We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“feel village life on backwaters” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kait's Home

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Alappuzha
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kait's Home
Save
You added Kait's Home to your Saves list
Champakulam P.O. | Kerala, Alappuzha 688505, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 146 Alappuzha B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Mumbai
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“feel village life on backwaters”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2011

Kaits Home : It was a Nice Home Stay on Pamba River 15Kms From Allappey Town.
Property is directly connected to river amidst small champakulam village.
Old Type Rooms though Small were nice neat & Clean With use of wood at one side was giving rustic touch. Rooms where seprate from adjacent building were hosts family stays.Bathroom size was normal but hot water was bit problem due to low voltage.
Front Varandah is good place to seat & Chill looking at life passing by the river. Host Mr. Jossy is great guy who was always willing to share the knowledge. You can get feel of Life of Kuttanad village,Rice Farming by staying here. Even in Property itself there are various different Plantations. Not Suitable for person whose primary requirement is Luxury or require frequent room services. Food was simple and good. Little more
variety in breakfast would have been welcomed. Lunch & Dinner Charges felt higher as compare to our other Home stay.
We enjoyed a morning walk at village a lot accompanied by Our Host Mr. Jossy become
very much informative.Also a motor boat trip to vembanad Lake (1.5 Hr. by motor boat) was wonderful experience. Beauty of Homestay was that personal Guests of Mr. Jossy were also at our service in turn we had to restrict ourselves to be more demanding as they already had many guests at their home coincidentally.
When we checked in around 5.00 in evening Due to low voltage A.C. Where not working and Humidity in room was very high. It was Impossible to seat & relax in room. Host started generator around 10 p.m. after our dinner. Felt that they could have started it little more earlier.A.C. stopped workingafter 2-3 hour thank god by that time Humidity was gone.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    27
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
24
55
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2011

We stayed here for a few days and thoroughly enjoyed it, due mainly to three things - the utterly blissful location at the riverside and the chance to waste hours watching life go by and the giant fruit bats flying overhead at night; the warm welcome from Jossy and his beautiful family; and the food, stunning home cooking that left us full and fully satisfied.

One of the most peaceful and happy places I have been to in India.

Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2011

We stayed here for two nights and thoroughly enjoyed the tranquil, scenic setting and the homestay experience. The cabins have lovely verandas where you can chill out on swing seats and just watch the backwater life unfold. It’s such a peaceful place, and particularly welcome after spending time in the hectic cities.
We decided to try the evening meal on our first day and were so impressed that we had breakfast, lunch and dinner there for the remainder of our stay! The food was a delight. Jossy is such a friendly and attentive host, and he is on hand to explain the Keralan dishes at mealtimes and to top up your plate until you cannot eat another bite! For me, this was my favourite dining experience in India. Sitting outdoors, eating delicious homemade food in an idyllic setting.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2011

We had a superb three days at Kait's being looked after by the delightful Jossy, Linet and their young children. The homestay is right on the banks of the beautiful Pampa river and you can sit on the veranda of your comfortable cabin watching life go by on the river. Houseboats, canoes and thousands of ducklings on their way to the nearby feeding place pass by while a platoon of geese patrols the garden. The wonderful food is served on the gazebo projecting out onto the river. Highlights of our visit were a three hour canoe trip along the smaller local canals and a fascinating guided walk through the rice fields learning from Jossy's detailed knowledge of local plant and wildlife which made it special. We could very happily have stayed there for days just watching the world go by and the ferryman paddling back and forth across the river. Bliss!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2011

Fantastic location, hospitality, cleanliness and food. If you get a chance u must stay

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2011

It's no secret from all the reviews on TripAdvisor that Kait's Home is wonderful. We stayed 5 nights, deciding to forego a night on a houseboat to remain another night at this lovely place situated right on the river with many side canals, rice paddies, villages and rural sights to explore on foot, by canoe or motorboat. We were in a cottage which was very large and very quiet - such excellent sleep. We spent a lot of time enjoying the view from the hammocks in between fantastic meals with an amazing variety of dishes...the most variety we'd enjoyed at any homestay in Kerala. Our daughter loved exploring the garden, watching all the animals and boats, and playing with Jossy's kids. Jossy and his family made us feel very welcome and gave good advice on things to do. Wish we could have stayed even longer.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2011

We stayed twice at Kait's Home for a total of 12 days and loved being there. The location is beautiful and it is very relaxing to sit by the river and watch life float by. Jossey and his wife and family are fantastic hosts and the food they prepare is delicious. The rooms are rustic and basic but clean and adequate. There is no need to take a backwater cruise if you spend time at Kait's.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kait's Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kait's Home

Address: Champakulam P.O. | Kerala, Alappuzha 688505, India
Location: India > Kerala > Alappuzha
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 146 B&Bs / Inns in Alappuzha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Farm stay is located 14kms away from Alleppey on the side of the river Pamba, in Champakulam Village. Kaits home is managed by one of the well known family in this region called Mappilacherry. Kaits home has five river facing A/c cottages. One cottages in the main block is a traditional heritage room with open bathroom. KAITS home is a part of a farm. Our highlighting features are fresh traditional home-made food,canoe,kayak,motorboat,houseboat rides, farm trekking,different types of fishing, night fishing. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kait's Home Kerala/Alappuzha, India

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kait's Home, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.