, it looks a lovely hotel with scenic beach but the service and the food is terrible. I even had caterpillar in my food at the breakfast. Complained straightaway to the manager who didn't even remove the serving pot from the buffet table even after 10 mins which really annoyed me as I had to stop others from eating the infected food!!!!! The staff just sneered and laughed at my complain!!! Furthermore, not a good catering service for the pure vegetarian as there were other families who had been left starving. I'd keep away from it in future.

Room Tip: Avoid booking here unless you wish to become ill with bad food.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

We happened to book two rooms in another hotel (Indian hermitage) in Kanyakumari through makemytrip but were denied rooms in the last minute. In compensation for that, makemytrip booked this place for us along with a full refund(yet to be recieved). We didn't have many options and as we were stranded on the highway we agreed to stay here for a night.

Rooms were clean but basically old. Bathrooms were not good. The architecture of the hotel itself is very bad. Common walkways are very narrow. Ventilators of the bathrooms in all the rooms open into the common walkway. So, you can hear the flush and water sounds from the bathrooms when walking in the corridor. Also, there was a lizzard in one of the rooms which really bothered me. I managed to get some sleep only because I was really tired.

Only good point about this hotel is its location. It's very close to all the attractions in Kanyakumari and all you need to do to see the beautiful sunrise is to go on to the terrace of this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Samudra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Samudra

Address: Sannathi Street, Kanyakumari 629702, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Kanyakumari
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Kanyakumari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A hotel very near the Kanniyakumari Temple. The beach is just 10 metres away. Offers AC and Non Ac rooms of different types such as single, double, family. Has room supply of food. Has a generator facility. Running hot water (only till 1000 h). Accepts credit cards (but charges 2% more). Rooms have a balcony to watch the sea. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Samudra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.