We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Robinson Crusoe experience Maharaja style, heavenly small boat trip” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Coir Village Lake Resort

Save Saved
You added Coir Village Lake Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Coir Village Lake Resort
Valiyaparambu PO, Alappuzha 690566, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 59 hotels in Alappuzha
Tokyo, Japan
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Robinson Crusoe experience Maharaja style, heavenly small boat trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

This place is not for everyone.But if you like nature,especially birds, and solitude, this place is for you.
I LOCATION
32km from Alleppey. It takes an hour by taxi. Because first half on the main road is crowded and the second half is a village road. Surronded by palmgrove, and situated in islands, it is very relaxing.
II ROOMS
Some cottages are independent, some share roofs and balconies. Rooms are basic but comfortable.
III FOOD
There are many items in the menu. But some of them are unavailable. Taste of foods is quite OK. Breakfast included in the room fee is continental. But you can order,for example, masala omlette, which was tasty.
IV SERVICE
Many previous reviewers mentioned of "arrogance" of the staff. But my experience of receptionists, waitors, and security staff was excellent.I was the only guest the first night. So they took very good care of me like a Maharaja!
V SMALL BOAT TRIP
A man rowed a small boat with bamboo pole and took me around in the backwater for an hour or so each time.(I took this ride 6 times in 3 days!)You come across with (blue and green)kingfishers,( red-winged) kites, (pure white)herons,(black)snake birds etc. in a close range. You will meet friendly fishermen and villagers,too.
Early in the moning as well as just before sunset were perfect timings.
In my opinion total satisfaction from 6 hours of this trip far exceeds 6 hours of gorgeous houseboat trip,
even the cost is a fraction.

Room Tip: You shoud check the facities of your room,such as hot water, a/c, and telephone connections before u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OhmkumarATDC, Owner at Coir Village Lake Resort, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear Sir,

thanks for your kind visit and thanks for your kind review.

We are very happy that , you had enjoyed your stay in our resort.

Thanks and expecting your visit again.

Ohmkumar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    9
    27
    10
    7
    8
See reviews for
19
27
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

I was there with my wife on 20 Oct 2012 at 6:30 pm Mr Biju at reception was very bold took INRs 3500 without any bill issued and no information about the place as I was driving back to cochin from Trivandrum and the weather was bad for driving I thought to stay overnight .
No information about the facilities at all. Not informed about the breakfast was included. The whole place was empty. No help what so ever.
• Bathroom was leaking totally washbasin, toilet bowl
• TV was not working
• N0 hot water please as it is not working then they want to change my room I refused to that
• AC was leaking in the middle of the night and there was no technicians available
• Waiters wearing torn T-shirt please help with donations......any one going there
• There will be no tea or coffee in the morning until staff arrives
• There will be no breakfast served as staff has not arrived still 8:00am
• No perfect road towards the place
• There is no double bed given for couples we slept on single bed
• Lamp outside at lawn are all broken children please dont play around

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Coir village resorts are 2 hours away from the main city. This is the 1st drawback. The 2nd drawback are the rooms. The geyser, television does not work. The 1st room given to us was a disaster. Nothing was working and the room was not clean. When we changed the room, this time the phone line was not working. There are no electrical switches to charge your phones. So we had to use the TV switch for charging. Food is ok. When asked for Idlis in breakfast, the guy told us that there is no batter so cannot prepare dosa or idli. The only good thing about the resort is the view. I have not seen such a fantastic view in my whole trip to kerala. The interesting thing is you need to use the canoe boats to reach your room from the reception. So your room is surrounded by backwaters. The hotel owns a houseboat which you can visit. The staff is co-operative especially the manager, Mr Baiju. I would say one can come here to experience the awesome location but do not expect any facilities.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

I reached the resort on the 30 Aug which was the following day of Onam. So the situation was dicey. As there were no much guests around I was treated like a king. But on the other hand there was the issue of the number of staff available. But Mr.Baiju had done well by arranging as much as possible convenience to my stay.Thanks to him. A few things need to be rectified which would make the place complete. Small issues like the plumbing, substandard televisions(viz not a criteria), intercom etc. But as I have addressed these issues to Mr Baiju and he has assured me that it will be taken care of. Bottomline is I would love to hear from them often and looking forward to stay there again.

Room Tip: Two rows of cottages on an Island with each row facing to sides of the island. One facing the Recept...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patiala, India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

Friends,
I came to know about Coir village , throug Tourstokerala.org. They offered me package with coir village. But at first i refuced go over there , because of certain reviews. But because of my friends suggestion we decided to go with that property. Honestly , who would like to enjoy the honeymoon very peacefully , muct need to visit this place. a great destination for minimum 2 nights. we got the cottage ,just opposite to the reception, in the 2nd island. nice view of the backwater. another memorable experince i had is the canoe ride which we experienced. But a small suggestion , the food part need to improve little more....

Thanks...

Room Tip: must need to go for independent cottage..
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Coir Village Lake Resort, responded to this review, September 1, 2012
Dear Nitin,

Thanks for your feedback.

We are very happy to hear that , you are very much happy with your stay at our property .

We will be assuring the same quality service an accommodation quality to the other clients.

Hope you will visit us soon..

Ohmkumar
08589-818-818
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moorpark, California
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

Note: I was part of a tour group, so I didn't have to locate the place or drive around the area. I can tell you that the staff has a reputation for arrogance and indifference, though we were insulated from it by our tour leader and I didn't. During our stay, the only people I saw were our group and one Indian couple.

The location is simply beautiful Rooms - many of which are better described as "bungalows" - have verandahs with chairs and tables, and many are right on the water. If you enjoy sitting out with a good book, you can't beat this. The lobby and restaurant are across the river, and you get there by a canoe "ferry" that can feel a bit unsteady. The restaurant has an extensive menu. Service is slow, but there's a very good buffet for both dinner and breakfast so that's mitigated.

Rooms are adequate, nothing special, and have air conditioning and televisions.

Other than however you choose to entertain yourself, there is truly nothing to do. It's your choice if that's a plus or a minus.

Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2012

Not for indians. everything available was too over priced. cottages were very old. a/c wasnt working properly. very arrogant staff. no basic amenities. no activities. no cable. tv was old. nv food was horrible. travle was exhausting. not recommened.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Coir Village Lake Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coir Village Lake Resort

Address: Valiyaparambu PO, Alappuzha 690566, India
Location: India > Kerala > Alappuzha
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Alappuzha
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Alappuzha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Coir Village Lake Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coir Village Lake Hotel Alappuzha
Coir Village Lake Resort Kerala/Alappuzha, India

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coir Village Lake Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.