We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful comfort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nova Holidays Homestay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Nova Holidays Homestay to your Saves list
Nova Holidays Homestay
Punnamada Road | North of HMCA Church, Alappuzha 688013, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 56 Hotels in Alappuzha
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Peaceful comfort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

I was very happy to be a couple of days in Nova homestay. A nice family atmosphere, peaceful location not far from the center and very close to a beautiful view on the backwaters. Everybody I met is happy with the very helpful and smiling family who is welcoming us. The roomsare spacy and comfortable. Thank you all...

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    19
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
22
29
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

Eldhose and his family were very welcoming and good company. It was very nice to get Christmas cake and homemade wine when I arrived and I enjoyed relaxing there for a couple of days before an arduous journey further north. The room was extremely good and fairly priced and the breakfasts were excellent.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

We shouldn't have ended up at Nova but our booking next door had gone wrong! They therefore found us alternative accommodation and we were relocated here. What a result it was... much better than the place we booked and Eldhose and his family were fantastic hosts and incredibly helpful. It's been recently refurbished and opened in November so pretty well spotless with polished tiled floors and two rocking chairs on the balcony. We didn't use the houseboat so can't comment on this.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alappuzha, India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

We spent 2 nights at Nova Homestay and would highly recommend it. It's very peaceful, spacious, clean and welcoming here and is close to the backwater cruise starting point.

The wifi connection is excellent and our room had a lovely balcony with a fan so we could relax outside.

The owner of the homestay Mintex was incredibly accommodating and helpful to us and is a genuine chap with a very good heart. He had a solution for everything and if it wasn't for him we wouldn't have spent the day at Marari Beach, which is well worth the 8km trip outside Alleppy. Gorgeous white sands and few people.

It was a fantastic part of our Kerala trip.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aussie in Asia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

I spent a night at Nova Homestay and highly recommend it.

On my arrival at the upper floor one bedroom unit a squirrel rushed across two trees to peer down at me. It was quite a welcome! The spacious unit was clean, the bedding very comfortable and the balcony with its rocking chairs very inviting. The dining area included a table, chairs and fridge. Wi Fi worked.

The host was very welcoming and helpful. There is a local shop and the ambience is wonderful - coconut trees, flowering orchids,and clustered buildings.

I will be back.

Room Tip: Upper rooms away from road preferable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

Nova Homestay is an incredibly conveniently located guesthouse, as it is a short walk away from "finishing point" which is where the Allappey's houseboats are located for the backwater cruise. It is also very clean and the staff were fantastic. The Homestay is very spacious and the atmosphere is quite luxurious - whilst the numerous coconut trees on the property maintain an authentic Kerala flavour!

The owner (Mintex Micheal) offered us some great travel advice for our stay in Kerela which turned out to be quite valuable as we were able to see many of the relatively quiet and secluded beaches which are not yet frequented by tourists.

We would highly recommend this Homestay to all travelers planning a stay in Allappey.

Room Tip: Have a chat with the owner and discuss your needs and budget, he will be able to help with specific...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nova Holidays Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nova Holidays Homestay

Address: Punnamada Road | North of HMCA Church, Alappuzha 688013, India
Location: India > Kerala > Alappuzha
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Alappuzha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Kerala family managed homestay provide the travelers- A Home Away from Home,It's located near finishing point and 2 km away from the city . We are 2 minute away from the back water and 6 km to Alleppey beach Our homestay and houseboat is well maintained with all basic amenities and tasty home made complimentary breakfast . All rooms has a living room, bathroom and balcony with garden view . We consider our guests like family members, not just numbers. We are dedicated to ensuring every guest has the best possible stay with us and are always on hand to help with Care Remembering it's the little things that often make the biggest difference ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Nova Holidays Homestay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nova Holidays Homestay Kerala/Alappuzha, India

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nova Holidays Homestay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.