We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An attractive and tranquil place to stay on the Backwaters” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Palmgrove Lake Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Palmgrove Lake Resort to your Saves list
Palmgrove Lake Resort
N T Ward | Punnamada, Alappuzha 688006, India   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 57 Hotels in Alappuzha
UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“An attractive and tranquil place to stay on the Backwaters”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

We had a very enjoyable stay here.
Our room was comfortable, with attractive furniture. We had a non-air conditioned room which did get a little bit too warm at night. We had a large outdoor bathroom area and a nice terrace with comfortable seats and views of the backwaters.

The outdoor areas were pretty and very quiet and we were not disturbed by the nearby boatyard that other readers have commented on.

The lunchtime food we had there was very tasty and good value. The breakfast was average.

The owner/manager was friendly and helpful with arranging an early morning rickshaw for getting us to the train station.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    48
    21
    5
    5
See reviews for
31
57
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
40 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

I found about this property from Tripadvisor. I had initially booked a houseboat, as many do for Alleppy, but then decided against it after I read many reviews which basically meant you cannot be certain about the quality of the boat by looking at the pics, and also that these can’t go through small canals, and had to stop moving after 5.30 pm. Hence, we decided to stay in a resort, and this was the best decision. The property is located right on the backwaters, and the shikara (small boat) for our trip stopped next to our room! It has about 5-6 rooms, which are pretty big, and surprisingly not expensive (INR 3k for an AC room, with rooms comparable to a 4 star property). The food served was amazing. Ask for chili gobi and dal. The property is managed by only one man – he is the receptionist, bell boy, waiter, repairs and maintenance, etc. one more guest, so this wasn’t a problem for us, but could be at full occupancy. However, want to mention that the guy is very polite and courteous.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Like they say, sometimes ignorance is bliss. In this case, it was indeed. I dint know what to expect on my way to Palm grove but the person in me expected a hotel building full of rooms on a scenic lake front. What i got as a surprise was this beautiful cluster of cottages bang next to the lake. Good rooms at decent prices. The ambiance was beautifully done up with wooden finishing and a semi-open bath. A must visit when you visit alleppey! :D

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dortmund, Germany
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

We had an Lake-Facing-AC-Suite. The room was really spacious with a little living room with TV and an outside/inside bath. There was always hot water with good pressure. We enjoeyd the sit on the terrace and watch the scenery on the channel.
Breakfast was included in our room rate and consisted of eggs of your choice, coffee/tea, juice, toast, butter jam.
In the eveing the restaurant was nicely illuminated. We had the kerala vegetarian dinner for two nights and liked it. We think the price was ok.
The staff was a little bit reserved but always helpful. We stayed for two nights. After the first night there was now room service but we didnt mind. We just asked for new towels which were brought immediately.
There are some small shops in the area and all people were very friendly.
The only little downside is the neighbouring shipyard, which is sometimes a little bit noisy.
But, however, we would stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Set at the bank of the Punnamada lake, Palm Grove Lake Resort is a clean, simple and value for money place to stay in Alleppey. The cottages are clean and the location is beautiful. Almost a decade ago I had visited another resort, not too far from Palm Grove, for which we paid 3 times more (then) for most of the same basic features. Its located beautifully, has good service and a nice feel overall.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Situated away from the city center, this resort has the backwater as its... backyard. And you can see houseboats floating by in numbers. It looks beautiful. The room we stayed in was the Non-AC cottage.. which was great. The room was clean and tidy, though I think they only clean the room once the guests have left, so make sure you keep it clean if you're going to stay there for many days.
The food is good too, though you may fall in love with certain restaurants on Beach Road.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
62 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Stayed in this resort on october 25th 2012.Location is perfect with limited cottages and stayed in the lake side cottage.Very good property right next to punnamada lake.
Staff is limited but very cooperative and efficient.Cottages are good and overall the stay was very good

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alappuzha hotels
0.0 mi away
Deshadan Backwater Resort
Deshadan Backwater Resort
#9 of 57 in Alappuzha
4.5 of 5 stars 169 reviews
20.3 mi away
Kondai Lip Backwater Heritage Resort
0.8 mi away
Nova Holidays Homestay
Nova Holidays Homestay
#2 of 57 in Alappuzha
4.5 of 5 stars 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Citrus Retreats Alleppey
Citrus Retreats Alleppey
#5 of 57 in Alappuzha
4.5 of 5 stars 430 reviews
9.6 mi away
The World Backwaters
The World Backwaters
#17 of 57 in Alappuzha
4.0 of 5 stars 226 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bamboo Lagoon Backwater Front Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palmgrove Lake Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palmgrove Lake Resort

Address: N T Ward | Punnamada, Alappuzha 688006, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Kerala > Alappuzha
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Alappuzha
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Alappuzha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palmgrove resort is an elegant holiday resort situated in acres of natural greeneries and is on the banks of the beautiful Punnamada lake. The resort offer complete privacy and peaceful atmosphere and is free from air and sound pollution. The resort is really a wonderful paradise and an home far away from your home, of course with homely and tasty food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Palmgrove Lake Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palm Grove Lake Hotel Alappuzha
Palmgrove Lake Resort Kerala/Alappuzha, India

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palmgrove Lake Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.