We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“real unwinding resort with no polution” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tungi Lake Pavna

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lonavala
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tungi Lake Pavna
Save
You added Tungi Lake Pavna to your Saves list
Tungi Lake, Pavna, Lonavala, India (Formerly Club Mahindra Tungi Lake Pavna)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 43 Lonavala B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Mumbai (Bombay), India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“real unwinding resort with no polution”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

as said above is truth. approch road from cloud9 junction is bad till resort.
need to attend on priority.pantri/kichen is well equipted too.bathrooms are wonderful.
lighting in apartment is ok, requirs more . on working platform in kichen Light sure require which not there at all.

Room Tip: mostely one bed room apartment are over looking lake and in backround hills. but suggest go for sam...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    126
    22
    3
    4
See reviews for
175
36
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Approach: very poor as it involves a few kilometres of a poor road (which also adds to the time spent in reaching there), and is a disincentive to driving down to Lonavala for a meal.

Rooms: above average, large and well furnished, great views of the lake itself.

Food: Quite good, though not outstanding. Pricing on par with other Club Mahindra resorts

Special mentions: Great pool, worth spending a lot of your time. Good weather. Great views. Spacious resort. More than adequate library.

Shortcomings: Still at soft launch stage, no liquor permit (apart from the approach road)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Could not believe that this is a property which is a part of a "Time Share".
This is nothing short of an Luxury 5 Star Resort.
The staff is extremely courteous here and go an extra miles to service the guests. Be it at the SPA, Restaurant, Activity Hall .
We had taken a trek down to Pawna lake, is short and not so tiring too, recommended.
The Guide was co operative, and they also give you Water / Juice for the trek.
The cottages have view of the lake.

Room Tip: Cottages overlooking the lake give a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Lake Pavna is located at one of the most picturesque locations around Lonavala, built by the foothills of Tungi Fort- overlooking lake Pavna.

The drive from lonavala to the resort is super rough with uneven, gravel laden - potholed road but once you enter the gates like any other Club Mahindra resort, Lake Pavna is aesthetically landscaped with over 150 suites and apartments spread across the hill with some of the rooms overlooking the lake.

The ecosystem is well preserved by restricting the use of personal vehicles in the resort. The resort have their own fleet of golf carts to ferry you around the 40 odd acres. A mini tractor led train chucks every hour around the resort for those who do not prefer walking it out to the activity centre/ restaurant.

The rooms are well maintained with a dry kitchen in every suite albeit the kitchen is not well stocked and I recommend carrying your own stuff including alcohol, soft-drinks,chips etc.(Pick up all the stuff that you need at lonavala as there are no stores once you leave lonavala).

Although the room service is good the restaurant service lacks in the service department. The buffet is lavish but the a-la-carte service and menu is limited. No alcohol is served at the restaurant as I believe the resort has not yet received a permit to serve it yet.

The infinity pool is one of the most appealing of all the pools in the resort. The resort has all sorts of fun activities/ games every few hours at the in-house activity centre. For the energetic ones the activity centre has well maintained TT, pool and Ice hockey tables. They even rent bicycles at a nominal rate. A well equipped gym and spa are open for you to work and relax those tired muscles.

All in all there is plenty to do in and around Lake Pavna! Apart from the restaurant service our stay at the resort was awesome.

PS:In all fairness to the criticism in my review the resort has not yet officially been opened to the public.

Room Tip: Ask for the lake facing rooms when you make a reservation. If you don't like waiting for the mi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

The location though scenic and drool worthy, the resort has to improve on road quality going to the resort. The lobby has an amazing view and the rooms are stilt based. The restrooms have a glass wall for natural sunlight with the required blinds for privacy. The food was nice and service very hospitible. All in all, a relaxing experience!!

Room Tip: The hotel units are walkable and not dependent on the buggy transport.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Some major issues - the sofa-bed was broken - our room being at the very end - did not have a view nor was the service great (we even had to wait for half hour before the buggy came and picked us up)...

the property had great views from the reception as well as the restuarant (for some reason they dont serve food outside) - but that the best place to sit considering the view...

during breakfast - get used to the crowd - this is a place near Mumbai :)

Oh yea - Please get a SUV to the property - as the drive isnt the greatest

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

For Mumbai/ Pune members, Goa was the closest resort till now. However, there was no resort where one could drive to. Finally, CM has added Tungi and Mahabaleshwar resorts to its bouquet. The feedback about CM Mahabaleshwar resort has been poor so far. But, I am hoping that resort will have CM standards once the refurbishment is completed.

We visited CM Tungi resort in Jan 2013 with our 3 months daughter. It was our first trip with our daughter and hence we did not want to travel very far or by air. So, this was a perfect location.

Positives
1. Booking process was very smooth and I was happy with the courteous and efficient service by the customer care executive.
2. I received an email from the resort manager couple of days before the travel date with the details and directions to resort. It was very helpful.
3. I wrote to the resort manager requesting for giving us 1BR with good view since we were planning to spend lot of time in the room. I did not receive any reply from the resort manager. However, on reaching the resort, I was pleasantly surprised to find out that our request was already noted and we were allotted a good room. These are the things that add immensely to customer satisfaction.
4. Very courteous and friendly staff. We slept around 1.30am and realised then that we needed more blankets. We called up the housekeeping at 1.30am and the blankets were promptly delivered. I was very sleepy and forgot to tip the housekeeping staff and I regret it.
5. Resort is great if you want to have a lazy and relaxed holiday. We enjoyed sitting in the balcony overlooking scenic views for hours breathing fresh air and listening to chirping of birds.
6. Views are lovely and once can see pavna dam and 4 forts viz. Lohgad, Visapur, Tung and Tikona from the resort. A trek to tung fort is highly recommended.
7. Swimming pool overlooking the lake is nice.

Scope for improvement
1. Buffet spread was good. But, we found the food very spicy.
2. The sofa bed in the living room of 1BR apartment was very inconvenient as it had hard wooden surface. My brother in law who slept on that bed woke up with a stiff back.
3. I understand the fact that it is difficult to maintain such big resorts. Housekeeping had done a good job of cleaning except for the sofa bed in the living room. The bedsheet was not clean.
4. I got a feeling that CM Lake Pavna is inadequately staffed. For eg: There were only 2/3 staff members in the restaurant to clear plates, serve water etc. And lot of their time was taken by patrons who had opted for ala carte orders. May be CM can have extra staff at least on weekends.
5. There is no tree cover in the resort unlike other CM resorts. So, one cannot roam in the resort on a sunny day. I am hoping CM will be planting trees so that we can have some good tree cover in few years.

I will like to visit again and hopefully road would be better then.

Room Tip: Hotel units are more conveniently located. However, these units do not have a kitchenette. So, stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tungi Lake Pavna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tungi Lake Pavna

Address: Tungi Lake, Pavna, Lonavala, India (Formerly Club Mahindra Tungi Lake Pavna)
Location: India > Maharashtra > Lonavala
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Lonavala

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tungi Lake Pavna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.