We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heavenly Abode in God's own land.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kondai Lip Backwater Heritage Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Kondai Lip Backwater Heritage Resort to your Saves list
Kondai Lip Backwater Heritage Resort
Karumanchery Holiday Resorts Pvt Ltd | Ezhupunna South PO, Alappuzha 688550, India   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 59 Hotels in Alappuzha
Washington DC
1 review
“Heavenly Abode in God's own land.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2010

I travelled to Cochin, Allepey, Thekkady, Munnar, Trivandrum, Kumarakom etc on my 10 day Kerala trip and if I am asked to pick my fav resort that I have been in those 10 days, I would pick Kondai Lip with no second thought. Boy!! Was it beautiful! It was almost surreal, absolutely gorgeous, surrounded by lush beautiful green trees and backwaters far away from the town hustle. The staff is so helpful and clearly goes out of their way to make sure your stay is comfortable and just what you want. The property looks historical and makes you feel so close to your elements. Loved how Vaishakh goes above and beyond to make sure you get the bang from your buck!

I would highly recommend it for everyone, be it honeymoon couples or families, everyone ought to visit heaven! Kudos for keeping this place as it is.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    53
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
55
90
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2010

I went along with my wife for her birthday in April 2010. We went on a 4 day, 3 night stay to Alleppey. We booked our package after doing a lot of internet research. We finally zeroed on Kondailip mainly because of the flexible nature of the people viz. Vaisakh George.

He agree to tailor the visit as per our needs. We told him our requirements as we wanted to complete the houseboat visit on day 1. Most other hotels were not able to offer this. This customization helped us to choose Kondailip over the others.

We reached there on Day 1 and all our needs were taken care of end to end, including pick up from Alleppey bus stand. We had a good time on the houseboat which was booked through Kondai Lip.

The location of the hotel was very good as access is is by crossing through a small boat. The staff were extremely proactive and customer friendly. Though there was shortage of staff due to the Easter period, Vaisakh ensured we had room service. They arranged for a carrom board in front of our cottage so that we could play any time.
The ambience is very good as as soon we open the doors, we can see the beautiful lake which as boating facilities which we can use anytime.

All in all, an extremely beautiful place with very customer centric staff. Worth repeating a visit anytime.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2010

That's Kondai Lip for you. Their hospitality is something to watch out for. Both the brothers, Vaisakh and Kevin, who run the show take care of your every need. They helped me organise a surprise birthday celebration for my friend. There is a small boat ride that takes you the resort on arrival. The boatman is great fun and interests you with the activities in the idyllic resort. The rooms are neat and spacious. The food is awesome! The prawn curry is a great favorite.

You have a complimentary boat ride in the evening through the beautiful backwaters Kerala is famous for. You can see the much talked about fishing nets cast in the water to catch tons of fish! Catch the sunset on your way back.

You also have complimentary candlelight dinner set out on the lawn. All in all, you can laze around, do nothing, and enjoy life one step at a time.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2010

An experience my family & I will cherish forever!
If you are looking for serenity, beauty & rejuvenation of the mind, body & spirit, this is the place to come to.
The property is well maintained, the cottages are warm & welcoming & the staff is friendly & courteous. You can enjoy a quiet evening with a book by the lake, enjoy heavenly ayurvedic massages, take walks down the pathway, capture the exotic birds on camera & there's nothing like a quick round in the paddle boat to build up an appetite. And trust me you will surely want to be very hungry for the delicious meal that awaits you. The food is divine & by far the best & most authentic we had in all of Kerela.
This is one of the places which surprises you with its hospitality & charm, I will revisit this beautiful place as many times as I can.

  • Liked — Hospitality
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2009

Kondai Lip is in synonymous with silence, serenity and seclusion. Ten neat cottages tucked away in nature's lap, close to placid waters in about twelve acres of land fringed with coconut trees. In Kondai Lip, you're away from air or sound pollution.

If you are the laid back kind, whose idea of a holiday is just doing nothing and if you don't expect too much from a place then this is the place for you. For entertainment there are canoes which you can paddle or row down the water or you can try your luck at fishing.

Carry enough cash with you as they don't accept credit/debit cards. The food is average but the stay is comfortable and the staff eager to help. The place is best reached via Thoppumpady-Chellanam from Ernakulam Vyttila.

