We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful from the outside, crap inside” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Lake Palace Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Lake Palace Resort to your Saves list
Lake Palace Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Thirumala Ward,Alleppey, Alappuzha 688011, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 59 Hotels in Alappuzha
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful from the outside, crap inside”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

While approaching this hotel via they ferry you will be awed by how pretty this hotel looks. It's certainly well maintained from the exterior but once you check in your room, this hotel is on the shabby side. The TV needed repair work, there was no hot water during our entire stay. The extra bed we had requested well in advance was a shabby cot with an uncomfortable mattress. They ran out of certain foods during the buffet. The ferry that transports you back to land did not arrive or leave on time which can leave you a little panicky if you have to make your way back to the airport. The bathrooms are ugly and far from luxurious. Hotel needs to do a major upheaval.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMLP, General Manager at Lake Palace Resort, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

A Very Happy New year to you and your family from the team of Lake Palace Resort.

Thank you very much for taking out time and writing back with your feedback regarding your stay at Lake Palace Resort .
You feedback is very important for us as it helps us improvise on the areas of concern.

Its good to hear that you liked the exterior beauty and the maintenance of the resort but were dissatisfied with the interior of the room.
Your concerns are been taken up on priority basis with the concerned HOD's also the hotel is on the verge of cosmetic up gradation of the certain rooms , as very rightly mentioned by you .

It definitely leads to a panic situation as the ferry gets delayed at times due to peak season and rush hour ,so its always recommended to have some extra time in hand to avoid unforeseen situations.

I do hope you will give us an opportunity to welcome you back at Lake Palace and delight you as always.


Regards

Arjun Kohli.
Deputy General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    60
    33
    10
    10
See reviews for
71
38
2
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Ahmedabad
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

The location of the hotel ia quite good, it is away from the noice and dirty of the city and on the entrance of the backwaters. There is a small artificial lake inside the resort and most of its rooms are located facing that and there is a swimming pool in the middle. The rooms are not properly maintained and even the service is quite shabby, the space in the room is quite good, if they maintain the property nicely surely they can benefit a lot from it. There is a nice sunset cruise given by the hotel which is very nice.

There are a variety of rooms available do not opt for the Watervilla as they are in an akward location with lots of dirty water so they stink quite bad. There are Delux rooms which are facing the backwaters and are the best out of the lot, don't go for the premium rooms as they are too expensive and have the same view. Food quality is average and most of it is north indian, other variety is quite less and doesn't taste upto the mark as well.

Room Tip: Book rooms facing the Backwaters Only.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMLP, General Manager at Lake Palace Resort, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Dear Guest

Warm Greetings and A Very happy New Year to You and Your Family from the team of Lake Palace Resort !!

Thank you for taking out time for sharing your view with us . I am happy to read your opening lines however I regret your displeasure with the maintenance of the rooms .

Your Suggestions and feedback are of utmost importance to us at Lake Palace as it helps us improve and understand our customer better.

We are Glad you enjoyed the Beauty in and around the resort away from the noise and dirt of the city as the resort is right on the banks of backwater surrounded by the lake .

As all our rooms are facing the water but are different in one aspect or another from each other.""Water Villa n Kerala Cottage"" facing the internal Man Made lake and ""lake View Deluxe and Lake View Premium "" having the Back Water Lake View with prize variations .

Moreover we periodically renovate and refurbish our rooms and public areas so that our resort is modern and comfortable while still retaining its heritage charm.

We regret that food quality and menu was not up to your taste . Your Concerns are been taken up with the concerned and would apologies for the inconvenience.

I am sure you will give us another chance to welcome you back at Lake Palace Resort..

Warm Regards

Arjun Kohli
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

Lake palace is a badly kept and managed property with a beautiful location. Bad Rooms, same tasting food and unwelcoming staff, who do not know how to speak, except for one north indian manager who made our stay a little plesent by his way of speaking and accomodating behaviour. other than him the other staff is not open to guest complaint. One more good person was the FOM. overall very average and unsatisfing visit.

