We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good One” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lonavala - Mayur

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Lonavala - Mayur to your Saves list
Lonavala - Mayur
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Opposite Raheja Hill Resort | Tungarali, Lonavala 410401, India (Formerly Lonavala - Mayur, A Sterling Holidays Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 54 Hotels in Lonavala
Mumbai
1 review
“Good One”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Sterling Holidays Mayur, Lonavala is a good hotel to stay with. It was elegant, calm and peaceful experience. Look forward to stay with them again in future. The only drawback is the access to the hotel from the highway. There is no direct way so we have to take a big round to get to the place using the road which is not so good and causes a bit of inconvenience. Also we did not get the welcome drinks as promised.....

However, in all it a nice stay with the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    18
    18
    12
    15
See reviews for
40
16
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vashi , Navi Mumbai
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

A perfect place to stay , Homely experience , Staff's are very good , Room Service was very good , Rooms are well maintained and managed , Food were excellent , Response time very good ,

The trip arrangement made by hotel was excellent , Guide provided are very good ,

In Buffet one can find variety of foods and good value for money

Room Tip: Rooms having balconey are very good ,
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

The hotel is around 3 km from the railway station but there is big pipeline work going on right outside the main entrance of the hotel. To get to the hotel we have to travel another 3 kms right around in narrow, damaged by-lanes. Nothing exciting inside the hotel except that staff is courteous and food is good. Costly on the whole but I struck a good deal and got 25% off. Swimming pool is available but mostly left vacant because of cold water, cannot imagine it is ice cold water.

Room Tip: check for bathtub in the washroom. they usually give rooms sans bathtub unless you specify it
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

When we planned heading to Lonavala for a weekend break in late Oct, decided to try out the Sterling propoerty there.

Whilst not very large in terms of area (most hotels in Lonavala being compact properties), Mayur Sterling had a nice cosy feel and the extended family of ours enjoyed the 2 night mini vacation.

The property may be a bit difficult to spot while driving down from Mumbai unless you are aware of the green masjid landmark. But the friendly locals are available for help with directions

The rooms overlooking the Tungarali hill had a nice view and the kids loved watching the trains pass by the hillside while having the morning tea in the balcony. Breakfast spread was good and the meals decent though priced on the higher side.

We stepped out after a heavy breakfast to see the local attractions including the Lonavala lake, Bushi dam as well as the majestically built Mahalaxmi temple. The local market is slightly away from the hotel but makes for a good walk in the evenings when we stepped out for the mandatory Lonavala chikki shopping

Best part of our hotel stay was the games organised by the hotel during the evenings which evinced good participation from the hotel guests

All in all a pleasant trip for our family and would recommend staying for short visits.

Room Tip: Go in for the Tungarali Hill facing rooms, which have a nice view of the hills
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmedabad
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

The Mayur Sterling was bad. The paint job in all the rooms was pathetic; it was peeling in huge chunks. The management cited heavy rainfall as the reason. I casually asked whether The Fariyas too has such problems or not. The manager shamelessly said the Fariyas was a five star hotel. The pool was mouldy and not cleaned for God knows how many days. The fridge had no ice trays and the bottles given to us were used mineral water bottles!!!!!!!!!!!!! Had to really get into a heated argument with the management for a change of rooms and then, only on threating them with publishing the pictures of the peeling paint job on the net that they offered me another room with a view of... can you believe it? A garbage dumping site and a shanty complex. After spending three days at the 'resort' I cut short the visit and returned to Mumbai. This was in Decemberr 2011.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SterlingHolidays, Owner at Lonavala - Mayur, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

Greetings from Sterling Holidays!

We are concerned that you were dissatisfied with our rooms and services. We regret the inconveniences caused during your stay with us.

We always value feedback from customers as it helps to better our service.

Sincerely,
The Sterling Holidays Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Lonavla has little to offer at the best of times unless one intends to head out on treks. Sterling Resorts has the worst of all that can go wrong in Lonavla - a) the location, while just off the highway, has absolutely no greenery for miles around; b) the rooms very ordinary; c) service levels were indifferent - for instance, the hotel had advertised amazing walks and treks - but had nothing to offer in reality. When you look for a weekend getaway from Mumbai, you look for greenery, peace, comfort - I did not get any of this.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SterlingHolidays, Owner at Lonavala - Mayur, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

Greetings from Sterling Holidays! We are concerned about your experience.

We thank you for taking the time to let us know your views and please be assured that we are making the changes that will showcase our property in a way that earns your appreciation.

Sincerely,
The Sterling Holidays Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clara, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Nice place to stay in lonavla tough little far from Lonavala town.
One side rooms have a nice view of hill and another side rooms have a view to exciting mumbai-pune express highway... Staff, Travel, Food services are good.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lonavala - Mayur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lonavala - Mayur

Address: Opposite Raheja Hill Resort | Tungarali, Lonavala 410401, India (Formerly Lonavala - Mayur, A Sterling Holidays Resort)
Location: India > Maharashtra > Lonavala
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 54 Hotels in Lonavala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lonavala - Mayur 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched on a lush green valley, 3 kilometres from Lonavala city with views of Barometer and Tungarli hills on one side and the Mumbai-Pune Highway on the other, Mayur resort at Lonavala reflects the characteristic charisma of the hill station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, EasyToBook and Odigeo so you can book your Lonavala - Mayur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lonavala - Mayur, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.