We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise off the Expressway” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tungi Lake Pavna

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lonavala
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tungi Lake Pavna
Save
You added Tungi Lake Pavna to your Saves list
Tungi Lake, Pavna, Lonavala, India (Formerly Club Mahindra Tungi Lake Pavna)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 42 Lonavala B&B and Inns
mumbai
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Paradise off the Expressway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Club Mahindra Pavna Resort, Tungi is not a destination you will find on the website. Booking a stay at this resort makes you feel like you are in on a really cool secret. Those in the know call the regular reservation number and are directed to a dedicated Pavna reservation helpline. The deal is that Pavna has not been officially launched yet. While it has been in operation for the last couple of years, the final touches and a few licenses are yet to be put in place. If you don’t mind the fact that manicured lawns and gardens don’t cover the entire expanse of approximately 42 acres; that there are no bars; that the most stunning views from the not yet operational resto-bar Amara are out of bounds and that one of the three pools may not be open while you are visiting; then call at exactly 9.30am on the 1st of the month before the month you want to visit. Proximity to Mumbai and Pune along with its fabulous, secluded location makes this resort a very ‘in demand’, always full destination.
Despite the fact that Club Mahindra Pavna is full to capacity, you never feel overwhelmed with the numbers. We visited the property in the first week of June for three nights and it was the most relaxing, comfortable stay. The resort is located near the base of the Tungi Fort overlooking Tikona Fort, Lake Pavna and the rest of the Sahyadri mountain range. From Mumbai, the Expressway to Lonavala was smooth sailing as was the road all the way to Aamby Valley. We were fortunate to have booked for weekdays as Lonavala city and the roads that lead to Bhushi Dam get chaotic on the weekends. In addition to narrow streets, loud often drunk tourists and an assortment of music blaring from cars there is litter and trash around the entire route marring the drive to the Pavna Resort. Our spirits lifted the moment we were past the tourist spots and on the jungle road that leads to the resort. The last 10 kilometres is the main topic of conversation among members but I believe if you want to get to a destination off the beaten path then you’ve got to take the road less travelled. While there are potholes, this is a tarred road and not a dirt track suitable only for four wheel drives. My recommendation is just go slow, enjoy the view of the jungle birds, the valleys and the mist rolling in and you won’t be disappointed.
The resort currently has about 84 rooms spread across the meandering property with different blocks connected by pathways. The reception block is an oasis of calm and the first place where you will definitely exclaim, “Oh wow!” when you look out of the large windows and see nothing but the lake and hills. The reception is also one of the few places you will probably not see again until you are ready to leave. However, if you want to enjoy the view at sunset with just your family, stroll down to the reception deck. As it is located away from the restaurant and Fun Zone very few people actually head that side at all.
Our car was taken to a parking lot while we were driven to our lake facing studio in a van. The route is lined with flowering trees and the short Gulmohur trees covered with flowers is an amazing sight. A welcome letter provided us all the information we required about facilities, activities and even timings for the train shuttle – a guest pick and drop facility on a route that starts and ends at the Ripples restaurant.
As with all Club Mahindra properties, attention to detail has gone into every aspect of the resort. What we found most charming was the fact that each block is named after a bird. Ours was Golden Plover. Additionally, above the main entrance to the block, is a grill that has the bird incorporated into the ironwork. This makes a spectacular sight at night when the grill is backlit. Every room has been designed to afford complete privacy. So while you might hear your neighbours once in a while, you are not likely to see them even when seated in your private balcony. We also liked the idea of the television incorporated into a swivel mechanism that makes viewing possible in the living room as well as the bedroom just by rotating the housing.
What struck us about the property was the silence that is only interrupted by the sound of birds chirping and the patter of the first rainfall for the season. As the property is located in the heart of a green belt, we knew the first showers were likely to bring out the snakes and were careful to stick to the rough stone pathways especially after dark. Our six year old son had the pool and the Fun Zone on his agenda and so we explored the property to find the lap pool, the baby pool which has a slide and the infinity pool. As the lap pool was under maintenance, we decided to try the baby pool first. To my horror as our son was splashing around, I saw a striped Keelback get into the pool, swim across and get out the other side. Post that exciting but scary sighting, in spite of my husband assuring us that the snake is non-poisonous; we spent all our pool time at the infinity pool that overlooks the lake.
The Fun Zone was the next hot spot. Fun is spread over a large area around a courtyard and comes in the form of a trampoline; a table tennis, air hockey and snooker room; a complete zone with Wii games, Xbox, chess, carom, board games, badminton rackets, Karaoke, foosball, activity area, a library; a separate colourful room specially for toddlers; a basketball court; and a horse or camel ride. The library has a number of interesting books on birds taking the overall theme of the property further which is a great touch. The attendants are extremely helpful and get involved with all the activities without tiring of the questions and queries from children and often adults throughout the day. Every evening the Fun Zone turns into the venue for a dance class, magic show, group games and even a disco. If all this is not enough, they also have planned excursions in the form of treks to the lake and forts, and a camping night out under the stars. For those who would rather unwind and de stress completely, the Svaastha Spa is designed to pamper. Just strolling around the serene spa makes you slow down your pace and feel at peace.
Ripples restaurant serves an excellent range of multi cuisine vegetarian and non vegetarian dishes. They have a separate counter for Jain food and the Kid’s section was a big hit with our son who enjoyed the pasta and butter naans. We had planned our in-studio lunches and so sampled the breakfast and dinner at Ripples. The breakfast was exactly the same on both days but the dinner did have variations to the menu with the highlight being the lamb chop prepared in an Indian style gravy.
It is a pity that Pavna Resort can only be booked once in the year to ensure all members get an opportunity to visit. So if you haven’t yet clocked your visit, plan ahead and go. The monsoons are the ideal time to be at this resort where the temperature is cool, the views are breathtaking, the birds and flowers abundant, the mist temperamental and the fireflies outside your window a sight for sore city eyes.

