We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a dream i wish would never end” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Machan

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Machan to your Saves list
The Machan
8 km Short of Aamby Valley, Lonavala 401401, India (Formerly The Machan & Camp Canopy)   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Celebrate in Style!
Ranked #1 of 54 Hotels in Lonavala
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“a dream i wish would never end”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2011

We stayed at Camp Canopy for only one night and how I wish we had stayed for more time! Right from the service to the home cooked food, to the decor of the room, to the sparkling white bedsheets, every part of our one night getaway was amazing. The staff, each and every one, were so kind and friendly and did all they could to make us comfortable, and the food was "ghar ka khaana" and absolutely delicious. I am very particular about bed linens and bathrooms and was pleasantly surprised to see the attention to details in both. We had a 7 month old baby and a 4 year old with us but never did we miss the tv or other conventional forms of entertainment.
the jungle hike was also very exciting and we managed to glimpse a barking deer crashing through the foliage. we are def planning another trip, this time to stay at the Macchaan.
only 2 suggestions: please add a more effective table fan as afternoons get warm, and add fresh fruits to the menu.
All in all, a wonderful place. Hope it never changes.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    269
    89
    18
    5
    3
See reviews for
117
195
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2011

“The Machan” is true to its name in letter & spirit.
A perfect nearest getaway for all Mumbaikers who are starved of greenery, peace & tranquility.
A soothing balm for the mind and body to unwind, relax and get closer to nature.
The eco-friendly theme and natural environs concept adds ups to the delight of all nature lovers.
The facilities & the staff at this place are excellent, world class & service extremely cordial & friendly.
I and my family had the most memorable and enjoyable experience of this place and look forward to visiting the same time and again.
Prashant Korukonda

Room Tip: Keep map directions handy, no signboards on route.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2011

The Machan Resort : Lonavla
Date: April 2011

Right from the time of booking (at such short notice) till the departure, i was floored by the communication with the "Machan Team" so prompt and professionalism personified. Price doesnt matter when you see the service and the lovely ambience. I was amazed that there were no sign boards.... indeed the two white washed stones are the hallmark of a holidaying experience!

I had the most amazing, serene, satisfying holiday at The Machan Resort - Camp Canopy... The two nights three day trip was out of the world ... far surpassing the website and reviews.

The welcome itself was a preview of the things to come.
The Camp Canopy was "PERFECT" simple, tasteful and aesthetically done up. A treetop tent! The tent was so spacious, with a private sit in area with the amazing view and the daily sunrise. The brass antiques and the selection of the furniture, the oh so well done up bath area and the thoughtful guide on birds truly reflects the eye for detail. For the privacy of guests i would rate this place 10 on 10. (Credit goes to the well trained staff - they were so organised, so polite and caring, and not overbearing just the way i wanted.) The view is simply awesome.


The amyrallis landscaping (under progress) and the natural terrain was so soothing, the guided nature trail and the sightings of the deers and birds, the amazing indigenous medicinal plants in all its natural glory and the care taken to maintain them in their natural habitat by the owner truly touched my heart. Detailed care is taken to maintain the natural terrain, the power is self generated with solar cooking and the wind mills..

The lunch served in a clearance among the trees and the candle light dinners with a variety of vegetarian and non-vegetarian dishes cooked to perfection with the staff in the shadows is something to be experienced.

The maintenance of the rooms twice daily says a lot... the small surprise arranged on the day of departure simply made me emotional !

i wont deny i have holidayed at 7 star hotels abroad and experienced the best of what the west has to offer, but despite this The Machan Resort far surpassed the expectations thanks to its love and concern to conserve nature. A visit especially in the monsoons is recommended for sure.

Once again i thank the Machan Team... Keep up the good work!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2011

The Machan is just like heaven on earth, fantastic location the entry to the place is different and nice. The stay at Tree house with such a great interiors is totally refershing, Just being surrounded by trees and nature everywhere, Listening to the chirping of birds is great.

They also provide a small walk through which is really nice,they have a man made fall within, which is nice place to spend time. The food at The Machan is really nice and the eating place which is with bonfire. Its a must to stay place.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2011

My review of Machan will remain slightly biased and rose-tinted coz the place was a complete surprise! I was expecting to stay in a tent, and was driven into this haven in the middle of really nowhere. The first thing that struck me about Machan was how understated beautiful and in-sync with it's natural environment Machan is. The beautiful reception deck done tastefully, with that lovely touch of a Book cupboard (for visitors like me who forgot to carry any books!) and the wind mills greet you with a vibe that's very warm and friendly. We were greeted by very friendly staff, and it is really commendable how the focus has been kept on the basics. Just goes to show that people are willing to go with great, albeit uncomplicated food, if the place has enough of everything else to offer. Our camp had a stellar view of the valley, and gave a sense of luxury in the midst of a jungle. Very mythical. My partner surprised me again by getting a candle lit dinner arranged for us, another surprise that just made my day. That view, coupled with a full moon, the candle light, and Santana playing in the background, definitely made this the happiest trip of my life. Short as it was, I'm definitely going to drag him back there, for a few more days, so that we can catch up with each other, without a worry in the world again! Highly recommended for all those who deal with very stressful lives and have nearly forgotten how to just chill! :)

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2011

“Natural living and living with Nature are both synonymous yet different. One can experience a taste of both in this wonderful piece of luxury.

Tree house concept merges with Nature and gives one an experience to be on top of the skies and enjoy what Nature has to offer.

The breeze, the birds chirping and sunshine all in abundance – perfect solution for a stress free weekend.

Please keep up the natural habitat.

Food is simple and tasty. Tents are very comfortable. Staff and service par excellence.

Keep it up.”

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2011

Had a wonderful stay at this calm, tranquil, peaceful and romantic getaway.

Would highly recommend it to everyone and especially to couples who would like to spend time with one another.

The service and the staff is extremely hospitable and courteous and smiling.

Especially enjoyed the lunch set for us in the forest clearing!

Thank you.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Machan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Machan

Address: 8 km Short of Aamby Valley, Lonavala 401401, India (Formerly The Machan & Camp Canopy)
Phone Number:
Location: India > Maharashtra > Lonavala
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 54 Hotels in Lonavala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An award-winning eco-resort in Lonavala. The Machan is a story of dwellings that rise above the forest floor and form a symbiotic relationship with their natural surroundings. All of its individual accommodations are located 30-40 feet in the air, with enchanting valley views and elegant rustic interiors. Its carbon footprint is minimal – with its energy generated solely through solar and wind. Located in Jambulne, one of 25 biological hotspots of the world and a mere 2.5 drive from Mumbai (1.5 hours from Pune), the Machan makes for an accessible weekend getaway. We invite you to take some time away from work and immerse yourself in this one of a kind experience. Reconnect with family, friends and loved ones in the comfort and privacy of this truly exclusive retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Machan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Machan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.