Room Tip: If you want to take a good room in Lake Palace, take it in the new section, but that will not change...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMLP, General Manager at Lake Palace Resort, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Warm Greetings from Lake Palace Resort, Alleppey !!

Thank you for taking time to write this review. Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience faced by you.

Your Concerns are been taken up with the concerned department heads I will also look into the matter and ensure that this does not happen in the future.

We, at Lake Palace Resort, are in the constant process of updating and improving ourselves to keep up with the ever evolving hospitality standards and guest demands, and it is the feedback of our guests that points us in the right direction.

Thank you again for sharing your experience with us and I do hope you will give us a chance to serve you again in the near future.

Warm Regards

Arjun Kohli
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, Kent
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

I stayed there one night in November when they were celebrating Diwali. The fireworks were exciting to watch and the young staff enjoyed themselves as much as I did. I had a ground floor premium room fronting on to the waterside. At the other side were paddy fields being worked on by locals. The quality of the furniture in the room is exceptional and such a lovely spacious shower room.
The swimming pool at the rear of the main building in set into a small lake so that you are surrounded by water even when sunbathing.
There is a little well stocked bar by the restaurant but soon there will a new bar (currently being built). Food was tasty and had evening meal sat on the balcony watching fireworks elsewhere and brightly lit boats go by.
If you get the opportunity go out for 24 hours in the houseboat Rajadhani with the paisley ceiling -it will be an experience and a half. Even the kitchen on the boat was squeaky clean (the best I have seen).

Room Tip: All of the cottages and rooms are of the highest standard, the only question is the price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMLP, General Manager at Lake Palace Resort, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Dear Guest ,

Warm Greetings and a very Happy New year to you and your family .

Thank you for taking time to share this review with us and other travelers. I am sure your feedback will go a long way in helping those planning their trips to Alleppey in the near future.

Its really motivating to hear that you enjoyed the beauty and services of our Resort.

We at Lake Palace have a Tradition of celebrating all the festivals of India as it showcases the diversity and beauty of our culture also strengthens the Bonding among'st people and brings happiness to our guest and staff members at the same time

Our location is indeed our USP, we are situated right on the banks of Backwater with all our rooms being water facing.
Our resort is been built in 50 acres of land out of which 18 acres is constructed and the rest of the land are all the paddy fields.

Our House boats , being among the best in the market are Traditionally designed to give you a Traditional feel of Kerala Architecture and beauty.

You would also be interested to know that our New Bar and a Specialty Sea food restaurant is almost on the Verge of opening now.

Thank you once again for your constructive feedback, and we hope you will visit us again in the near future.

Warm regards,

Arjun Kohli
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crans Montana
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

This hotel was very "average". Reading through the reviews on TA i was expecting more. We used the hotel as part of our South India Tour organised by The Travel Planners (highly recommended for all your South India Tours). The best point is its location. Loved being right in the backwaters and seeing all the houseboat traffic going past our window. Also enjoyed the complimentary sunset cruise. The room was ok. I believe there are newer or premium rooms so possibly pay extra for them. The bathrooms were a bit dated and needed a refurb. The room was ok and clean.
Strange things at the hotel included putting you on a golf cart to move 20 seconds down the path to your room (it took longer to get on the cart and start it to get to the room walking), fishing demonstration (dipped net in the water, showed you 3 small fish and that was it) a man in a shed jumping to action when staff sent him some guests to make a few pottery items. All very surreal.
The hotels biggest problem is staff. After staying in hotels like Taj or Trident it was a shock to find inefficient staff and a general feeling of "they dont know what they doing". There was also some attitude problems. It was not just reception but in the restaurant as well. Example: ordered a Lychee Juice and a cheeseburger. We explained we did not want anything in the burger except cheese and burger. Asked the waiter to repeat. We got a tea and bun with cheese in (no burger). This took 30 minutes. Obviously a language problem but just 1 example of the problems with staff. The food in general was poor. You have no choice to eat here unless you take the boat to the mainland but not sure what you would find there.
If the manager reads this i recommend sending your managers or team leaders to a Taj or Trident hotel (or better still to the place they train their staff in hospitality and service) and see how a hotel should be run.
There is a Ramada Hotel being built nearby (maybe a year or so away from completion) so use this or something better in the area.