Room Tip: Ask for a lake facing view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    106
    19
    2
    4
See reviews for
151
34
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Bombay
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

This was our second visit to this resort. Though called as the Lonavala resort, it is actually in Pavna, which is nearly 30 kilometres from the centre of Lonavala town. Our earlier visit helped us to be better prepared this time. The direction boards are still too few and not clearly placed, so finding the place is a little difficult for first-timers. We did not have to ask for the directions having come here before.
As with all Mahindra resorts, owning a vehicle is required since all their resorts are in remote locations 10 to 15 kilometres from the town or city they are supposed to be in, and driving is usually the only way to get there!
The road is still as bad as ever, especially the last 10 kilometres from Cloud 9 resort, and we had to drive very slowly. There was oncoming traffic also, which means that it took us nearly 30 minutes to cover this 10 kilometre stretch. Since I was driving, I could not take any photographs of the surroundings which was full of lovely flowers, hill views and some birds.
On reaching the resort we are greeted warmly but had to wait for quite some time for the check in since there was a big group of people waiting already.
Not much had changed since our previous visit last year. The place is well spread out with good distance between the units. The resort provides two battery operated vehicles for the use of the guests and this is needed at all times, especially for the elderly even for coming for meals, since there is only one restaurant and that too near the reception. A new addition is a toy train which keeps roaming around the resort on a fixed route and is hop-on hop-off. The kids loved this and kept going for rides in the same. However, I feel that the management should not have used a tractor engine running of diesel to power this train, but instead used a battery operated one.
The food had improved a lot since last year. Maybe they finally changed the chef!! We tried the buffet once, which was very tasty, but too costly, especially considering the amount my daughters ate. I preferred to stick to the a-la-carte menu after that. For a family of four, the a-la-carte proves to be cheaper than the buffet.
One very welcome change was the opening of all the swimming pools and play areas. The kids had a great time on the pool and the swings. There is a nice Table Tennis table. They have many added attractions like camel ride, cycle rides, all paid of course!
Construction is still going on, but does not disturb the peace and quiet of the place. The view from most of the rooms is breath taking. The Hotel Units have a better view than the Apartments.
It is definitely worth the effort required to reach the place.

