We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Idyllic and well maintained, but next to a shipyard” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Palmgrove Lake Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Palmgrove Lake Resort to your Saves list
Palmgrove Lake Resort
N T Ward | Punnamada, Alappuzha 688006, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 56 Hotels in Alappuzha
Dortmund, Germany
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Idyllic and well maintained, but next to a shipyard”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

We had an Lake-Facing-AC-Suite. The room was really spacious with a little living room with TV and an outside/inside bath. There was always hot water with good pressure. We enjoeyd the sit on the terrace and watch the scenery on the channel.
Breakfast was included in our room rate and consisted of eggs of your choice, coffee/tea, juice, toast, butter jam.
In the eveing the restaurant was nicely illuminated. We had the kerala vegetarian dinner for two nights and liked it. We think the price was ok.
The staff was a little bit reserved but always helpful. We stayed for two nights. After the first night there was now room service but we didnt mind. We just asked for new towels which were brought immediately.
There are some small shops in the area and all people were very friendly.
The only little downside is the neighbouring shipyard, which is sometimes a little bit noisy.
But, however, we would stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    48
    21
    5
    5
See reviews for
31
57
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Set at the bank of the Punnamada lake, Palm Grove Lake Resort is a clean, simple and value for money place to stay in Alleppey. The cottages are clean and the location is beautiful. Almost a decade ago I had visited another resort, not too far from Palm Grove, for which we paid 3 times more (then) for most of the same basic features. Its located beautifully, has good service and a nice feel overall.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Situated away from the city center, this resort has the backwater as its... backyard. And you can see houseboats floating by in numbers. It looks beautiful. The room we stayed in was the Non-AC cottage.. which was great. The room was clean and tidy, though I think they only clean the room once the guests have left, so make sure you keep it clean if you're going to stay there for many days.
The food is good too, though you may fall in love with certain restaurants on Beach Road.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
62 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Stayed in this resort on october 25th 2012.Location is perfect with limited cottages and stayed in the lake side cottage.Very good property right next to punnamada lake.
Staff is limited but very cooperative and efficient.Cottages are good and overall the stay was very good

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Visited Palmgrove lake resort in Sept 2012. Its a pleasant resort set among trees along the main backwater canal with very spacious rooms & offering good value for money.

Pros:
Location: It is located on the main canal offering a ringside view of life on the canal making it a good base to watch the hundreds of houseboats go by, especially in the morning and the evening.
Gardens: The area is landscaped nicely with trees. The property has its own jetty where houseboats can pick you up.
Rooms: The rooms are spacious & tastefully done in traditional Kerala decor with hardwood furniture. Each room has a spacious balcony with cane chairs & a small table.
Openair Bathrooms: This was the best part of the room. Its very pleasant to have a shower under the sky.
Friendly staff and nice owners: The staff Suresh & Emmanuel were very friendly without being familiar - just the right touch. They were quite helpful with small requests. The owners are also a very nice couple making us feel very welcome.


Neutral
Service: The inhouse restaurant takes a while to get your order ready. You could get around this by ordering food before you come in. The staff did approach us to get our order & got it ready by the time we came in to eat.
TVs: The pictures in the TV was very grainy in both the rooms that we had hired. Most people dont come here to watch TV - but try telling that to a 6 year old.
Proximity to boat yard: Its right next door to a houseboat building yard which has its positives and negatives. Its quite interesting to see them being built. However, a very occasional noise does creep in. I suppose the tree cover suppresses the noise quite a bit. It wasnt really a bother.

Cons:
The only negative that I found was that the plates in the restarant need to be washed better. I could clearly get the smell of the previous meal from the plate.

Overall:
An excellent, calm place with large well appointed rooms & well located offering good value for money

Cheers
Krishna

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

pleasant view.. beautiful set up.. neat and tidy place to stay.. only problem i felt was very very limited staff.. there was one employee who attended us.. from repairing AC to cooking.. Owner arranged a very nice shikara for us.. overall a good experience

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

We booked this place prior to our stay in India. It looked like a beautiful location and it certainly was. It backed onto the backwaters and we could watch the houseboats travel by while sat outside our cottage. The grounds were equally nice and we spent hours sat outside admiring the location.

The rooms were basic but comfortable and had everything we needed. We had an air-conditioned room, but did not need the air conditioning, and just relied on the fans in the rooms. The restaurant was nice, and did breakfast and evening meals. However, because we arrived over the easter weekend, the cook was away, so the owner could only cook basic meals, and one evening he was unable to make dinner, so we had to go into the town, where there was very little choice and very little was open, due to it being the easter weekend.

We arrived over the easter weekend, which unfortunately meant a number of houseboats weren't running, or if they were, they were much more expensive than usual. We therefore decided to take a two hour boat trip with Mr K D Prasenan, who is based at the resort. He had a small boat, which was perfect for a couple. We took a trip at sunset and he was able to take us right into the backwaters, to places where the bigger houseboats are unable to go. It was a lovely trip and I would highly recommend his trips.

We would definitely recommend this resort to anyone wanting a peaceful few days by the backwaters.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alappuzha hotels
0.0 mi away
Deshadan Backwater Resort
Deshadan Backwater Resort
#9 of 56 in Alappuzha
4.5 of 5 stars 164 reviews
20.3 mi away
Kondai Lip Backwater Heritage Resort
9.6 mi away
The World Backwaters
The World Backwaters
#15 of 56 in Alappuzha
4.0 of 5 stars 221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Nova Holidays Homestay
Nova Holidays Homestay
#3 of 56 in Alappuzha
4.5 of 5 stars 84 reviews
5.1 mi away
Citrus Retreats Alleppey
Citrus Retreats Alleppey
#5 of 56 in Alappuzha
4.5 of 5 stars 422 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bamboo Lagoon Backwater Front Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palmgrove Lake Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palmgrove Lake Resort

Address: N T Ward | Punnamada, Alappuzha 688006, India
Location: India > Kerala > Alappuzha
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Alappuzha
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Alappuzha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palmgrove resort is an elegant holiday resort situated in acres of natural greeneries and is on the banks of the beautiful Punnamada lake. The resort offer complete privacy and peaceful atmosphere and is free from air and sound pollution. The resort is really a wonderful paradise and an home far away from your home, of course with homely and tasty food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Palmgrove Lake Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palm Grove Lake Hotel Alappuzha
Palmgrove Lake Resort Kerala/Alappuzha, India

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palmgrove Lake Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.