We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome location but do not expect any facilities” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Coir Village Lake Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Coir Village Lake Resort to your Saves list
Coir Village Lake Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Valiyaparambu PO, Alappuzha 690566, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 56 Hotels in Alappuzha
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Awesome location but do not expect any facilities”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Coir village resorts are 2 hours away from the main city. This is the 1st drawback. The 2nd drawback are the rooms. The geyser, television does not work. The 1st room given to us was a disaster. Nothing was working and the room was not clean. When we changed the room, this time the phone line was not working. There are no electrical switches to charge your phones. So we had to use the TV switch for charging. Food is ok. When asked for Idlis in breakfast, the guy told us that there is no batter so cannot prepare dosa or idli. The only good thing about the resort is the view. I have not seen such a fantastic view in my whole trip to kerala. The interesting thing is you need to use the canoe boats to reach your room from the reception. So your room is surrounded by backwaters. The hotel owns a houseboat which you can visit. The staff is co-operative especially the manager, Mr Baiju. I would say one can come here to experience the awesome location but do not expect any facilities.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    29
    14
    9
    9
See reviews for
24
32
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

I reached the resort on the 30 Aug which was the following day of Onam. So the situation was dicey. As there were no much guests around I was treated like a king. But on the other hand there was the issue of the number of staff available. But Mr.Baiju had done well by arranging as much as possible convenience to my stay.Thanks to him. A few things need to be rectified which would make the place complete. Small issues like the plumbing, substandard televisions(viz not a criteria), intercom etc. But as I have addressed these issues to Mr Baiju and he has assured me that it will be taken care of. Bottomline is I would love to hear from them often and looking forward to stay there again.

Room Tip: Two rows of cottages on an Island with each row facing to sides of the island. One facing the Recept...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patiala, India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

Friends,
I came to know about Coir village , throug Tourstokerala.org. They offered me package with coir village. But at first i refuced go over there , because of certain reviews. But because of my friends suggestion we decided to go with that property. Honestly , who would like to enjoy the honeymoon very peacefully , muct need to visit this place. a great destination for minimum 2 nights. we got the cottage ,just opposite to the reception, in the 2nd island. nice view of the backwater. another memorable experince i had is the canoe ride which we experienced. But a small suggestion , the food part need to improve little more....

Thanks...

Room Tip: must need to go for independent cottage..
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Coir Village Lake Resort, responded to this review, September 1, 2012
Dear Nitin,

Thanks for your feedback.

We are very happy to hear that , you are very much happy with your stay at our property .

We will be assuring the same quality service an accommodation quality to the other clients.

Hope you will visit us soon..

Ohmkumar
08589-818-818
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moorpark, California
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

Note: I was part of a tour group, so I didn't have to locate the place or drive around the area. I can tell you that the staff has a reputation for arrogance and indifference, though we were insulated from it by our tour leader and I didn't. During our stay, the only people I saw were our group and one Indian couple.

The location is simply beautiful Rooms - many of which are better described as "bungalows" - have verandahs with chairs and tables, and many are right on the water. If you enjoy sitting out with a good book, you can't beat this. The lobby and restaurant are across the river, and you get there by a canoe "ferry" that can feel a bit unsteady. The restaurant has an extensive menu. Service is slow, but there's a very good buffet for both dinner and breakfast so that's mitigated.

Rooms are adequate, nothing special, and have air conditioning and televisions.

Other than however you choose to entertain yourself, there is truly nothing to do. It's your choice if that's a plus or a minus.

Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2012

Not for indians. everything available was too over priced. cottages were very old. a/c wasnt working properly. very arrogant staff. no basic amenities. no activities. no cable. tv was old. nv food was horrible. travle was exhausting. not recommened.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

1st of all its NOT in Alleppey but a good 30km away from the main town..after going through what seemed like a neverending drive, one needs to enter the narrow, bumpy, village road which takes you to the resort...the entrance is not marked by any board or gate making it frustating to find. Once there the only thing lighting up your stay will be the location by the backwaters and the experience of crossing the canals in boats to reach your rooms from the reception and restaurant area.( some may find it cumbersome though) Our experience of spending 2 days here revealed a lack of basic resort facilities and services. We could avail of only 1 meal through room service after which they refused it. Ala carte menu though present was not served and all guests were forced to eat from the buffet which had horrid college canteen/hostel standard chinese and tasteless indian dishes. the saving grace was the rare 1 keralite dish (eg: appam for breakfast, fishcurry for lunch/dinner) I think the guests would have rather preferred a good local meal over their failed attempt at serving north indian meals. All food items were COLD unless you were the lucky 1st few in the buffet queue. Shockingly no snacks were served at any time of the day(again option is present in the menu) I dread to think what families with young children might go through when hunger strikes since eating options outside the resort are almost non existent due to it being in a village. unless ofcourse you want to rush out and DRIVE to the market area to bring back some fruits, biscuits and wafers. We also found it ridiculous when they told other guests they will not serve tea/coffee after 6.15pm since they are preparing dinner!! Housekeeping is poor too, our room had cobwebs, wet towels were not changed, drinking water not refilled till we requested for it, no laundry service was available.No attempt was made by the management to do something special for the guests in terms of entertainment or food ( we were there during christmas). There is no scope for sightseeing or shopping, the only thing you can do is boating. The options were rowing, going for a canoe ride through the backwaters ( which was fantastic!! relaxing and beautiful- Rs.200 per head) or going on a motorized larger boat/ferry. I personally would recommend the canoe ride---it gives you a feeling of being closer to the water than the ferry. My suggestion to the resort is to seriously work on improving their services otherwise its a complete waste of a beautiful location. with a little vision it can be turned into a great holiday stay option.

Room Tip: All rooms face the canals so thats a positive so for choosing the best rooms you will simply have to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011

Ok this 'resort' is a bit tired, but it's location on the backwaters is glorious. I wouldn't recommend it for more than 1 night, as there's not much to do except relax and soak up the scenery. Cottages are comfortable with a veranda overlooking the river and a good enough bathroom. Staff were friendly and the food was very enjoyable. We enjoyed the experience of being ferried across from one island to the other. There's no swimming pool, but it's perfectly possible to swim in the river and we had a lovely boat trip for bird spotting during the late afternoon. Don't go here expecting luxury - you'll be disappointed. But if you're looking for a quiet break away from the hustle and bustle, this is a good choice.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Coir Village Lake Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coir Village Lake Resort

Address: Valiyaparambu PO, Alappuzha 690566, India
Location: India > Kerala > Alappuzha
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Alappuzha
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Alappuzha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Coir Village Lake Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Coir Village Lake Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coir Village Lake Hotel Alappuzha
Coir Village Lake Resort Kerala/Alappuzha, India

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coir Village Lake Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.