Room Tip: Taking two hotel units is better than one studio apartment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

This was my second stay at a Club Mahindra resort, and so far I have been very pleased with the resorts. Unlike most resorts, Club Mahindra gives a unique experience by providing fun and engaging activities to the visitors as well as clean and high quality rooms.

The facilities at Club Mahindra Tungi Lake are out of the world. A cosy restaurant, a luxorious lounge, a funzone, activity center and a breathtaking view of the lake are all available at the resort. The funzone is a unique concept Club Mahindra provides in which activities for all ages are available throughout the day. These activities include kareoke nights, sports competitions, scavenger hunts and many more. In the Funzone, you can also enjoy board games, pool, air hockey and table tennis. Since the resort is huge, every thirty minutes a club Mahindra toy train (Jiyo Life Express) is sent to all apartment blocks for pick up and drop off. Although, walking with nature could be more pleasant. The rooms are well maintained and hygienic.

Even though the facilities are outstanding, I believe a good resort is not a good resort unless it has good service. This time I was slightly dissapointed with Club Mahindra. A mix and blend of problems occurred during our stay at the Club Mahindra Tungi Lake, Lonavala. Poor service and Bad weather were two of the main problems that we faced.

The Service was not the worst, but certainly not the best. I felt there was lack of management in the hotel, especially in the fun zone. In the Funzone there are two areas. The activity center (main block) and the games room (table tennis, pool and airhockey. None of the staff was in the games room, and this led to kaos. We even told the staff about this, but the staff members tend to reply with excuses, instead of acting on it immediately. Another example is at the restaurant. We took a full day package, including breakfast buffet, lunch buffet and dinner buffet. We again and again reminded them about payment for the food, but they were unprepared, because the system was too complicated. At checkout if we had not reminded them, we would have gone without paying for food, since they had no record of our meal. Another example is at the room. When we arrived back to the room from dinner, our sofa bed wasn't set.

Bad Weather may have been 60% of the problem in our stay. It was raining heavily non stop and we were all soaking wet. The hotel is not too be blamed for the bad weather of course though. This was our fault. That's why I suggest you don't plan a stay at this resort during the monsoon. At this time, experiences like boating and trekking will be missed.

Overall, I enjoyed the facilities provides, but believe they could be a lot more engaging and enjoyable if the service at the resort was improved.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Good place to visit with anyone may it be friend family couples.located quite in the interior with bad road but that's the fun.
Rooms were quite big with a good view,less options in food and lil overpriced.
They had toy trains and golf cars which was food fun but sometimes it takes a quite long to reach ur room.

Best things were spa, pool and the indoor activities. Room service was lil slow but it was expected as the property is quite big
Only bad experience we had was we had some weird smell in the room whnevr we use washroom by they apologised for it so no complains.

And it was quite unbelievable that they didn't had a bar license otherwise it would have been awesome as the view from the bar was simply awesome.

All in all a good weekend getaway rather then going to lonavala.

Room Tip: kindly ask them 2 give a room with a proper lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Club Mahindra' Tungi Lake resort gives you an out of the world experience!
The pluses are 98% and the minuses are 2%.
First the pluses:
Very comfortable apartments in individual buildings spread over a very vast area.
The whole area is full of greenery. Face mountain and the Lake.
From every room, one may see the lake and hundreds of green plants touching the windows.
Visitors' Cars are allowed only till reception building and the parking area. Inside, pathways are laid where their toy train takes all from their rooms to the activity area and the dining room. This avoids pollution by the cars.
A walk in the rains through this pathway was out of the world experience!
Swimming in the pool just adjacent to the lake gives an unique experience.
Staff are very friendly and helpful, as in every Club Mahindra resort.
Activity room is good but to get into an activity with the resort full with the guests, is a little difficult task. The magic show held during our stay was outstanding!
Ripples, their dining place offers very delicious breakfast and lunch/ dinner buffets. The variety seems to be better than even some of the 5 star Hotels!
Being away from any city or town, keeps you inside the resort compulsorily making you enjoy every moment of your stay.

