We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Homestay, very friendly family, direct on a beautyful beach.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Diana Homestay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Diana Homestay to your Saves list
Diana Homestay
Marari Beach | Mararrikulam North, Alappuzha, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #96 of 135 Alappuzha B&B and Inns
Weil der Stadt, Germany
1 review
“Fantastic Homestay, very friendly family, direct on a beautyful beach.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

We stayed for 4 nights and had a wonderful time! Sebastian was very friendly, helpful and funny. His wife also, and she is cooking fantastic - every day a great dinner!
What else can we say?!? The bungalows are directly on the nice beach, quiet, clean and with all necessary facilities.
You have to stay there it is really a very good choice!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    3
    0
    0
    3
See reviews for
3
6
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Duffel, Belgium
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

We really enjoyed our stay with Sebastian, Cecilia and their lovely daughters.
Sincere hosts with true hospitality !
Delicious homemade food with cold Kingfisher beer (important for Belgian clients)
The beach cottage was fantastic .
Sunrise and sunset were wonderful , and also tea at Andy's bar with all the fishermen.

Regards and good luck,
and good volleyball, Flor & Ria

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bollington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

We stayed in the beach huts for 12 days with our 2 boys (age 4 & 6) who loved it so much they still haven't stopped talking about it.... by the end of our trip Sebastian became Uncle Sebastian to them, he really looked after us. What an amazing family they are. we spent new years eve with Sebastian and his friends they where all so welcoming, real people with big hearts.

Food cooked by Celia (Sebastian's wife) is some of the best food I have ever tasted, she even made up special dishes for our boys! Diana and Niana Sebastian's daughters fabulous too.

The boys spent their days on the beautiful beach and in the sea, the local fishermen and their families are all so friendly, and welcoming...what more can you ask for.

Sebastian arranged a trip to Munnar for us with Josh who was a great driver and again we felt really looked after.

highly recommended....Peace x

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dorset
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014 via mobile

We stayed three nights in the main house, with great balcony and well appointed room. Sebastian and family were very helpful arranging transport etc. lovely round table to sit for breakfast and evening meal and you meet lots of different travellers to talk to. Reasonable price but no hot water and the mattress had rather large indentations for over use - take a pillow to fill the hole! Other wise great and magnificent beach and swimming is safe. Great meals on the beach for lunch too.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We (Family with two kids 10 and 12) stayed at the beach houses for a week, and enjoyed it very much. It was brand new, so we had to walk to the owners house for meals. But it was ok. The beach is not child-friendly, there is backdraft. But it is a small village, and easy to take a tu-tuk to Alleppey. We spend Christmas and New Years here and enjoyed the owners hospitality!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusseldorf, Germany
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

This homestay is probably the best value for money south of Cochin!! The Sebastian family are really nice hosts, we stayed in a new concrete hut next to the beach. The hut was nice and very clean we really enjoyed our stay. The beach is not crowded, nice sand and palms, a true insiders' tip, highly recommended!!

Room Tip: Hut direct on the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stanford, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Great hospitality offered by Mr. Sebastian and his daughter (and his mother too). I was getting back to the highway after a visit to the beach when we (I and my parents) chanced upon this place. We just dropped in to check if they offered Tea and snacks. I am not sure if they had tea on the menu, but they were kind enough to offer us very nice tea. More than the tea, I liked the ambience of the place and their personalized hospitality. The service was the most cordial ever: with Mr. Sebastian, Naina (his daughter) and the grandmother chatting us up. The 30-45 minutes we sat there was time well spent.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Diana Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diana Homestay

Address: Marari Beach | Mararrikulam North, Alappuzha, India
Location: India > Kerala > Alappuzha
Hotel Style:
Ranked #96 of 135 B&Bs / Inns in Alappuzha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with EasyToBook so you can book your Diana Homestay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diana Homestay Kerala/Alappuzha, India

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Diana Homestay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.