We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I am a frequent visitor” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pozhiyoram Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Pozhiyoram Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pozhiyoram Beach Resort
JRY Road, Thumpoly | Alleppey,Kerala,India, Alappuzha 688008, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #49 of 59 hotels in Alappuzha
Thrissur, India
1 review
“I am a frequent visitor”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

I am not a tourist, but a regular customer who found it better to be away from the maddening crowds and pollution. What i like most is the beach and sound of waves which is quite relaxing. The beach is not what it supposed to be but for a consultant doctor like me who don't have enough time to spend, its quite OK/

What disappointing was that in spite of being closer to the wifi port I didnt get it in my mobile or lap top and had to come out of the room at times to catch it.

Room Tip: Hammocks are nice in the evening but you should better have some mosquito repellent cream if you wan...
See more room tips
Stayed November 2013, traveled with family

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    17
    11
    10
    6
    6
See reviews for
24
17
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore, India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

we spend 2 nights and the private beach was amazing, great food too. overall it was a new experience and we thought the pricing was quite competitive as against the general perception that its very costly.

Room Tip: first floor ones were great
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

The place is quite good. We visited it while returning from Kanyakumari. Very relaxed place and cut off from the outside world. By meaning Resort, if you are expecting something big & luxurious, then this is not for you.
It has limited rooms but the view from the rooms is very good. Just a minute walk from the Arabian Sea Shore. It is better to check in the daylight rather then the night.
Service is also good, though they lack staffs, only 1 or 2 person except the Manager.
Best to go as a couple and relax.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

The Pozhiyoram is absolutely not a resort, it is a rather shabby collection of buildings with tatty, dirty rooms and absolutely nothing that remotely resembles a hotel. We arrived, about 9pm, asked for drinks - nothing available. All we got was a bottle of water, no glasses! Food was eventually served; fried fish done to crisp and served cold. Plastic table and chairs. Stray cats.

Dirty, shabby beds, dirty curtains, dirty fans, dirty bathroom, dirty mirrors - dirt just about sums this place up. Water overflowing from the tank kept us awake. No hot water. No menu. Pigeons in the roof. No kettle. Broken towel rail. Noisy staff chatting away downstairs till 11pm. No restaurant. No bar. Floppy toast. Tea with hot milk.

No TV in the room, but a dusty TV shelf positioned in just the right place to bang your head.

Oh, and it's not on the beach. It is on sand... but there are a couple of old shacks and dwellings between the 'hotel' and the sea. And it's not a beach, even there, it's a sea wall. With a tide line of plastic rubbish.

There is an adjacent beach. How lovely to see fishermen sorting their nets in the morning. And having a cr@p in the sea.

Oh, and did I mention the beds? Look at the photos. Absolutely criminally unbelievable.

It wouldn't take much - a bit of investment and good management - and this could be an OK place. Sadly though, it is seriously neglected, poorly staffed and managed like a doss house. Minus the soup kitchen.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludhiana, India
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

After three hectic days in Kochi we intended to rest for 2 days at Alleppey so booked this out of city resort. Though we were very apprehensive about it as last few reviews were not good. But Thank God all our apprehensions were proved wrong and our stay was great made so by the excellent service by Mr George the manager and his helpers.
The place may not be immaculate and definitely requires a little maintenance but this may be due to lack of staff. The sweet sound of waves, the view of the beach and cool breeze under the shade of palms make it a perfect relaxing place, They have a small beach just outside the resort, the main Thumbolly beach is just 5 minutes walk from the resort.
The food is quite pricey but as our reservation included all meals, we didn't face any problem and the staff as already said is always at your service
Thanks Pozhiyorum for making our holiday memorable.
.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

This place was a big disappointment. The rooms are quite dated and definitely need so updating.

The curtains in our room were moldy and I'm not even sure if they washed the sheets since they felt a bit on the oily side.

We planned to stay 2 nights but switched it to 1 night and stayed somewhere else.

The price is affordable though, the staff were ok, and yes, its quite remote, but there are nicer places to stay in the city.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angamaly, India
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

I stayed in Pozhiyoram Beach Resort, Alleppey last week during Onam holidays. While booking they had informed that they have facility to cook and will provide any food we want.Though I had booked the resort over phone and by paying 50% advance no arrangement for our food was made in the resort. Even while travelling towards the resort I had called the resort people about our night food and they said food will be prepared in the resort. On reaching there we could found that they are arranging the food from some outside hotel. The AC cottage they provide is a single room with a bath even without a television, Even in the suite room there is no television. The location is very good and it is close to the beach. Service is very poor.

Room Tip: Suite room is a bit spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pozhiyoram Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pozhiyoram Beach Resort

Address: JRY Road, Thumpoly | Alleppey,Kerala,India, Alappuzha 688008, India
Location: India > Kerala > Alappuzha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Alappuzha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pozhiyoram Beach Resort,Alleppey,Kerala,India - dotted with coconut palm, facing Arabian Sea and Theeyaseril Pozhi (lake) and 4kms from Alleppey town. Blessed by nature on one side and and all backwaters, boarded by coconut palms, a natural habitat of many rare birds. On the other side, an exclusive sunny beach with crystal clear sand. The resort is build on a concept as a fisher man's village were guests has the opportunity to see local fisher man working in traditional Kerala ways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MakeMyTrip, HostelBookers and Otel so you can book your Pozhiyoram Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pozhiyoram Beach Hotel Alappuzha
Pozhiyoram Beach Resort Kerala/Alappuzha, India

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pozhiyoram Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.