We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Raheem Residency

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Raheem Residency to your Saves list
Raheem Residency
3.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Beach Road | alappuzha, Alappuzha 688012, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #47 of 135 Alappuzha B&B and Inns
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Perfection!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

I cannot believe this hotel is not number 1! It really is perfection. Everything about this hotel is perfect and it is by far the best place we stayed in india.

Our room was incredible - I loved having to have a step to get into bed. The service was perfect, the pool divine and the food delicious.

Go on treat yourself to a little bit of heaven.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    48
    19
    11
    5
See reviews for
19
102
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Princes Risborough, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

This is the most delightful hotel, in an old colonial house with oddles of charm and character. The bedrooms are very large with lovely high beds and you feel like you have stepped back in time. The only reason we could afford to stay here was because it was low season and we got a very good deal. We were the only guests staying here. The staff are very attentive and helpful, we loved our stay. The location is excellent being right on the

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

There is no doubt that the rooms in this place are stunning and you do get a sense of calm as soon as you walk in, however the residency is right on the beach front and we were bombarded with load tacky 90s music for all three nights of our stay. There were games, tournaments and an exhibition on the beach and the hotel had known about it before we stayed there. It ruined our stay as we had to leave every day and evening to get away from the noise. The communal areas are very dark are the restaurant is CRAZILY overpriced. It is structurally a beauty of a place but unfortunately we had a really bad time here

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

A beautiful old hotel, right next to the beach, about 2-3 km from town center, and about 4-5 km from the houseboat harbor. Spatious, clean & cool (temperature wise) rooms. Breakfast served on rooftop restaurant. Clean, nice little pool. Free Wifi.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

We arrived with an expectation of a Keralan colonial estate, but that's not really what Raheem Residency is - the grounds / gardens are not very big for example. Instead Raheem is about something else; experiencing authentic Indian tourist beaches from within a beautiful colonial villa, taking a few days out from occasional high levels of frustration that creep up in India, enjoying the gorgeous and large-ish pool, or simply preparing for a trip to the backwaters. The staff are extremely friendly, and when we complained about (nothing really) the restaurant closing through the off season, they were very accommodating and willing to amend booking. It may be a different story in the cheaper rooms, but the main villa is a great place to chill out, and soon enough we wanted to stay, not amend the booking.

Not sure the price is quite right though, could all be about 20% less, plus the alternative restaurant isn't up to much, so suggest they have a list of recommended alternatives, Other than that, perfect and very smart / stylish for at least a few days.

Room Tip: Walk north from and along the beach (and just behind it on the paths some times) for about 1-2 hours...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bordeaux, France
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

We were 2 friends traveling in South India, Tamil Nadu & Kerala. The Raheem Residency is the best hotel we had during our trip for its welcome, luxury and cleanliness of the rooms, quality of massage, nice swimming pool and attentive staff. We recommend it clearly with a special thank you to Sheen, the very nice manager who will help you for organize the visits of the backwaters.
Sophie & Pauline (France- Paris)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

We stayed recently for 3 days and nights and had a wonderful stay. We were really made welcome and every request was dealt with instantly and with a smile. The food and the service in the treetop restaurant was terrific. 25m from the beach.
We enjoyed every minute of the stay! Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Rooms in the original dwelling
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Raheem Residency? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raheem Residency

Address: Beach Road | alappuzha, Alappuzha 688012, India
Location: India > Kerala > Alappuzha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 135 B&Bs / Inns in Alappuzha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Raheem Residency 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Raheem Residency at Alleppey Beach, one hour south of Cochin, is an 1868 colonial property which was passionately restored in a classic, Indian style in 2003 by a small Indo-European private limited company. It is now recognized by the Tourism Dept of India as a genuine Heritage Hotel of India. Originally built by an Englishman, it was the home of the Raheems, an eminent Alleppey family, for one hundred years. Expect an intimate personalized service that respects your privacy in a sophisticated Indian setting with echoes of the Raj. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Raheem Residency reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raheem Residency Hotel Alappuzha
Raheem Residency Alappuzha
Raheem Residency Kerala/Alappuzha, India

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Raheem Residency, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.