We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sweet Stay :)” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nova Holidays Homestay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Nova Holidays Homestay to your Saves list
Nova Holidays Homestay
Punnamada Road | North of HMCA Church, Alappuzha 688013, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 56 Hotels in Alappuzha
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Sweet Stay :)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

We stayed here for one night in an AC room. This place is good value for money for those who don't want to splurge on resort stay or want to spend multiple nights at Allepey.The positives about this place are -

1. Clean rooms
2. Polite and helpful host - Eldos. He was really cooperative and allowed us to check in early in the morning at 8AM (the time our train reached Allepey). He also arranged an extra complimentary breakfast for us when asked :)
3. Tasty Kerala cuisine breakfast
4. The view of the in-house plantation from the balcony is soothing

The few letdowns about this place were -
1. There were frequent power cuts when we visited and when available, their was very low voltage most of the time due to which ACs couldn't work. When asked, Eldos confirmed its a seasonal power cut happening during monsoons.
2. Geyser in the bathroom wasn't working

The place is walking distance from the Punnamada Finishing Point and Punnamada Boat Jetty, making it convenient to catch the houseboat. However, it is a few kilometers away from the beaches and main town. Overall, a comfortable stay, would recommend it to people !!! :)

Room Tip: All rooms seemed identical, choose any.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    19
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
22
29
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chennai (Madras), India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

My wife and I stayed here for a couple of nights. It was a comfortable stay with friendly people around. The rooms were clean and the breakfast was yummy (Kerala food). Our host Eldhose was kind enough to arrange a boating trip for us. This place is near the backwaters and about 4-5 kms away from the main town.

My take: Value for money.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

We highly recommend staying at Nova Homestay. It's more than you could ask for, very comfortable and clean rooms with joint dining room. Very spacious with all amenities in room including ensuite with hot water shower, tv, air con, cupboard. Staff are very helpful and happy and nothing is to much trouble. Would definitely stay here again, location is good and lovely breakfast included. We also stayed on one of Novas houseboats and can also highly recommend this also beautiful boat, with everything you need. Staff are fantastic, helpful, friendly and really do make your stay enjoyable. All extremely good value for money. We also had the homestay organise a day canoe trip around the backwaters which was fantastic, nice relaxing on the water with a local canoeist, seeing and eating in local villages, plus lots more. Great services provided all round by the homestay.

Room Tip: All rooms have balconies and are of good size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

We stayed there for four nights. Quiet place, comfortable and spacious room surrounding by nature. Excellent breakfasts. Hosts Eldhose a and Lija are kind and attentive and gave us good advices . A nice place for a rest of few days. A little paradise !

Room Tip: Second floor, behind
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

Booked for 2 nights ended up staying 5 as the whole atmosphere was so relaxed. Eldhose and his family are very gently and kind and helpful. Recommended a friend to take us about in a tuk-tuk who showed us interesting of the tourist track places. Finally he organised an inexpensive way to have a car take us to Munnar. Nothing was too much trouble for Eldhose and he spoke excellent English which was very refreshing. Very clean and spacious rooms. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

Stayed at this great guest house for two nights, the hosts are lovely people and very helpful. The rooms are very clean, with high speed internet and decent fans so it's not to hot during the night. The breakfast was also delicious, will highly recommend!!!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, Maharashtra, India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

1) Clean 2) Homely environment 3) Near to Punamada jetty 4) Excellent breakfast 5) Best value for money 6) Big rooms with halls 7) Bathrooms are spacious with hot water. I stayed for one day and I liked it very much . Owner Eldhose is very nice person . Best place to have a morning walk & evening stroll . But no good restaurant nearby . Though free wi-fi is available , I never used it . For anything like backwater trip & local sight-seeing , just talk to Eldhose & it will be arranged .

Room Tip: Any room but first floor is good .
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nova Holidays Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nova Holidays Homestay

Address: Punnamada Road | North of HMCA Church, Alappuzha 688013, India
Location: India > Kerala > Alappuzha
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Alappuzha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Kerala family managed homestay provide the travelers- A Home Away from Home,It's located near finishing point and 2 km away from the city . We are 2 minute away from the back water and 6 km to Alleppey beach Our homestay and houseboat is well maintained with all basic amenities and tasty home made complimentary breakfast . All rooms has a living room, bathroom and balcony with garden view . We consider our guests like family members, not just numbers. We are dedicated to ensuring every guest has the best possible stay with us and are always on hand to help with Care Remembering it's the little things that often make the biggest difference ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Nova Holidays Homestay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nova Holidays Homestay Kerala/Alappuzha, India

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nova Holidays Homestay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.