We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most romantic destination during my trip to kerala” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Coir Village Lake Resort

Save Saved
You added Coir Village Lake Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Coir Village Lake Resort
Valiyaparambu PO, Alappuzha 690566, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 59 hotels in Alappuzha
Patiala, India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Most romantic destination during my trip to kerala”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

Friends,
I came to know about Coir village , throug Tourstokerala.org. They offered me package with coir village. But at first i refuced go over there , because of certain reviews. But because of my friends suggestion we decided to go with that property. Honestly , who would like to enjoy the honeymoon very peacefully , muct need to visit this place. a great destination for minimum 2 nights. we got the cottage ,just opposite to the reception, in the 2nd island. nice view of the backwater. another memorable experince i had is the canoe ride which we experienced. But a small suggestion , the food part need to improve little more....

Thanks...

Room Tip: must need to go for independent cottage..
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Coir Village Lake Resort, responded to this review, September 1, 2012
Dear Nitin,

Thanks for your feedback.

We are very happy to hear that , you are very much happy with your stay at our property .

We will be assuring the same quality service an accommodation quality to the other clients.

Hope you will visit us soon..

Ohmkumar
08589-818-818
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    9
    26
    10
    7
    8
See reviews for
18
27
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Moorpark, California
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

Note: I was part of a tour group, so I didn't have to locate the place or drive around the area. I can tell you that the staff has a reputation for arrogance and indifference, though we were insulated from it by our tour leader and I didn't. During our stay, the only people I saw were our group and one Indian couple.

The location is simply beautiful Rooms - many of which are better described as "bungalows" - have verandahs with chairs and tables, and many are right on the water. If you enjoy sitting out with a good book, you can't beat this. The lobby and restaurant are across the river, and you get there by a canoe "ferry" that can feel a bit unsteady. The restaurant has an extensive menu. Service is slow, but there's a very good buffet for both dinner and breakfast so that's mitigated.

Rooms are adequate, nothing special, and have air conditioning and televisions.

Other than however you choose to entertain yourself, there is truly nothing to do. It's your choice if that's a plus or a minus.

Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2012

Not for indians. everything available was too over priced. cottages were very old. a/c wasnt working properly. very arrogant staff. no basic amenities. no activities. no cable. tv was old. nv food was horrible. travle was exhausting. not recommened.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

1st of all its NOT in Alleppey but a good 30km away from the main town..after going through what seemed like a neverending drive, one needs to enter the narrow, bumpy, village road which takes you to the resort...the entrance is not marked by any board or gate making it frustating to find. Once there the only thing lighting up your stay will be the location by the backwaters and the experience of crossing the canals in boats to reach your rooms from the reception and restaurant area.( some may find it cumbersome though) Our experience of spending 2 days here revealed a lack of basic resort facilities and services. We could avail of only 1 meal through room service after which they refused it. Ala carte menu though present was not served and all guests were forced to eat from the buffet which had horrid college canteen/hostel standard chinese and tasteless indian dishes. the saving grace was the rare 1 keralite dish (eg: appam for breakfast, fishcurry for lunch/dinner) I think the guests would have rather preferred a good local meal over their failed attempt at serving north indian meals. All food items were COLD unless you were the lucky 1st few in the buffet queue. Shockingly no snacks were served at any time of the day(again option is present in the menu) I dread to think what families with young children might go through when hunger strikes since eating options outside the resort are almost non existent due to it being in a village. unless ofcourse you want to rush out and DRIVE to the market area to bring back some fruits, biscuits and wafers. We also found it ridiculous when they told other guests they will not serve tea/coffee after 6.15pm since they are preparing dinner!! Housekeeping is poor too, our room had cobwebs, wet towels were not changed, drinking water not refilled till we requested for it, no laundry service was available.No attempt was made by the management to do something special for the guests in terms of entertainment or food ( we were there during christmas). There is no scope for sightseeing or shopping, the only thing you can do is boating. The options were rowing, going for a canoe ride through the backwaters ( which was fantastic!! relaxing and beautiful- Rs.200 per head) or going on a motorized larger boat/ferry. I personally would recommend the canoe ride---it gives you a feeling of being closer to the water than the ferry. My suggestion to the resort is to seriously work on improving their services otherwise its a complete waste of a beautiful location. with a little vision it can be turned into a great holiday stay option.

Room Tip: All rooms face the canals so thats a positive so for choosing the best rooms you will simply have to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011

Ok this 'resort' is a bit tired, but it's location on the backwaters is glorious. I wouldn't recommend it for more than 1 night, as there's not much to do except relax and soak up the scenery. Cottages are comfortable with a veranda overlooking the river and a good enough bathroom. Staff were friendly and the food was very enjoyable. We enjoyed the experience of being ferried across from one island to the other. There's no swimming pool, but it's perfectly possible to swim in the river and we had a lovely boat trip for bird spotting during the late afternoon. Don't go here expecting luxury - you'll be disappointed. But if you're looking for a quiet break away from the hustle and bustle, this is a good choice.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mumbai
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

Pls dont go there ...Horrible experience ...very bad service...they dont know how to talk with customers ... totally un co-operative service staff and the lack of basic amenities. not for the families. food was horrible there is no Swimming pool .. they dont want Indian people to come there they only want Foreigners because they are getting tips in DOLLARS ..... general Manager of this resort is arrogant.pls stay away from this hotel

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

Was a bit sceptical when I found out that this was a govt. run resort, but this place turned out to be a fantastic surprise!

Resort is located astride the kayal (the backwater canals). The reception and the restaurant are on one side of the kayal and the rooms are on the other side. One has to cross over using boats (the resort takes care of this...as soon as you step out of your room, a boat is immediately made available to cross over).

Rooms are superbly clean and with very good ambiance. Bed linen is clean and fresh and spotless. Bathrooms are large, clean and equally spotless.

Food is excellent. Room service is also great. We had a small kid (1.5 years old) with us and the restaurant staff were more than helpful in organizing food for the child. They were prompt in attending to all our special requests for the child (like sterilizing bottles, preparing oatmeals, etc) even at odd times.

The rest of the resort staff is also extremely helpful. Some instances: We were not aware that the resort does not accept credit cards and were not carrying enough cash with us. The only way we could have paid them was by drawing cash from an ATM in Alappuzha city (which we could do only upon check out). The resort manager was very understanding and accommodating and we handed over the cash to a member of the staff after we checked out. Another instance: We had kept some of our clothes out in the sun for airing and had stepped out for sightseeing. It started raining during the day, but someone from the resort staff was kind enough to collect our clothes and put them in a covered area, thus saving them from getting wet.

There is only one problem with this resort. The only way to reach and get out of here is via boat from Alappuzha. Guests are ferried free of cost by the resort to and from Alappuzha. But this can be a bit of a nuisance when one needs to go sightseeing as some amount of time is wasted waiting for the boat.

If the purpose of your visit is to get away from the madding crowd and spend some quiet time with yourself, your family or your friends, I would very strongly recommend this resort.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Coir Village Lake Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coir Village Lake Resort

Address: Valiyaparambu PO, Alappuzha 690566, India
Location: India > Kerala > Alappuzha
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Alappuzha
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Alappuzha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Coir Village Lake Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coir Village Lake Hotel Alappuzha
Coir Village Lake Resort Kerala/Alappuzha, India

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coir Village Lake Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.