Now the minuses:
Although it is a small percentage, needs the management' attention, wherever it is in their purview.
After getting into the last 10 Km stretch ( very bad road) signage boards should be kept at every small right and left branching roads. Even the board at the turning to Upvan is kept a little before the junction. After crossing this, there were 2 branch roads giving a bit of tension as there are no signage of Club Mahindra.because, it is a totally deserted road not giving any chance to check up with anyone. Suggest for the signage boards at these places too.
The resort in the nights become pitch dark. You are advised to necessarily take their toy train to your rom from the activity centre and the dining place to avoid encountering any insects. One can not know whether you reached your building as the driver sits in a separate engine like coach. Announcement system inside will help the situation.
Though the frequency of this train is not to our convenience, walking is the best option as it gives you breath taking views around.
The kitchenette should have better lighting as it was an effort to plug in the toaster and the kettle as there is no proper lighting in that place.
As mentioned earlier, these are very small inconveniences compared to the enjoyable features this resort offer.

A stay in this resort is sure to rejuvenate one, giving an out of the world feeling!

Room Tip: A room in the upper floor would give a better view of the Lake!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

This was our second visit to this resort, which is actually in Pavna, which is nearly 30 kilometres from the centre of Lonavala town. Since we had been there earlier, we were better prepared this time.
As with all Mahindra resorts, owning a vehicle is required since all their resorts are in remote locations 10 to 15 kilometres from the town or city they are supposed to be in, and driving is usually the only way to get there!
We did not have to ask for the directions, but noted that the sign boards are still too few to be helpful to those who are making the trip for the first time. The road is still as bad as ever, especially the last 10 kilometres from Cloud 9 resort, and we had to drive very slowly. Traffic has also increased in this stretch since our last visit, and there were times when oncoming vehicles could come suddenly around a bend, necessitating a lot of back and forth navigation on part of both the parties! Thankfully, my husband was driving that stretch!
On reaching the resort we are greeted warmly but had to wait for quite some time for the check in since there was a big group of people waiting already.
Not much has changed since our previous visit last year. The place is well spread out with good distance between the units. The resort provides two battery operated vehicles for the use of the guests and this is needed at all times, especially for the elderly even for coming for meals, since there is only one restaurant and that too near the reception. A new addition is a toy train which keeps roaming around the resort on a fixed route and is hop-on hop-off. The kids loved this and kept going for rides in the same. However, my concern was that this was run by a tractor engine instead of a battery car, and so I feel that it is not so environment friendly. The same thing could have been run using a battery engine.
The food was much better this time. We tried the buffet once, but found it a little costly for the variety offered and so stuck to the a-la-carte after that. For a family of four, the a-la-carte proves to be cheaper than the buffet.
One very welcome change was the opening of all the swimming pools and play areas. The kids had a great time on the pool and the swings. They have many added attractions like camel ride, cycle rides, all paid of course!
Construction is still going on, but does not disturb the peace and quiet of the place. The view from most of the rooms is breath taking and it is very quiet and peaceful once it becomes dark. It is difficult to imagine that we are only 90 kilometres away from a huge noisy metropolis. Those with medical issues need to be extra prepared, since the place is cut-off and not medicines or medical emergencies can be handled there.
It is definitely worth the effort required to reach the place.

Room Tip: The hotel units have the best view. So it is better to take two hotel units rather than a single stu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

We, a family of 3, visited Club Mahindra Tungi resort last year in Sept/Oct for 2 nights. It is a hige resort with wide open spaces. I am very happy to say that this is a fantastic resort with superb cottages, breathtaking views, a very nice swimming pool. The resort has a variety of games and activities for children as well as for adults. Additionally, they provide bicycles on rent.

We stayed in a studio apartment which was very airy and huge. It consists of a double bed, LCD TV, a sofa-cum-bed, microwave, cutlery etc. It also has a very nice balcony which is ideal for a sitout in the evening or early morning. There is a very cute mini train (which has rubber tyres and runs on roads). All in all a superb place to spend the weekend and have a nice famiy get-together especially for those staying in Mumbai & Pune.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tungi Lake Pavna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tungi Lake Pavna

Address: Tungi Lake, Pavna, Lonavala, India (Formerly Club Mahindra Tungi Lake Pavna)
Location: India > Maharashtra > Lonavala
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Lonavala

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tungi Lake Pavna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.