We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eat but dont stay” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Royale Park Hotel

Royale Park Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Royale Park Hotel to your Saves list
Royale Park Hotel
YMCA Road, Alappuzha 688007, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 59 Hotels in Alappuzha
Calicut
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Eat but dont stay”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

The restaurant is excellent. You will not regret dining there on the Backwaters delicacies. But think twice before staying in this hotel. The pictures are deceptive. The rooms are small; the linen could be better; bathrooms are not clean.
The front desk people are a muddled up lot. My online reservation specifically promised complimentary breakfast. They said it wasn't there in the package. In fact there is no buffet breakfast at all.
The experience took away all the lustre from the really fine food.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    12
    5
    3
    5
See reviews for
9
6
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chennai (Madras), India
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We had booked a buffet lunch here on 3rd March, 2013 (travellers from Chennai). I must say, I was pretty impressed with the service provided to us and the food. The General Manager at the hotel Mr. KP Anandaraj was very service oriented - be it discussing the menu, checking on our arrival and the service provided by his staff. The hall was very comfortable - quite a big one - the air conditioners at the right temperature. The best food we had during the two day stint at Alleppey.

Next opportunity to stay at Alleppey, I shall sure opt for this place.

I could see a lot of footfalls at their restaurant which only re-iterates the fact, the food there is good.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

This was nothing great. Ok kind of stay. We stayed for two nights on our combined journey to various places in kerala. Not much to be said about rooms and bathrooms. We booked for double bed room and again had to find two separate beds. Service is intermittently efficient. Room service is ok. This place is suitable if you are a business traveller or a single traveller. Not so suitable for families. All the electricals were not working properly again.

Room Tip: Check exact offerings before booking or taking up any room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We had the amazing fish thali. Every bite was a world of tastes. Don't let the uninspiring decor put you off. Even the lassi tasted particularly fresh. It was the highlight of a dissapointing visit to smelly Alappuzha, on the way to Munnar.

Stayed January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baghdad, Iraq
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

We stayed here as part of a package tour for one night, so it is hard for us to comment on whether it was value for money.

The bedrooms are clean and comfortable, the breakfast is nice, and there is a bar in the hotel that serves Kingfisher beer (not always easy to find in some parts of Kerala), but travellers should be aware that the bathroom is a wet room (i.e. there is no separation between the toilet and the shower).

PRO:
- Nice breakfast where you can have all manner of south Indian dishes made to order
- An ok bar area where we played card games to pass the evening

CON:
- Wet bathroom (not a terrible thing, just something you need to prepare yourself for)

All in all, a decent hotel, but I can't say whether it's great value for money or not as it was part of an overall package.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We were there for a day in applepy and we booked this hotel thru our travel agent.We had to check out at 2am since due to some political bandh in periyar where we were supposed to reach the next day. The hotel representative were not able to trace the payment which was made in advance a month back behaved very badly with us as if we are trying to cheat them.The security guard was drunken. They have no responsibility towards the tourist and they dont know how to handle.Finally we left paying the food bills and later in the day they could trace the payment. Absolutely no no for a family stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Changanacherry, India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Royale Park Hotel is a great place to have lunch or dinner an if you prefer to stay in the heart of Alleppy it is a nice place to stay .the hotel is good value for money the restaurant is good. the room service is also OK. i usually eat fish curry meals when i go there in the afternoon the plate is very clean an hot when the serve meals. it is very difficult to find such places in alleppy

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royale Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royale Park Hotel

Address: YMCA Road, Alappuzha 688007, India
Location: India > Kerala > Alappuzha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 59 Hotels in Alappuzha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Otel so you can book your Royale Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royale Park Hotel Kerala/Alappuzha, India

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royale Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.