We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Sea View” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sparsa Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Sparsa Resort to your Saves list
Sparsa Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   #6/112 B, Beach Road | Near Sunset Point, Kanyakumari 629702, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in Kanyakumari
TX
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Fantastic Sea View”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

The hotel is situated in front of the sea with in walking distance to the three main attractions. Gandhi memorial, Amman temple and ferry for going to Vivekanand Rock. Nice cool comfortable rooms. Good food in the restaurant. Buffet breakfast was excellent. Counter in the bathroom was very low. Ladies Bathroom in the lobby was dirty and smelly.

Stayed January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SparsaResorts, General Manager at Sparsa Resort, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Thank you for your time to write this review about our hotel! We really appreciate your feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    117
    43
    9
    10
See reviews for
121
68
7
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durban, South Africa
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

Stayed night of the 24th December which included a compulsory dinner which was served outdoors - buffet style.Food was generally okay and music /disco lights added to the festive air.
Our room had an unpleasant odour and the ceiling needed to be painted.
Breakfast the next morning was the worst i have ever experienced.We left after a slice of toast and coffee.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucknow, India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

The quality of the materials used, the comfortable bed, the view from the window, it is all making your stay to a fantastic experience. The staff is extremely polite and helpful. Breakfast is a sensation.
If you are looking for something special or if you want to do something special for a beloved one, this is your choice.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

We just stayed there a few nights ago. The room was very decent and clean (but not "plush" and by no means "sophisticated" as it's described on their website) with a nice view out onto the ocean. The hotel is right across from the beach and just a few minutes walk away from the temple etc.
What was the biggest disappointment was the food and the service at meal times. We had - as we had in the other hotels we'd just come from - prepaid buffet dinner and breakfast, always with really good experiences until then.
At the Sparsa Resort, the buffet offering were very limited and the quality of the food was pretty bad. E.g. at dinner, there was no meat on those pieces of chicken, just gristle, cartilage and bones! There was "bottled" water on the tables, but it was very obvious that those water bottles had been refilled since all the seals were broken. The only service we got while we were having dinner is one of the staff members (the only one in the buffet area) looking over our shoulders as we were serving ourselves. Very odd.

Luckily we'd read about the Ocean Restaurant just a few minutes away from the Sparsa Resort and enjoyed most wonderful meals there instead.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

We stayed for 1 night only. Decided to have a beer in the bar. We decided to have dinner in the hotel but were told we could not take our drink in the restaurant. When we went in the restaurant there were other guests who were served alcohol. We complained to the manager who agreed for my drink to be brought into the restaurant. Should be one rule for all I feel.

Overall very nice hotel and good ambiance.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madurai, India
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

We enjoyed our stay. Excellent service. The staff made us very comfortabable during our stay. We stayed for two nights and The rooms are good.Good food. I would definitely recommend This hotel for excellent service.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

We were staying at TTDC hotel, which was almost next door. Apart from Hotel Seashore, we were looking at other options to have pleasant dining experience. We decided to go to Sparsa., since we had been to Hotel Seashore the previous night. On Dec. 24, they had organised a Gala dinner in the lawns with cover charge of Rs. 1000/-. Front Office Manager though was very friendly and waived off the cover charge for the accompanying kid. We were impressed by the decor and ambiance and hence, agreed to have the dinner there. However, we were disappointed. There was hardly any variety for vegetarians. Food was very oily and tasteless. In breads, they were putting tandoori parathas, rotis and Naans in a common casserole, and expected the guest to pull out what he/she needed. Staff seemed inexperienced. We ordered fresh lime sodas (mix, sweet and salted), where they first served, after repeated follow-ups, the drinks at room temperature. On complaining, they again took their sweet time to replace the drinks.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sparsa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sparsa Resort

Address: #6/112 B, Beach Road | Near Sunset Point, Kanyakumari 629702, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Kanyakumari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in Kanyakumari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sparsa Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Sparsa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sparsa Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.