We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A dream come true” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Machan

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Machan to your Saves list
The Machan
8 km Short of Aamby Valley, Lonavala 401401, India (Formerly The Machan & Camp Canopy)   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Celebrate in Style!
Ranked #1 of 54 Hotels in Lonavala
Mumbai (Bombay), India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A dream come true”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2011

The Machan Resort : Lonavla
Date: April 2011

Right from the time of booking (at such short notice) till the departure, i was floored by the communication with the "Machan Team" so prompt and professionalism personified. Price doesnt matter when you see the service and the lovely ambience. I was amazed that there were no sign boards.... indeed the two white washed stones are the hallmark of a holidaying experience!

I had the most amazing, serene, satisfying holiday at The Machan Resort - Camp Canopy... The two nights three day trip was out of the world ... far surpassing the website and reviews.

The welcome itself was a preview of the things to come.
The Camp Canopy was "PERFECT" simple, tasteful and aesthetically done up. A treetop tent! The tent was so spacious, with a private sit in area with the amazing view and the daily sunrise. The brass antiques and the selection of the furniture, the oh so well done up bath area and the thoughtful guide on birds truly reflects the eye for detail. For the privacy of guests i would rate this place 10 on 10. (Credit goes to the well trained staff - they were so organised, so polite and caring, and not overbearing just the way i wanted.) The view is simply awesome.


The amyrallis landscaping (under progress) and the natural terrain was so soothing, the guided nature trail and the sightings of the deers and birds, the amazing indigenous medicinal plants in all its natural glory and the care taken to maintain them in their natural habitat by the owner truly touched my heart. Detailed care is taken to maintain the natural terrain, the power is self generated with solar cooking and the wind mills..

The lunch served in a clearance among the trees and the candle light dinners with a variety of vegetarian and non-vegetarian dishes cooked to perfection with the staff in the shadows is something to be experienced.

The maintenance of the rooms twice daily says a lot... the small surprise arranged on the day of departure simply made me emotional !

i wont deny i have holidayed at 7 star hotels abroad and experienced the best of what the west has to offer, but despite this The Machan Resort far surpassed the expectations thanks to its love and concern to conserve nature. A visit especially in the monsoons is recommended for sure.

Once again i thank the Machan Team... Keep up the good work!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    269
    89
    20
    5
    3
See reviews for
117
197
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2011

The Machan is just like heaven on earth, fantastic location the entry to the place is different and nice. The stay at Tree house with such a great interiors is totally refershing, Just being surrounded by trees and nature everywhere, Listening to the chirping of birds is great.

They also provide a small walk through which is really nice,they have a man made fall within, which is nice place to spend time. The food at The Machan is really nice and the eating place which is with bonfire. Its a must to stay place.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2011

My review of Machan will remain slightly biased and rose-tinted coz the place was a complete surprise! I was expecting to stay in a tent, and was driven into this haven in the middle of really nowhere. The first thing that struck me about Machan was how understated beautiful and in-sync with it's natural environment Machan is. The beautiful reception deck done tastefully, with that lovely touch of a Book cupboard (for visitors like me who forgot to carry any books!) and the wind mills greet you with a vibe that's very warm and friendly. We were greeted by very friendly staff, and it is really commendable how the focus has been kept on the basics. Just goes to show that people are willing to go with great, albeit uncomplicated food, if the place has enough of everything else to offer. Our camp had a stellar view of the valley, and gave a sense of luxury in the midst of a jungle. Very mythical. My partner surprised me again by getting a candle lit dinner arranged for us, another surprise that just made my day. That view, coupled with a full moon, the candle light, and Santana playing in the background, definitely made this the happiest trip of my life. Short as it was, I'm definitely going to drag him back there, for a few more days, so that we can catch up with each other, without a worry in the world again! Highly recommended for all those who deal with very stressful lives and have nearly forgotten how to just chill! :)

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2011

“Natural living and living with Nature are both synonymous yet different. One can experience a taste of both in this wonderful piece of luxury.

