We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“machan review” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Machan

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Machan to your Saves list
The Machan
8 km Short of Aamby Valley, Lonavala 401401, India (Formerly The Machan & Camp Canopy)   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Celebrate in Style!
Ranked #1 of 54 Hotels in Lonavala
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“machan review”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Our family of 5 (including my 5-year old daughter) had been to machan for one night.We had booked the forest machan during our stay.
This is the perfect place if you need solace from the hustle and bustle of the city and enjoy all those wonderful moments with your family.
The location of this hotel is excellent and the views of the valley from the machan are stunning.
They organize nature trail in the property and it is a good one-hour walk to get closer to nature.
The concept of "machan" itself is innovative and it is a hit specially among the kids.
The staff is excellent and responsive to your needs.
My daughter was pretty impressed with the machan design,the ambience and a small waterfall inside the property.


Areas of improvement :
They can improve further on food options for guests by expanding their food menu.
Maintenance inside the machans is required as the wooden doors and windows tend to swell during rainy season.The bath tub metal bushing was not working and we had to get a temporary fix with the help of the hotel staff

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VH03, Manager at The Machan, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Dear Sameer,

We're extremely happy that you and your lovely family took the time out to visit us at The Machan. Your kind words are much appreciated.

Due to our remote location we do tend to keep the menu rather simple. Despite that we are looking to experiment with a expanded menu that should be live by October.

Since this was our first monsoon for the Forest Machan we do admit to a greater level of challenges we have had to face. You shall be glad to note that maintenance is finally winning their battle against the expanding wood and the bathtub fixture has been replaced.

Do hope we shall have the pleasure of hosting you folks again very soon.

Regards,
The Machan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    269
    89
    18
    5
    3
See reviews for
117
195
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We have been to the Machan multiple times and each trip has been more special than before...It's like living in the clouds and that too in complete privacy...The monsoon of course brings out the best ,with sounds of the toads & grasshoppers,crickets & the whistling birds...with fireflies at the windows..

It's a must visit place for nature lovers...start gazing at the Machan which is abt 50 feet above the resort level is great and the personalized service is next to none...

Room Tip: Must do the start gazing at night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We had been for a 2 night stay at Machan Lonavla with our three kids. Lovely place, unspoilt, tree house rooms very exciting and the place serene. The staff are very helpful and try to go the extra length. Nothing much to do other than relax. So plan for that. The food is home made , simple spread, nothing fancy. We stayed at the forest machan ( has some issues that need to be ironed yet). We normally dont find a place like this in Lonavla, but it is a bit expensive for the services provided. Think the price is more for the infrastructure than the service.

Overall a good place if you appreciate nature !

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Candolim, India
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

So the place is like a dream we were there for 3 days while it was raining and the place felt like it was placed on a cloud.
the location is lovely and the staff is helpful, the rooms are done up very well and there is a calm quality to the entrie resot, from the lake to the yello flower bed and te balcony deck.
the stay was comfortable, however for the tarrif that they charge, the food lacked any flair.
very very regular daal, roti and sabji which went cold too often as the cooking and serving areas were far.
except the mundane food, the stay was awesome

Room Tip: -only reliance cell will get range - make a trip to kinara village dhaba for killer food
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Beautiful rooms, awesome views, good food & wonderful service. Very helpful and courteous staff made the experience all the more delightful! We traveled with kids and seniors...& everyone returned equally delighted.

The entire time we spent here at the 'Heritage Machan' was a great experience. A rat barged in at night...but that's okay when you are living right in the middle of a forest ;) However, the dedicated team at 'The Machan' ensured that they did everything to make us comfortable.

All those adventurous guys who wish to spend time with nature, in a tastefully built tree-house...this is definitely the place to go to - just about 2 hours away from Mumbai!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, India
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Having stayed at the standard Machans a couple of times, I was wondering what the Jungle Machan's would be like! I was in for a pleasant surprise...slightly further away from the Fireplace (their restaurant), these are beautifully done, duplex structures with sheer glass on 2 sides...the clouds actually came into my machan! ..The views are stunning, the service exemplary...the food is good, home cooked stuff......In summary - even in the Monsoons, Winter or whatever the weather, The Machan is an amazing break!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

I needed an escape from busy Pune and India, in general, and I found more than I thought I would find here: peace, quiet, comfort, luxury, forest, birds, frogs, rain, wind, sleep, serenity!

I love this place and the amazing staff of genuinely friendly and courteous people.

I didn’t want to leave!

Room Tip: Forest 3 is the top-most room of the Forest Machans ... loved it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Machan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Machan

Address: 8 km Short of Aamby Valley, Lonavala 401401, India (Formerly The Machan & Camp Canopy)
Phone Number:
Location: India > Maharashtra > Lonavala
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 54 Hotels in Lonavala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An award-winning eco-resort in Lonavala. The Machan is a story of dwellings that rise above the forest floor and form a symbiotic relationship with their natural surroundings. All of its individual accommodations are located 30-40 feet in the air, with enchanting valley views and elegant rustic interiors. Its carbon footprint is minimal – with its energy generated solely through solar and wind. Located in Jambulne, one of 25 biological hotspots of the world and a mere 2.5 drive from Mumbai (1.5 hours from Pune), the Machan makes for an accessible weekend getaway. We invite you to take some time away from work and immerse yourself in this one of a kind experience. Reconnect with family, friends and loved ones in the comfort and privacy of this truly exclusive retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Machan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Machan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.