We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the most wonderful travel experiences we've ever had” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pooppallys Heritage Home

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Alappuzha
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pooppallys Heritage Home
Ponga P.O, Alappuzha 688512, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 56 hotels in Alappuzha
Fall City, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“One of the most wonderful travel experiences we've ever had”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We can't thank Paul and Cecily enough for allowing us to share their beautiful home and for taking such good care of us. We were only going to stay a couple of nights but ended up staying five - we didn't want to leave. The location was ideal, right on the river (a much better choice than a houseboat), very quiet and relaxing. The room was clean, comfortable and quite lovely, and Cecily's food was amazing - we were introduced to so many new and delicious dishes, home cooked mostly with ingredients right from their garden. Paul arranged our drivers, boat tours and made sure we had whatever we needed, and we thoroughly enjoyed some great conversation. We hope to have the opportunity to stay with them again one day.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    51
    22
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
10
47
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, England
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

We chose Pooppallys as an alternative to taking a houseboat, and are so pleased that we did.

The house is authentic, beautifully situated on the river, and comfortable if somewhat dated. The home-cooked meals were delicious and used produce from the amazing garden (ask for a tour). Paul arranged massages at the local Ayurvedic centre and for a backwaters tour in a motor lauch which took us into the small canals for a real taste of backwaters life. Both recommended. Take the public ferry into Allepy too, lots of fun meandering from bank to bank picking up passengers.

What really made the stay special was the sense of being welcomed by the whole family. This was a memorable Christmas.

There are mosquitos, impossible to avoid in the backwaters, but they didn't disturb us in our aircon room.

Room Tip: The air conditioned river view room attached to the main house suited us well. Lovely to wake up and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

This place is great if you want to chill out and admire the view of the river, which is pretty amazing from the back of the house. Paul was lovely and made us feel at home. The room was okay.. No toilet paper though and we didn't seem to have any hot water. The food was very nice and the family are all very friendly! It is located outside of Alleppey so if you do want to go to the beach etc or to go anywhere it is a good 15 minute auto ride. Paul arranged transport so we could visit other places which all worked out great.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reedsport
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

A unique home-stay in Kerala backwaters
This particular home-stay is unique in many wonderful ways. The location I believe is a one of kind and stunningly beautiful at a bend on a canal lined with coconut trees on both sides. By taking a motor boat (recommended by host) you cruise the smaller canals that the Tourist Houseboats are unable to do. The Pooppally home is over a100 years old unique in its Kerala style architecture and use of wood in its construction. The cottage on a pond is all wood and has a warm antique feel to it. Modern facilities were provided to make our stay comfortable. The place is surrounded by a garden full of flowers, vegetables, fruits and medicinal plants. There is a fish pond where Joseph farms his own fish that he serves his guests too. Joseph is an encyclopedia of knowledge. He was a professor at a top university in Mumbai. He is a truly generous host (great conversationalist) and 82 is a living statement to his eco/yogic way of healthy living. Lucy is an expert cook who gives classes in Kerala cooking and serves some of the most delicious home-cooked foods many from her own garden.This is a rare experience on the Kerala tour. These types of homes and families are slowly disappearing in India too and only family members and close family friends are welcomed into such homes and families the way Joseph and Lucy welcome their guests. You stay here to feel the true beauty of the Kerala backwaters in a non-touristy way. You stay here to experience eco-living with a traditional Kerala family in a traditional Kerala family home and you enjoy Kerala home cooked food. You stay here to enjoy an experience that is like no other in Alleppey or for that matter in Kerala.

Room Tip: Rooms have a canal view. Cottages is secluded and in the front of the house with no view of the cana...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Italy
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Our stay at Pooppallys was the most memorable, beautiful, hospitable stay we've ever experienced. My husband and I planned an epic trip to India with Kerala being our last stop. First of all, Kerala is beautiful. Second, we were so lucky to have found Pooppallys Heritage Home. We felt like family. The house is beautiful. The gardens are fantastic. The food was out of this world. It was like we packed 5 days worth of relaxation into our 3 night stay. Our hosts helped to arrange a river boat tour, an ayurvedic massage, and trips into the town. Just sitting outside watching the boats along the quiet river is enjoyable. Taking a morning walk and greeting the school kids will brighten up your day. The Poopallys are a great family and they know how to make you feel welcome.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
india
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

Had a calm and peaceful time at the Pooppallys.An unique experience,away from the typical hotel scenario where you reunite with nature and wonder in awe at the river flowing by and the boats chugging along.Time stands still in this place!Being an old heritage site ,the rooms were very charming and comfortable enough for a modern day traveller.
With motor boats docking in right at your door step where you can just hop on after your breakfast {you need to book it when you check in},suited my idea of some unstructured holiday time and we enjoyed it immensely

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

We had a very memorable stay at Poopally’s. The location of this house is at the meandering corner of the river, and one could spend the whole day sitting in the courtyard or in the balcony, either looking at the changing moods of the river from the morning when children take the boat to their schools, during the afternoon when traders on the river will give you a warm smile, or in the evenings, just to enjoy the lights around the river. It was wonderful, and we will always have fond memories of the house. We enjoyed chatting with Professor Poopally, who reminded me of my grandfather, and always had the feeling as if we were visiting someone very close, someone whom we have known for a long time! The food was excellent: all homemade and cooked by Mrs. Poopally. The breakfast was ready even at 5 in the morning on the day we left.

In the evenings, we enjoyed the view of the rain from the house. When it stopped raining, I sat at the bank of the river to read a book, but the picturesque view did not let me read more than a few pages!

Being close to the town, we also got our work done comfortably.

I also look forward to visiting again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pooppallys Heritage Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pooppallys Heritage Home

Also Known As:
Pooppallys Heritage Home Alappuzha
Pooppallys Heritage Home Hotel
Pooppallys Heritage Home Kerala/Alappuzha, India
Address: Ponga P.O, Alappuzha 688512, India
Location: India > Kerala > Alappuzha
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Alappuzha
#5 Romantic Hotel in Alappuzha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pooppallys Heritage Home, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Pooppallys Heritage Home to your Saves list