Tree house concept merges with Nature and gives one an experience to be on top of the skies and enjoy what Nature has to offer.

The breeze, the birds chirping and sunshine all in abundance – perfect solution for a stress free weekend.

Please keep up the natural habitat.

Food is simple and tasty. Tents are very comfortable. Staff and service par excellence.

Keep it up.”

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2011

Had a wonderful stay at this calm, tranquil, peaceful and romantic getaway.

Would highly recommend it to everyone and especially to couples who would like to spend time with one another.

The service and the staff is extremely hospitable and courteous and smiling.

Especially enjoyed the lunch set for us in the forest clearing!

Thank you.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2011

Our anniversary weekend at The Machan was just as we'd hoped. My husband, 17-month old son and I enjoyed getting away from the city for a peaceful couple of nights in beautiful surroundings. First, the tent accomodation was perfect--being among the treetops was awesome (thrilling for our little boy) and the glass balcony gave you full views yet was safe for our young child. The interior was very comfortable with a great bathroom that doesn't have anything "country" about it but the lovely skyview gives you the outdoor feel. Loved the well -designed and thoughtful decor -- gives a feel of antique outpost with smart Indian touches. Great trail walks, amazing views of the hills and sunset, far from any touristy corner of Lonavla, friendly staff, and tasty food. The all-day snack menu is great--because honestly we were content spending hours on the deck relaxing and soaking up the natural beauty and fresh air. If you choose to dine in the dining tent, the food is tasty but the presentation and dining area is simple--after all the place doesn't house many guests with just 4 tents at the moment. This didn't bother me as I appreciated their effort to be eco-conscious and not wasteful--I didn't ever leave hungry.
If you love the outdoors and unique but comfortable accomodations, I highly recommend The Machan--including for families with small children (the kitchen will accomodate their needs as well). It's rustic luxury...on a perch!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), Maharashtra, India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2011

Machan/ Camp Canopy is the place where you can just relax and be with your family, friends or partner. It was amazing to discover such a place soo close to Mumbai where you can find peace of mind. Away from all the noise, phone, TV etc. Its a highly recommended place for special occasions. e.g Anniversary. There is also mountain climbing and jungle trail that can be arranged for the enthusiast guests. Not to worry...no wild animals.
The service provided was very good and prompt.
The room was a beautiful ethnic look and also very clean and maintained. The view from the gallery was amazing, specially if you are a nature lover.
The food quality was the best part. Lovely home made food with different variety daily. Its difficult to find such tasty food even in the best of restaurants in Mumbai
The only suggestion was, if Machan team could provide lunch as well in the package they offer then i guess it would surely add value to their services.
Just to wind up, i think its surely a place where in you find value for money.
All the best to Machan team.
Note for the Machan team - Please do not increase the rooms to an extent where in you would kill the sanctity of the place. Keep it peaceful and pleasant.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Machan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Machan

Address: 8 km Short of Aamby Valley, Lonavala 401401, India (Formerly The Machan & Camp Canopy)
Phone Number:
Location: India > Maharashtra > Lonavala
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 54 Hotels in Lonavala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An award-winning eco-resort in Lonavala. The Machan is a story of dwellings that rise above the forest floor and form a symbiotic relationship with their natural surroundings. All of its individual accommodations are located 30-40 feet in the air, with enchanting valley views and elegant rustic interiors. Its carbon footprint is minimal – with its energy generated solely through solar and wind. Located in Jambulne, one of 25 biological hotspots of the world and a mere 2.5 drive from Mumbai (1.5 hours from Pune), the Machan makes for an accessible weekend getaway. We invite you to take some time away from work and immerse yourself in this one of a kind experience. Reconnect with family, friends and loved ones in the comfort and privacy of this truly exclusive retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your The Machan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Machan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.