We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome location and nice hospitality” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kondai Lip Backwater Heritage Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Kondai Lip Backwater Heritage Resort to your Saves list
Kondai Lip Backwater Heritage Resort
Karumanchery Holiday Resorts Pvt Ltd | Ezhupunna South PO, Alappuzha 688550, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 56 Hotels in Alappuzha
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Bangalore
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Awesome location and nice hospitality”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

Visited kondailip with family. The place is awesome and hospitality is good. Tucked in backwaters and it would be great to visit in December when weather is bit cool. The rooms make and feel are traditional kerala style. It reminded me of my child hood days staying in such place. Thoroughly enjoyed the stay. Late evening boat ride through the backwater canal to beach is awesome. The resort also has pedal boats and can cherish this experience in backwaters near resort early morning or late evening. Food is good and try out their traditional kerala dishes. Really awesome. Breakfast can be better.
One feedback though to resort management is that make shift arrangement for massage while their regular people were off duty on the day I visited was not up to the mark of expectation for ayurvedic massage in Kerala. It would be great if you can make alternate arrangements with professionals instead getting inexperienced or untrained people. Otherwise, it was a pleasant stay and memorable experience. Please keep up the good work and looking forward to visit again during non-summer season :-)

Room Tip: All the rooms are good. Ask for ones directly opposite to backwater entrance in to the resort locati...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    64
    7
    3
    1
See reviews for
71
113
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ledbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

When we first saw the resort and room we were rather disappointed as it is rather basic. However we had booked a full two,weeks with an Indian tour company for a combined price so did not know how inexpensive this place was. We had previously been to the 5 star Kumarakom Lake Resort so it would be unfair to compare them. Room, Food and Resort were all simple by European standards but the staff were wonderful. I would give it 5 stars for value for money.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vaisakh, Guest Relations Manager at Kondai Lip Backwater Heritage Resort, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property.
We truly value the opinions of our customers and we apologize that we did not meet your expectations during your stay at Kondai Lip Resort.
As you have mentioned, Kondai Lip is really inexpensive (our rates will be four times lower) when comparing to Kumarakom Lake resort and will certainly reflects in the facilities offered.Kondai Lip is not built with luxury and our cottages are heritage homes (more than 100 years old) translocated from various places in Kerala and always prefer to be more close to the nature.Providing our guests with the best possible hospitality and service has always been our prime mission and your comments on our service really made our heart filled with joy and also motivate us to serve better.

If your travel plans bring you back at Kerala Backwaters, I would love to have an opportunity serve you again. We hope to see you again in the future and wish you the very best.

Best Regards,

VAISAKH GEORGE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indore, India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

This resort was best amongst all. It is surrounded by a small lake and is perfect place to be in Kerala. You have ample of activities to do such as fishing, boating, badminton and some indoor games in resort itself. Staff was very courteous. Food was excellent though it took a lot of time to come after placing the order but overall what matters is the taste. They take you to a visit to nearby local beach via motor boat. Marari Beach is also a must visit place in alleppey before you check in to resort. Cottages were good. Overall Fantastic experience. Wifi Service only available in restaurant area.

Room Tip: We checked in to Room no. 8 which was just in front of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
larkhall
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

This is a nice little out of the way place to stay a couple of nights,staff are very pleasant and can't do enough for you.If you are interested in birds you'll love this place,we went out on the early morning walk with the very knowledgeable staff member who pointed out the various birds.A must do is to go out on the pedalos,just do a very slow paddle and you will see many beautiful birds and fish jumping around the boat,it's so peaceful.The meals are adequate enough but couldn't say they were special and hot water is very hit and miss.A tip you should know is that if you go on the afternoon cruise to the beach make sure you have money because you are at the beach for about 2 and a half hours and the only thing there out of the sun is a cafe further up the beach.Accomadation is nice enough and wi fi can be had at dining area but is very poor but all in all a nice place.

Room Tip: All rooms are same
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

This was our final destination in a week long honeymoon trip, and it turned out to be the best place of all. We stayed here a couple of nights. The resort truly showcases the beauty of Allepey backwaters. You can sit, walk, fish around the lakes surrounding the rooms or do paddle boating in them. The boat ride to the nearest sea beach was nice. The food served is good.
I would recommend it as must visit place for any couple.

Room Tip: I would say all the rooms are equally good
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

we booked on line a night here and travelled to the lodging (quite a long way north of Alleppey by the way). When we go there we found out they had double booked and they put us instead in the Emerald Pride Resort - a nightmare (will write separately). However when we rang up they sent a taxi over to pick us up, took u on a complementary boat ride ( great 2 hours looking at the nets), provided my 11 year old with fishing gear and taught her how to try catch small fish. We ate in their restaurant which was good but not exceptional food and then they drove us back to our horror resort for the night. Beware lots of mosses.
The place is beautiful, people are kind and the rooms looked great.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014 via mobile

Never thought we would enter the hotel through boat. The layout and ambience is just amazing. It is a great place for a quite and relaxing get away. The resort has amazing wood work, which adds to the uniqueness of this place. There are a handful of activities (paddle boating, fishing, massage) you could do to stay occupied in the day. Lot of open space to walk around as well. Food served here is typical Keralite style, so not everyone will enjoy it. Spice level in food is quite high, so be careful while placing food order.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kondai Lip Backwater Heritage Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kondai Lip Backwater Heritage Resort

Address: Karumanchery Holiday Resorts Pvt Ltd | Ezhupunna South PO, Alappuzha 688550, India
Location: India > Kerala > Alappuzha
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Alappuzha
#1 Spa Hotel in Alappuzha
#5 Best Value Hotel in Alappuzha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
KONDAILIP is a heritage Resort, in the Gods own country - Kerala and is a cute place for hide out from the busy life and for enjoying fantastic holidays. It is close by the Arabian sea and recently declared tourists spot - Andakaranazhy Beach which is 7 km from the resort is on the shore of Arabian Sea with facilities like walkway for watching sun-set and restaurant. Kondai Lip is 55 km from Cochin International Airport and Fort Kochi is just 18 km from the resort.One can enjoy the cool and unpolluted fresh air, calm and serenity in the island like resort- kondai lip ? with heritage traditional houses with all modern living amenities, multi cuisine restaurants with Kerala delicacies, inbuilt means for boating, fishing, fish hunting, etc inside the Resort enclave and , sightseeing and watching traditional craftsmanship of the local people. The resort is also having its own Ayur health care Centre with Olive Leaf accreditation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Kondai Lip Backwater Heritage Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kondai Lip Backwater Heritage Resort Kerala/Alappuzha, India

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kondai Lip Backwater Heritage Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.