We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over priced & poor customer service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Beach at Pollethai

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Alappuzha
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Beach at Pollethai
Pollethai PO | Mararikulam South, Alleppey, Alappuzha 688567, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 59 hotels in Alappuzha
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Over priced & poor customer service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2010

Good points: The private beach and excellent food. We told the staff how much we enjoyed eating Keralan food & they accommodated by 'surprising' us with good quality, well cooked, traditional indian food. We noticed that there was limited choice on the menu (expensive) so used our common sense & asked that the chef cook us meals using local ingredients. The resturant manager was exceptional & very attentive to our needs at breakfast/dinner.

Pool decent size but noticed that the area needed finishing & tidying up. Not a good idea to find dirty glasses/used towels hanging around the pool from the the day before. Especially when staff have time on their hands. Double room was spacious & clean - veranda was spacious/relaxing space to chill.

Bad points: This is an overpriced, expensive so called 5 star hotel. As other reviewers have mentioned, small things that disappoint. Namely the reception staff/management. Our lamp in our room broke on 2nd day, were told that it would be replaced/repaired but was still the same by the time we left. Wanted to use the internet (our flight cancelled at the last minute). Told that it wasn't working but no alternative/suggestions or volunteering to support us i.e. offering to use the phone. Enquired if next resort had inernet but their reply was for us not to bother. When we went to next resort, they were incredibly helpful & couldn't do enough for us. Unlike the staff at Pollethai who just blankly stared at us & shrugged their shoulders. Opted for HB but at breakfast a lot of pressure on us to order lunch, whether we wanted it or not.

Word of warning - check your bill when checking out, this place is about taking advantage of western tourists by overcharging.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    15
    7
    3
    0
    6
See reviews for
4
15
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2010

We did enjoy our stay at Beach at Pollethai. They seem to be relaunching under new management. We were lucky to be the only guests there for our few days - we had cottage number three which was very nice - decorated to a high standard and cleaned meticulously every day. We also very much enjoyed the private beach and the waters of the Arabian sea. The pool is large but needs a bit of sprucing up as do the sunloungers and patio area. I think the main problem is what other people reviewing have flagged up also - the service just isn't quite right. There are a lot of staff around but the 5 star service you might expect as a result doesn't seem to be there. It shows in the small things - having to wait a very long time for our luggage to be delivered to the cottage and being presented with stale cornflakes at breakfast to mention a couple. We were also a bit cheesed off when, on our first day, they presented us with a bill for dinner when we were supposed to be HB. We had had a snack at lunch time and they told us that that counted as the HB instead of the dinner in the evening, which obviously favoured them and smacked of a rip off policy. One real asset they have is a new chef who had arrived two days before us and really produced fantastic food for us at dinner time, culminating in a traditional Keralan celebration meal served on banana leaves on our last night. Hopefully, that is the sign of things to come and our negative experiences a legacy of previous bad practice, who knows? I think the problems with service are much more apparent in beach resorts in Kerala than any other sorts of accommodation because for many holidaymakers, the beach stay is the last stop before you head home and you do want a few days of real relaxation and peace. So a surfeit of staff appearing to be doing very little and waiting staff malingering around whilst you're trying to enjoy your food is really annoying.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2009

The best thing about this place is the amazing beach - white sand as far you you can see in either direction and blissfully uncrowded. But there are much better hotels in the same area - we left Pollethai and went to the Abad Turtle Beach down the road - so much better.

The Beach at Pollethai would be fine if they were charging for a 2 or maybe 3 star hotel. But they are not. They are charging 5 star prices and it's simply not worth it. The accommodation is basic and slightly shabby. The canals in the property are full of rotting leaves and harbour swarms of mosquitos (the manager called them "crystal clear" - what a joke). Across the canal from our room were heaps of black plastic rubbish sacks. The manager claimed they were full of leaves not rubbish and could not understand why we had a problem with "the view". One of the doors to our room did not work, the safe did not work, the cleaning was poor. etc, etc. In common with other bad reviews on this site we found the staff - while well meaning - are either incompetent or powerless to do deal with a complaint as they are ruled by the "director" in Cochin who cannot be disobeyed.

If you are paying downmarket prices then you expect a place to be rough around the edges and you put up with it. But the Beach at Pollethai is having a laugh charging top dollar. It needs a makeover and decent management but until then I cannot recommend it.

Stayed February 2009
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2009

We stayed for 5 days in April with our sons aged 7 & 9 and had a fantastic time. The bungalows are in a gorgeous setting between a river and beautiful beach. This is our 2nd visit to the area, we statyed at Marari Beach on our 1st visit and much prefer Pollethai for its personal service and attention to detail. We had use of canoes and were able to punt along the river on our own ticking off the amazing birds and flora we came across. Mathew is the perfect host and nothing is to much trouble. The Cooking lesson is not to be missed ....the food is delicious and maybe expensive by Indian standards but you are still only talking £3-£4 for a main course. The massage is sooooo relaxing and there is even a smaller version of a Chinese fishing net to try which the boys thought was great fun, though they did only catch a couple of crabs!

Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ENGLAND
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2009

We have recently returned from a 27 day tour of India. Our last destination was Pollethai beach. We were there 3 nights. The cottage was spotlessly clean. (No 3) and had everything in it to make the stay a pleasure. The scenery is fantastic, the beach goes on forever, and the pool wonderful to swim in after the heat of the day. The food we found to be very good, and because it was cooked to order extremely fresh. We had stayed in 19 hotels through India, and thought Pollethai no more expensive than any other hotel . Matthew and all the staff were very kind and helpful. It was a haven of peace and tranquility.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2009

This is a wonderful place to get away from it all. The cottages are all secluded and the beach is beautiful. All the staff, from the reception to the restaurant could not be more helpful, nothing is too much trouble.

If you want to switch off and be pampered with excellent service and wonderful food, this is the place.

There are free cooking classes every morning and wonderful breakfasts looking at the Arabian Sea.

Special thanks to Anil, Harry Kumar, Vithya, Daisy and the lovely housekeeping ladies.

Thankyou for making our trip special.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristol
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2009

We stayed at this small resort in march 09 and had an excellent time. It was peaceful, relaxing and the staff couldnt do enough to make our stay perfect. The cottages are spacious, clean and tastefully furnished. The food was first class and they could get good wine if requested. Be prepared 'the beach is primative and you can see locals in the distance using the beach as a toilet however the beach directly in front is kept clean and has a man perminantly placed to look out for guests. Matthew at the resort was really helpful and could arrange any service needed (ie trips). We booked this hotel directly via website and travelled airindia. You do not need a travel agent to visit Kerala. We booked our hotels via internet and just arranged a driver and car to take us from one place to another. Staff in the hotel receptions can book a car and driver for you and they are offiicially registared. We also visited Munnar, Thekkady, Kumarakom and Kochi. Easy to do yourself and we worked it out that for two of us it cost £700.00 less than a tour operator and we had more freedom.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Beach at Pollethai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beach at Pollethai

Address: Pollethai PO | Mararikulam South, Alleppey, Alappuzha 688567, India
Location: India > Kerala > Alappuzha
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Alappuzha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Beach Resort with picturesque views, with a river that runs at the side and channels that cut through the resort. The beach is private, and there is breakfast shack on the beach, with its own kitchen. The restaurant overlooks the swimming pool which looks over the river to the sea. Very exclusive and peaceful. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Beach At Pollethai Hotel Alappuzha
Beach At Pollethai Kerala
Beach At Pollethai Hotel
The Beach At Pollethai Kerala/Alappuzha, India

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Beach at Pollethai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Beach at Pollethai to your Saves list