We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable Stay at Lake Palace, Alleppey” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lake Palace Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Lake Palace Resort to your Saves list
Lake Palace Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Thirumala Ward,Alleppey, Alappuzha 688011, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 59 Hotels in Alappuzha
Jharsuguda, India
1 review
“Comfortable Stay at Lake Palace, Alleppey”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

preferred Lake Palace to stay here for 2 days. Nice ambience, clean Rooms and Luxury Services.. Rooms having all facilities, tv, fridge, etc. But felt the food cost was bit more than expected. Overall a good stay near the beautiful lake of Alleppey.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    60
    33
    10
    10
See reviews for
72
38
2
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

This was the hotel i was most looking forward to during our Kerala adventure and as i arrived at our room i was not dissapointed. Situated on stilts at the edge of the lake it was as stunning as i had hoped.
The room was pleasant with a comfortable bed and good wi-fi conection. The fridge didn't really work so we ordered ice from room service which never arrived, a menu took 45min to reach us as did a beer as the bar was closed.
The bathroom was in a state of disrepair, with no hot water in the morning but as we were checking out we did not have the time to see if this could be fixed. They did seem to be refurbishing many of the rooms as there was a lot of building work going on. However i do belive if they advertise and charge for a certain standard of accommodation then that is what you should get. All that money can't just be for the view.
The resaurant was large with very little ambiance and, along with most of the large hotels in the area, was serving a buffet. We were however allowed to order from the 'a la carte' menu and had the most fabulous prawn curry - the waiter was very nice and very helpful. Breakfast was also good.
There was a free sunset boat cruise which was very plesant.

Room Tip: It has to be a room with a view, no other reason to be there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emsworth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

This hotel is beautifully situated on the lake opposite the town. The food in the restaurant is first rate and . There was a certain amount of of building or repair work going on while we were there and some areas had a somewhat unfinished feel. There is an excellent pool and Wifi is available in rooms. Very comfortable.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cornwall
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel in 2008 and still have vivid memories of "the jewel of Alleppey". Sadly time has not been kind to the hotel and now it seems a little jaded and overpriced. It still has the wow factor when you arrive by the hotels private boat however it is let down by poor maintenance and shoddy service. We had no hot water during our stay and the minibar fridge barely functioned. Room service was dire, we made many requests for items that never arrived. It is sad that the lovely, romantic restaurant of 2008 has been replaced with a new build serving buffet meals of dubious quality; however a bit of pressure for a la carte resulted in the best kattamundam prawn curry I have had in years.
It would seem that India is capable of building superb hotels however it expects them to run with the minimum of on going maintenance and little or no direction for their staff. Such a shame; this used to be a fabulous hotel.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

First night of 2 week tour, lovely setting, room good, food average, staff very helpful.Some rooms being re-furbed - don't know if ours had or hadn't as everything was fine. Great place to start the trip and get picked up from hotel jetty onto houseboat.

Room Tip: go Lakeside but, as a result, be prepared for the mosses!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

The hotel has all the required amenities for a business trip. They have ample meeting rooms, great outdoor party area, activity centre and so on. I did not find the hotel bad. Rooms are good enough - depending on your luck :) there is a wing that has old school type rooms and new wing which has more sophisticated ones. Even the older ones are not bad at all. I did not find the service bad whatsoever. Yes, rent is high.

Room Tip: There are new rooms with electronic keys (as opposed to metal keys) - they are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum), India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

I went to this resort for a business purpose.I liked the location very much.The place is like an island surrounded mostly by back waters. The place is blessed with beautiful greenery and backwaters.I enjoyed the boat cruise. The room facility is average but cost is comparatively high.I enjoyed the food..especially non veg dishes are good.You can roam about for hours enjoying the natures beauty..There are conference halls to conduct conferences and business meetings.there's also a riverside restaurant.The only problem I encountered was poor road conditions.

Room Tip: try to choose rooms facing away from main water body ,and prefer ones towards back waters in between...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lake Palace Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Palace Resort

Address: Thirumala Ward,Alleppey, Alappuzha 688011, India
Location: India > Kerala > Alappuzha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Alappuzha
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Alappuzha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lake Palace Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lake Palace is a luxury backwater resort located in Alleppey at the banks of Vembanadu Lake, adjacent to the venue of the legendary Nehru Trophy boat race. Lake Palace Resort represents a quaint tradition, blended with modernity. Its architecture is delightfully Keralite yet comfortably modern and rich in contemporary ethos. Each of its rooms is individually decorated with a dramatic blend of old-world charm and modern accessories. While the Lake View Cottages feature a cozy lounge with mini bar, refrigerator, television, king size bedroom, en-suite bathroom with hot & cold running water and 24 hours room service, the Water Villas offer the rare feeling of being afloat. Its facilities include king size bedrooms that are beautifully appointed rooms with wooden furniture, en-suite bathrooms and 24 hours room service. Every balcony at Lake View Cottage offers a unassailable view of the unruffled Vembanadu Lake where the traditional country boats & canoes cruise gently along. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Lake Palace Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Palace Hotel Alappuzha
Lake Palace Alappuzha
Lake Palace Resort Kerala/Alappuzha, India

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lake Palace Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.