We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, value for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lake Palace Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Lake Palace Resort to your Saves list
Lake Palace Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Thirumala Ward,Alleppey, Alappuzha 688011, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 59 Hotels in Alappuzha
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    53
    31
    10
    10
See reviews for
67
35
2
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Superb Hotel. Delightfully designed rooms, fresh linen, neat rooms and premises, all facilities available.

This hotel is a world in itself, if you chose not to go out for a whole day, there is enough you can do within the premises itself. Cycling, Speed boating, tennis, badminton, indoor games, gymansium, the gym, Paddle boating or be it taking a long stroll in the property, lots to do here itself.

The best part is the sunset cruise and the cultural programmes that are arranged by the hotel.

We also had one day at the Boathouse in our package, which was simply superb, breathtaking views, wonderful rooms, an amazing experience.

The only let down is a bit lethargy from the staff end.
Yet another issue was that we having booked a honeymoon suite were promised floral decoration and saffron milk, which we never got, despite of constant reminders to the staff. They said that flowers were not available in the market and that they had run out of saffron.

The food is average if you are a vegetarian (they hardly have much choices). Superb if you are not.

You dont need to think twice to come here. A full thumbs up

Room Tip: Choose Water villas or Villas to the extreme right of the property where you get an amazing view of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMLP, General Manager at Lake Palace Resort, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Dear Guest .

Thanks for taking out time and writing back to us with your feedback which is most valuable for us as it helps us come to our guest expectation and improvise.

I am happy to read that you had a wonderful time at our resort, and enjoyed the various services and facilities that we provide n Sunset Cruise being a daily ritual which we offer our guest daily to experience the beauty of the Back waters.

Our House boats , being among the best in the market are Traditionally designed to give you a Traditional feel of Kerala Architecture and beauty.

I regret your displeasure with the Vegetarian food and the Saffron Milk. Your concerns are be taken up with the concerned department heads as a matter of concern.

We are always open to suggestion at Lake Palace so that we can make our guest’s experiences more memorable.

I am sure you will give us another chance to welcome you back at Lake Palace and delight you as always.

Warm Regards,

Arjun Kohli
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

After a 2 hours drive from Kochi Aiport, we reached the Lake Palace Hotel. It was not yet fully booked, but they offered us a complementary sundown boot cruise. The stuff was very friendly, room was very clean and spacious. The view onto the internal "sea" with integrated swimming pool is very nice.

The optimal start for a backwaters boottrip!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMLP, General Manager at Lake Palace Resort, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Dear Guest ,

Greetings from Lake Palace, Alleppey !!

Thank you for taking time to write a review about us.

I am glad to know that you had a good Short time at our resort. Our location is indeed our USP.

I do hope you will give us an opportunity to welcome you back at "Lake Palace" and delight you as always.

Warm Regards

Arjun Kohli
(Deputy General Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jodhpur, India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Lake Palace is a beautiful resort with perfect location and excellent service. Our family stayed their and enjoyed every bit of it.
The food is good, rooms are neat and tidy. We stayed in Kerala cottages and rooms had balcony with a very god view of the resort. The staff is efficient and courteous. We also enjoyed pottery making and fishing in the resort. As this property is situated at Vembanad lake, on ad off hopping to the land is not possible. I recommend this hotel to travelers who want to stay for 2-3 days away from the noisy city.
We have to go to the resort by boat and the boat facility is also excellent. We were late for check in for the hotel. So we requested them to delay the sunset cruise for us. They readily accepted our request and transferred us to the hotel. The sun set cruise experience was fantastic. Do not miss if you are staying at Lake Palace. Thanks to the resort team for lovely reception.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMLP, General Manager at Lake Palace Resort, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Customer.

Thank You very much from our team at Lake Palace for choosing Lake Palace as your Holiday Destination .
Its good to hear that your stay and experience with Our Services and Beauty around was a memorable one.

Thanking you once again for your courtesy , recommendations n look forward to see you soon again with your family and Friends .

Regards

Arjun Kohli( DGM Operations)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

after a long journey the welcome we had at the lake palace was perfect, attentive, kind, thoughtful and efficient.

the hotel manager - Sachi - was the perfect host, making the stay very personal and exactly what we were looking for in terms of service

and then there is the location - its a 6 room hotel in the middle of the wildlife sanctuary, cut off from everything and everyone...

and then there was the food - the chef cooked a fresh delicious meal that suited our palates, all part of the deal

thanks to Sachi and his team - the stay could not have been better!

Room Tip: all the rooms are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMLP, General Manager at Lake Palace Resort, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Guest ,

Thank You Very Much for your review.

I believe u have mistakenly posted your review as Lake Palace Resort is not a 6 room Property in the wild Life sanctuary, rather it is a 58 Key **** Resort. surrounded by the water of Waymbanard Lake in Allepey.
Would request you to do the needful and would welcome you to be at Lake palace on your next Visit to experience the Nature and hospitality.

