We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A day at Hotel Chandralok” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chandralok Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Chandralok Hotel to your Saves list
Chandralok Hotel
Near Lonavala Bustand, Lonavala 410401, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 54 Hotels in Lonavala
Mumbai
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A day at Hotel Chandralok”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

PROS:
--- Decent Hotel
--- Neat rooms, clean bathroom
--- Gujarati thaali, unlimited, men should try this as their intake will make it paisa vasool
--- Complimentary breakfasts everyday excluding day of check-in, that too unlimited
--- House-keeping guys, very polite & helpful
--- Close proximity to station, adjacent to bus stop at Lonavala
--- Also the best part of Hotel is, the payment is done at the last at the time of departure so that makes the check-in procedure easy
--- If the rooms are available, they allow the guests to check-in before their scheduled check-in time & that is a very good gesture

SUGGESTIONS:
--- The managers in the Hotel should be more polite like house-keeping guys
--- They should welcome the guest with a glass of water & soft drinks or coffee or tea
--- They should ask with the guest whether they need any surprises for their partners or children or grand parents & accordingly they should arrange & keep it in the room
--- Hotel staff or receptionist or house-keeping guy should inform the guest of the breakfast, lunch & dinner time well in hand so that they don't miss the same, reminder call will be helpful for them
--- They should take the guest's email-id too along with phone no for any future information about discounts or off season attraction etc with their prior approval. Some may not like unnecessary mails, some may want such information via mails, few may want telephonically.
--- They should keep complimentary breakfast on the day of check-ins too, as people leave early from their home to spend more time with their family without having heavy breakfast, so this should be thought of as guests will feel happie about the same. They should be told regarding this without fail at the time of enquiry so that they don't wake up early in the morning to make breakfast for their family
--- Also they should service their ACs frequently for avoiding any leakage problem
--- And finally I would suggest the management to keep a small toothpaste of good brand along with soap & towels in the bathroom

Note: If anyone can contact me from Hotel Chandralok & take my email-id for future offers & discounts, i will be obliged. My stay was at room no.207.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    91
    24
    10
    6
See reviews for
58
79
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
delhi
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

As soon as we arrived at Lonavala around 2 pm, our search for a good accommodation started.After looking into various options, we finalized on Hotel Chandralok(the decision we didnt regret).Chandralok is star property located very near to Lonavala bus Stop and market.
Our room had a very nice view of Lush green lawn.Room are very neat and clean with amenties like LCD TV, Tea and Coffee maker.

Next morning we decided to go for a morning walk to Lonavala lake which is just 1 km from the hotel.Hotel has Buffet breakfast. Food is hundred percent vegetarian but very tasteful.
We were served idli sambhar, sandwich, upma , fruits,cornflakes , etc for the Breakfast. Staff is very courteous and nice. If ever we visit lonavala again we would definitely stay in Hotel Chandralok

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rajkot, India
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We were invited with warm welcome. We had selected executive suit, it is fantastic. It`s parking is very large and its entrance is too good. The best Gujarati in whole lonavala & Its all over food it too much tasty and delicious food. It`s rooms are sunny & big rooms. It is good for children because they have many indoor games for children. Its staff is very friendly. There service is very speedy and precise. It is very nearer to bus stand so, it is easy for tourist to find a beautiful hotel like HOTEL CHANDRALOK. That was our best trip due to chandralok. We cannot forgot that trip.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We went to Lonavala with a group of friends and decided to stay here since it was close to the wedding we were attending. The location was not good as it was right in the market so it got pretty busy and was very noisy and there was also a bus stand right opposite the hotel. the crowd in the hotel was very decent family crowd so that was a plus point.

The rooms were small but cozy and very clean, was recently renovated I guess so it had a very modern look to it. They had a in-house restaurant where they served thalis I guess so we gave it a miss. Staff needs to be more friendly and better trained as well for the money we are paying.

They provide parking so that's good since we travelled by car. Public transport is very poor so its better if you take your own vehicle. It was easy finding this hotel as the locals were well aware about the place. I'm not sure about staying here again, will probably seek another option.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

Very well located ,near to mkt.
Food quality good in Restaurent.
Rooms not clean. Tea cattle is rusted. Very small room. Water supply is not regular in the toilet.

I would rate ** to this hotel.

Avoid if traveling with kids.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

We booked 2 rooms over the weekend of Aug 18th 2013. It was a vacation spoiling experience.

The rooms were nothing like what they appeared on booking.com. The glass door bathroom was non existent. When I pressed the manager hard to show me that glass door, the manager did take me to another room to see if I liked it. This room did have a glass door bathroom, but the room and the bathroom were both in shambles. Hence we continued with the previous rooms given to us.
Location is good for people who come by bus and want to stay in the heart of city. But not for us. The place is such that you can't come out and walk without struggling with traffic.Since its middle of the city, the view is pretty sad.

As far as the restaurant is concerned, they served Gujarati Thali for dinner. Thali was good. I cant say the same abt cleanliness. Saw one staff sneezing right into cutlery he was keeping on the breakfast table next morning :-(

I wul say that u shuld avoid this hotel and this location i u have not compelling reason to be in middle of the city.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nagpur, India
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We were greeted warmly at the reception desk upon our arrival. The staff at the hotel were extremely helpful and we were able to settle down after dinner from our long ride to Lonavla. Chandralok is located in a central spot and there are several shops and restaurants at a short walkable distance. Our family came early on before the weekend, and we were served an excellent breakfast of wonderful varieties. The receptionist was wonderful and arranged a tour taxi cab for us that was surprisingly cheap considering it was for the whole day–definitely recommend it if you are new to the place as you will be able to see all the tourist spots without the hassle of trying to find it yourself. Overall our stay was very pleasant and our family had an enjoyable time together. The owners were so polite and humble and their service and passion is evident in all the staff at Chadralok. Defintely the best place to stay and enjoy a getaway at Lonavla.

Room Tip: If you are a family ask for the deluxe rooms, they are nice and spacious and can accommodate extra m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Chandralok Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chandralok Hotel

Address: Near Lonavala Bustand, Lonavala 410401, India
Location: India > Maharashtra > Lonavala
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 54 Hotels in Lonavala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Chandralok Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chandralok Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.