  • Liked — The quiet of the place
  • Disliked — nothing
Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2009

Great experience. Person who would like to relax and enjoy in the peaceful location should visit this place atleast once. Location is very far from the cochin airport and railway stn. This place is very beautiful. Renji the owner of this resort has maintained this property very beautifully. Resort is surrounded by water on all side. To enter the entrance of the property one has to take canoe ride. The rooms are very big and very clean. The surrounding is with beautifully covered with plants and trees. One can view the fishing done and also prawns farming. They have auyvedic therapy spa treatments in the resort. Very relax and comfortable stay. Staff is very courteous and very helpful. The whole atmosphere is relaxed. Food is excellent. The dining hall is very beautiful having ancient look.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Köln
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2009

Kondai Lip was definitely the most wonderful experience we had on our Kerala trip, and honestly one of the best I ever had on my trips through Asia!
In few words: The service that was even better than in some 5*-hotels I stayed in the past, and the location was of an undescribable beauty.

Just don’t know to begin: The location on a backwater island was far from any other resort and only surrounded by prawn farms and coconut grooves, very beautiful, relaxing and peaceful. The wooden bungalows were very comfortable and clean, with cosy rooms and perfect mattresses, from the terrace you had a beautiful view on the backwaters. The backwater villages around where still untouched by tourism (not comparable to Alleppey!), no children begging for pens, extremely nice people, some of them seemed to not having seen any Western people before in their live.

We had many different experiences with food in Kerala - very good and bad, but this was definitely the best: Very fresh and full of local specialities we did not find in other places (we even returned to Kondai Lip on our way to the airport just to enjoy the yummy Prawn Curry another time!) We had an Ayurvedic rejuvenation package for nearly one week: extremely plesasant in very relaxing surrounding - we couldn’t wait for the next massage (Ayurvedic nurse Mini’s hands even spirit off my mum’s migraine, she made a really good job - we still miss your massages and heart-rending smile, Mini!)

But that what remained most in our mind was the staff. From the first day we felt like adopted to a Keralan family, the service was very intimate and Manager Renji Paul anticipated every wish, organized any tour, took care of us all the time as if we where the only guests :). But at the same time the service was discreet and you had your privacy whenever you wanted. There where many honeymooners from Northern India coming to the resort as it was perfectly made for couples, but I would even go there as a single traveller it was so beautiful! And the price was really low compared to the very high standard.

I do not agree with the reference of “SMGLondon“ that there is not a lot to do. There was much to visit nearby: The beautiful old church (seemed from the Portuguese era) and village of Ezhupunna, the backwater villages around, the people fishing nearby, the beach just a short boat ride away, toddy tappers, and Cochin is only, I think, 18 kilometers (45 minutes) away, perfect for a day trip. We stayed six days in the Kondai Lip Resort and would have wished to stay more time as we could not see all. But we are sure that we will return soon!

  • Stayed January 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kondai Lip Backwater Heritage Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kondai Lip Backwater Heritage Resort

Address: Karumanchery Holiday Resorts Pvt Ltd | Ezhupunna South PO, Alappuzha 688550, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Kerala > Alappuzha
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Alappuzha
#1 Spa Hotel in Alappuzha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
KONDAILIP is a heritage Resort, in the Gods own country - Kerala and is a cute place for hide out from the busy life and for enjoying fantastic holidays. It is close by the Arabian sea and recently declared tourists spot - Andakaranazhy Beach which is 7 km from the resort is on the shore of Arabian Sea with facilities like walkway for watching sun-set and restaurant. Kondai Lip is 55 km from Cochin International Airport and Fort Kochi is just 18 km from the resort.One can enjoy the cool and unpolluted fresh air, calm and serenity in the island like resort- kondai lip ? with heritage traditional houses with all modern living amenities, multi cuisine restaurants with Kerala delicacies, inbuilt means for boating, fishing, fish hunting, etc inside the Resort enclave and , sightseeing and watching traditional craftsmanship of the local people. The resort is also having its own Ayur health care Centre with Olive Leaf accreditation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Kondai Lip Backwater Heritage Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kondai Lip Backwater Heritage Resort Kerala/Alappuzha, India

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kondai Lip Backwater Heritage Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.