We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“average resort at excellent location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Suvasam Lake Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Alappuzha
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Suvasam Lake Resort
Save
You added Suvasam Lake Resort to your Saves list
Kumarakom | Thanneermukkom, Cherthala, Alappuzha, India (Formerly Thanneermukkom Ayurvedic Lake Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 56 Hotels in Alappuzha
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“average resort at excellent location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

It took me a long time to write review of this resort. We had travelled to kerala in 2011 and stayed there for two nights. The resort has everything what you expect from a good resort. perfect location , lake facing rooms, lush green lawns. But the good story ends here only. This resort is perfect example of government apathy killing a good property. Toilets had leaking taps, room cleanliness was not up to mark but acceptable for being a government run property. very limited breakfast with virtually no options, no in house activities. no ayurvedic services in a ayurvedic resort. For some strange reason, almost whole of resort was unoccupied during our stay. this may sound good to some but by second night we started feeling uncomfortable as the resort was not secured from outside and anyone could just walk into the resort during night.
Overall it a a good resort for the price they are charging but it is sad that that a resort which can be of four star category has been reduced to two star category

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    6
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
5
1
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Durgapur
Level Contributor
47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

This KTDC Resort is located just beside the Famous Vembanad Backwater Lake at Kumarakom. It was 2 hours drive from Kochi Airport and we were amazed to see the place. It has lush green campus and one can enjoy beautiful view of the lake from the room. This resort can not be found on KTDC website for some unknown reason, though we found it on ezeego1 website. The room amenities was similar as you may expect at any 2/3 star hotel and the service was satisfactory. The breakfast was complimentary and included varieties of south Indian and other dishes. The resort has in-house restaurant and food quality was ok. Though, you have to order from their menu card 2 hours before the lunch/dinner time. The receptionists are not so professional, though they can help you if you need to rent car for sightseeing or book houseboat cruise. Overall it was a nice experience and I would love to go again!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View, CA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2011

I was a little disappointed that this resort had no ayurvedic massage / spa treatments on property. But if you are looking for total quiet and relaxation, this place is a fine spot. We were *the only* guests for the majority of the time - we couldn't tell if that was cool or creepy.

Good points:
1. Beautiful stretch of lakefront property, our room had a gorgeous lake view, and the grounds of the hotel were simple but well maintained and grassy, very pleasant to walk around / sit and enjoy the view. Very quiet and relaxing.
2. On site restaurant had some tasty dishes and good service, fresh tasty fish and vegetarian cuisine.
3. If you want ayurvedic treatment, they will recommend a local practitioner, and arrange a cab to take you over and back. Cab fare and spa treatments were expensive, but very nice.
4. Because the resort is far away from everything, the rates are much more reasonable than the super posh places in Kumarakom. However, it's pretty easy to go enjoy those posh places if you like during the day without paying to stay at night!

Bad points:
1. Rooms were simple, almost bare, and beds were not particularly comfy. Lots of mosquitos and noises of an animal in the night (mice in the walls? animal outside?) kept us awake.
2. To get to Kumarakom (with the other resorts) or Chertala (with restaurants / shops) you have to take either a bus or cab, this resort is in the middle of nowhere.
3. Front desk staff was friendly, but somewhat clueless / tardy / with limited English.
4. Internet service was available only on their one computer, and you had to pay per minute / hour.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2010

Stayed here for a day. Perfect place for an extremely quiet holiday, with nothing to do but laze around. Fantastic location next to the lake. Sunrise over the lake in the morning was superb. Swings and hammocks available in the garden. Extremely quiet and peaceful. However not much as far as dining options go. Have to choose from the limited menu in the Restaurant. no other worthwhile eating joints nearby. Staff was helpful.Changed room as AC was not functioning in the first room alloted.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2010

This was our 2nd visit to Kerala. Last time we had been to Alleppey. We planned for Kumarakom this time and came across this resort in KTDC site. Didnt do much of research though and booked this hotel. The hotel was around 14 kms from Kumarakom. You need to reach Kottayam and then opt for buses plying to Cherthala (you need to get down in Thanneermukkom; the hotel is just next to the bus stand) or hire a cab. The resort is located just next to the lake. This resort is pretty calm and very much clean. We were given lake facing rooms with AC. The room was spacious. The hospitality was awesome; especially a guy name Madhu who even accompanied us to get fishing rods and hooks :). The room service is good too. Infact i can't think of any negative points about this resort. I would definitely recommend this resort for those who likes less travelling and seeking to relax by the lake side. The food served by the resort was palatable. Although, there was very few dishes to chose from the menu, but whatever we had was really good. There are no resturants/hotels nearby, so this is the only place where you can have your food. If you want to change your taste then you can travel to Cherthala (just 6 kms from this resort) where there are pretty decent resturants. We really had a good time here sitting by the lake and viewing various birds, fishermen throwing the nets, river turtle. Thanks to the resort for making it special !!!!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alappuzha hotels
0.0 mi away
Deshadan Backwater Resort
Deshadan Backwater Resort
#8 of 56 in Alappuzha
4.5 of 5 stars 169 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pagoda Resorts Alleppey
Pagoda Resorts Alleppey
#34 of 56 in Alappuzha
3.0 of 5 stars 224 reviews
0.0 mi away
Nova Holidays Homestay
Nova Holidays Homestay
#2 of 56 in Alappuzha
4.5 of 5 stars 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Kondai Lip Backwater Heritage Resort
0.0 mi away
Alleppey Prince Hotel
Alleppey Prince Hotel
#35 of 56 in Alappuzha
3.0 of 5 stars 62 reviews
0.0 mi away
Casamaria Beach Resort
Casamaria Beach Resort
#15 of 56 in Alappuzha
4.0 of 5 stars 117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suvasam Lake Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suvasam Lake Resort

Address: Kumarakom | Thanneermukkom, Cherthala, Alappuzha, India (Formerly Thanneermukkom Ayurvedic Lake Resort)
Location: India > Kerala > Alappuzha
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Alappuzha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
KTDC, "Suvasam" Thanneermukkom is located at Thanneermukkom, Near Kumarakom. Suvasam means a pleasant stay in Sanskrit. Thanneermukkom is the name of the barrier constructed here to prevent tidal action and intrusion of salt water into the Kuttanad lowlands across Vembanad Lake, between Thanneermukkom and Vechur. The water in this part of the lake is the cleanest. KTDC Suvasam is easily accessible from Kochi and Alappuzha (1 hour) and is located very close to Kumarakom. KTDC Suvasam overlooking the Vembanad Lake has 37 rooms, each with a garden in front and a view of the lake. A perfect getaway from the stress and hustle of urban life and window to take glimpse of the calm rural life, KTDC Suvasam brings with freshness and greenery ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Suvasam Lake Resort Kerala/Alappuzha, India

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Suvasam Lake Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.