Room Tip: Pay extra for new or premium rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, Delhi, India
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

we stayed there for two nights and were disappointed with the rickety bed and a very old worn out mattress! the bathroom seemed to be NEVER renovated,the flush leaky & awful and the shower cabin pathetically small!
It is so highly priced and claims to be a luxury resort but we didn't find anything luxurious. it is very average, ordinary kind of hotel, offering you basics! the breakfast layout was also disappointing with only two fruits and pathetically baked muffins etc. The waiters were quite unprofessional and stared more at our plates than bother about their service and do they know that a good napkin is a necessary part of a luxurious hotel!!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the main lake are better from location point of view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMLP, General Manager at Lake Palace Resort, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Dear Guest,
Season’s greetings from Team Lake Palace Resort, Allepey!!

Thank you for staying with us and sharing your feedback. Please accept my apologies for the inconvenience caused to you over the issues mentioned above.
Please be informed that we are a 9 year old Property of 58 rooms and we have had a latest addition to our room wing 8 Months back known as Lake View Premium, which are the up market rooms, fitted with modern and latest gadgets.

I regret that you happened to stay in the old block which caused to be an inconvenience to you which are also under process of up gradation to get them at PAR to our premium category.

Regarding the service in our restaurants, please treat this as a one-off aberration in our usual service standards and accept the apologies of my team for the same.

I deeply regret hearing that our customer service did not exceed your expectations. We pride ourselves in upholding the spirit of Kerala hospitality and this lapse in our service is not acceptable. However, the feedback from our guests help us to strengthen our weak points and deliver outstanding service to our customers.

Thank you again for writing this review and we do hope that you will give us a chance to welcome you to Lake Palace again in the future.

Warm Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kochi, Kerala, India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

I stayed here for two days as part of regional meeting and i feel its a great experience. The lake view rooms are spacious and well furnished. The view from the this room is awesome. As far as service is concerned ,the s hotel staff are cordial and are social at just the right level and they go to great length to make you feel at home.

Room Tip: Laek view rooms are splendid .
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMLP, General Manager at Lake Palace Resort, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Warm Greetings and A Very Happy New Year from Team Lake Palace, Allepey.

Let me start by thanking you for taking time to share your review with us and other travelers. At Lake Palace we believe in constantly updating ourselves to keep up with ever evolving guest needs and demands, and it is the feedback of our guests that helps us in this.

It is a pleasure to read that you had a very memorable experience and that you think our service staff goes a great length to make the guest feel at home - it is the appreciation of our guests that motivate us to perform our best.

Thanking you once again and look forward to welcoming you back to Lake Palace Resort and assure you of our best at all times.

Warm Regards

Arjun Kohli
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Lake Palace Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Palace Resort

Address: Thirumala Ward,Alleppey, Alappuzha 688011, India
Location: India > Kerala > Alappuzha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Alappuzha
#7 Spa Hotel in Alappuzha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lake Palace Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lake Palace is a luxury backwater resort located in Alleppey at the banks of Vembanadu Lake, adjacent to the venue of the legendary Nehru Trophy boat race. Lake Palace Resort represents a quaint tradition, blended with modernity. Its architecture is delightfully Keralite yet comfortably modern and rich in contemporary ethos. Each of its rooms is individually decorated with a dramatic blend of old-world charm and modern accessories. While the Lake View Cottages feature a cozy lounge with mini bar, refrigerator, television, king size bedroom, en-suite bathroom with hot & cold running water and 24 hours room service, the Water Villas offer the rare feeling of being afloat. Its facilities include king size bedrooms that are beautifully appointed rooms with wooden furniture, en-suite bathrooms and 24 hours room service. Every balcony at Lake View Cottage offers a unassailable view of the unruffled Vembanadu Lake where the traditional country boats & canoes cruise gently along. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Lake Palace Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Palace Hotel Alappuzha
Lake Palace Alappuzha
Lake Palace Resort Kerala/Alappuzha, India

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lake Palace Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.