Regards

Arjun Kohli ( Deputy General Manager Operations)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UAE
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

We happened to get into the lake palace resort after the original resort we booked into via expedia(park @ vembanad) was shut down as the staff were on strike in last week of august. Later we got booked into Lake palace at vembanad via expedia.
You need to get on a boat from near the bustand provided by the management. After say 10 min you reach the resort. You can see it from the distance though and the ride was good. It is close to where the annual boat race takes place.On the front is the backwater/lake and behind it is surrounded by the paddy fields.The welcome drink was good and check in process was smooth.the view was incredible.The property is beautiful. There is a water body within the resort and the center of it is the swimming pool and a tiny baby pool.
The rooms were ok.But the toilets were more like what you may find at home. clean but not resort standard.Food was good atleast what we had ordered. We reached on a dry day ( 1st day of the month) so no drinks available on the day.
the spa staff needs to be more professional. I tried to get a booking in the morning .Though it was supposed to be open at 8am,but it wasnt.Though they asked me for a later timing by then we were out.
The front office was helpful by offering us alternatives on their own.
we booked a 2 hour boat ride along the lake to see the place and that was fine too.Since we had a late check in , they allowed us a late check out.
Overall good. Nothing much to complain.Maybe a bit overpriced in my opinion.

Room Tip: There is water villa which is on water and not much of a difference from the other kerala villas. It...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMLP, General Manager at Lake Palace Resort, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Dear Customer,

Thank you for your taking out time and providing us the feedback, which help us improve and come up to our customers expectations.
Its good to hear that you enjoyed the property view and the services and have taken up your concerns with the concerned department heads .
You would be interested to know that we have started with our Premium wing known as Lake view Premium which are designed keeping in mind today's requirement of our customers with Latest upmarket modern fittings and gadgets.
Moreover we are under process of up gradations with our old rooms to get them at Par with our premium range and also would be shortly inaugurating our New Specialty Sea Food Restaurant and Bar.

I regret for the inconvenience caused to you as the Bar was closed On the 1 st of the Month due to Government Policies in Kerala.

Would once again Like to Welcome you to Lake Palace Resort and look forward to see you with your friends and family.

Regards

Arjun Kohli (DGM Operations)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait, Al Kuwayt, Kuwait
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Dear travelers

Good points
beautiful resort, location awesome, clean and tidy, good food, swimming pool awesome.

Bad points:
-Doctor on call service not available after evening. As the resort is purely situated on lake side. doctor not easily available on a go..
-Little attitude of the few staff noticed.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMLP, General Manager at Lake Palace Resort, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Dear Customer.

Thanks for choosing Lake Palace as your holiday destination and writing back to us with your feedback.
We are glad that you enjoyed the facilities which our resort has to offer specially the ambiance ,location , amenities and the recreation facilities.

Lake Palace is situated on the island as the access is through water in 18 Acres with all the rooms facing the lake and having many activities to keep our customers busy during their stay from water sports to indoor activities with Ayurveda being a must try .

You would be interested to know that we have a vast collection of Imported and Indian wines from different parts of the continent for our customers and also we are coming up with our live Sea food specialty restaurant and Bar and a new recreation center.

At Lake Palace, customer feedback is very important to us and your concern has been taken up with utmost priority with concerned.

You would be interested to know during emergency medical situation our customers are taken care off by providing them with immediate transfers to the nearest hospital by Motor boats or car so they get appropriate medical assistance.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our property very soon .

Thanking you once again for your trust in our services
.
Arjun Kohli (DGM Operations)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lake Palace Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Palace Resort

Address: Thirumala Ward,Alleppey, Alappuzha 688011, India
Location: India > Kerala > Alappuzha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Alappuzha
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Alappuzha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lake Palace Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lake Palace is a luxury backwater resort located in Alleppey at the banks of Vembanadu Lake, adjacent to the venue of the legendary Nehru Trophy boat race. Lake Palace Resort represents a quaint tradition, blended with modernity. Its architecture is delightfully Keralite yet comfortably modern and rich in contemporary ethos. Each of its rooms is individually decorated with a dramatic blend of old-world charm and modern accessories. While the Lake View Cottages feature a cozy lounge with mini bar, refrigerator, television, king size bedroom, en-suite bathroom with hot & cold running water and 24 hours room service, the Water Villas offer the rare feeling of being afloat. Its facilities include king size bedrooms that are beautifully appointed rooms with wooden furniture, en-suite bathrooms and 24 hours room service. Every balcony at Lake View Cottage offers a unassailable view of the unruffled Vembanadu Lake where the traditional country boats & canoes cruise gently along. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Lake Palace Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Palace Hotel Alappuzha
Lake Palace Alappuzha
Lake Palace Resort Kerala/Alappuzha, India

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lake Palace Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.