We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great homestay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marari Leena Beach House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Alappuzha
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Marari Leena Beach House
Save
You added Marari Leena Beach House to your Saves list
Kunnel House, Kattoor, Alappuzha 688522, India   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 135 Alappuzha B&B and Inns
Bradford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great homestay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

Marari Leena is well off the tourist track, a 20 minute rickshaw ride from Alappuzha, 3 minute walk from the local beach (Kattoor), and a 10 minute drive from the Marari beach resort. Robin and Jancy offer simple, clean accommodation in 2 rooms. We booked both for our family of 7, a bit of a squeeze but we managed especially as the large veranda was a great place for us all to hang out.

Kattoor village doesn't really have a centre, just a couple of shops on the main road. The beach is beautiful - huge waves when we were there but the sea is usually calmer. Great to watch the fishermen hauling in their boats and sorting the fish. They do use the beach as a toilet, but soiled areas were soon washed away by the sea.

Edison (Robin's cousin) was really helpful, arranging moped hire (and going into Alappuzha an extra time to get a replacement key when we lost one on the beach!), yoga (a teacher came to the homestay to do an early morning session), massage at a local place, a rickshaw whenever we needed one. The food was good, there is nowhere else to eat in the local area so we ate all our meals here.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
23
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
SaarLouis, Germany
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

We liked the little place in the middle of a fisher village. Just 200 m to the beach. The beach is a not a touristy place, its a working beach for the local fisherman. Robin and his wife are great hosts. Edison was helping us to find the right Backwater trip in a canoe.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathmandu, Nepal
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

We stayed 5 nights with Robin, Jancy and their little son Abhi and it was just wonderful. Robin is a great host, he was always there to attend to our needs. He even organized a fishing trip for us which was just an amazing experience-- Fishing with a local fisherman on a foam boat! His wife Jancy made the most delicious food. All the food was local and organic. She even taught us how to make local Keralan food. The house is beautiful with nice trees and a pretty garden. There is a spacious porch where you can sit and relax, read or play cards. The rooms are comfortable and clean, and the service outstanding. Cheap price for such a great place. Our own little slice of paradise!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poznan, Poland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

We have stayed two nights at in February 2014. It is always more difficult to review a homestay than a hotel. You met the people, you played with their kids…

Katoor village is picturesque and locals are very friendly. Homestay is located some 200 meters from the beach. The rooms are clean, place is very cozy - only 2 guest rooms, one with AC and one without. The one with AC was taken so we toon the non AC one and yes- it was hot. Ceiling fan was working full-speed.

Food is the highlight - Jancy is a great cook. We could not stop eating! It is important as there are no other food options (restaurants, bars) in walking distance. We had breakfasts , lunches and dinners at the homestay and everytime the food was delicious. We love spicy, kerala style food, that’s what we have asked for and that’s what we got.

Garden is well kept bur small, no hammocks, no sunbeds, just few chairs on the porch - this could be improved, especially that there is not much to do here except relaxing and reading in hammock.

There is a SERIOUS PROBLEM with the beach – it is used by locals as a toilet. Many people are defecating there every morning and every few meters there are feces one the beach. It is disgusting. A few 100 – 200m clean stretches of the beach can be found 2-3 kilometers north by a few larger hotels located im Mararikulum proper.

Room Tip: Get the AC room if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poznan, Poland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

We spent beautifull 4 days in Robin's house called Marari Lena Beach Homestay. If you are bored hotels and want to spend a few days in a real home atmosphere is a great choice. Robin and his all familly are very friendly and helpfully. Food prepared by Robin's wife is delicious.The house is situated very close to beach. Is good advice for walk short distance along right site of beach to have almost own quiet and clean part of beach. At the entrance is a little contaminated by fishermen.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

This homestay really ticked all the boxes;

- friendly hosts;
- delicious, fresh local food; and
- a location away from the general Indian hubbub

Robin, the main host, runs the homestay in conjunction with his cousin, who has perfect English compared to Robin's serviceable communication skills. Both were so friendly and made us feel very relaxed.

The food was the real highlight of this homestay; Robin's wife cooks the most beautiful, delicate Keralan food and the portion sizes are more than generous. For 100 Rs you get a great local breakfast. Plus, they have beer.

The location is both a positive and a negative.

First the bad news which, on the one hand, I don't want to write given how kind our hosts were but on the other hand, this website relies on honesty. So...the beach backing onto the homestay is beautiful but there are lots and lots of fishing boats and lots of fishermen who need the toilet. Sadly they use the beach to defecate on. Anywhere on the beach seems appropriate and afterwards they shuffle into the sea to wash off. We watched spellbound as at least 10 fisherman polluted the beach in the space of 30 minutes. This turned the beach into a stool minefield best left uncharted.

The good news is that Marari beach is a 6 R bus ride away and the increased tourist presence seems to have stopped the fisherman, of which there are less here. It's a beautiful beach.

The only other gripe was the price alteration upon arrival. The non-A/C room cost 1500 R, 500 Rs more than the website states, which does mention prices may vary. But, 500 R extra was more than we were expected. Although it may seem like a small amount if you're budgeting for a 6 month trip, as were are, it's an unwelcome surprise and other travellers should be aware of.

Finally the rickshaw driver arranged by the hosts, with whom we stupidly didn't pre arrange a price, tried to rip us off. We feel the host should have stepped in and told us what the right price to pay was.

There gripes aside, very good.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

We spent three nights with Robin and his family and loved every minute. Robin is very attentive, interesting to talk to, and comfortable to be around. The house is lovely, the food delicious, and the atmosphere very relaxing. Robin even took us to an amazing local festival one evening, with thousands of participants. It was great fun and we would never have known about it if not for him. We were sad to go! We recommend this homestay to people looking for some relaxing days in a small village by the beach.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marari Leena Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marari Leena Beach House

Address: Kunnel House, Kattoor, Alappuzha 688522, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Kerala > Alappuzha
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 135 B&Bs / Inns in Alappuzha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Marari Leena Beach House Kerala/Alappuzha, India

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marari Leena Beach House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.