We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vedanta Wake up! along the dreamy backwaters, Alleppey

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Vedanta Wake up! along the dreamy backwaters, Alleppey to your Saves list
Vedanta Wake up! along the dreamy backwaters, Alleppey
2.5 of 5 Hostel   |   Near HMCA Chapel, | Punnamada Finishing Point Road, Alappuzha 688013, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Chennai (Madras), India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

This place is really Good. We went late nite at around 12:00, to our surprise the manager Mr. Uni was awake to welcome us.. The hospitality was too good. We stayed for 2 days and had great pleasant time there. Even the dorm rooms there were clean. We took two rooms, 1 - was a double bed room and another a dorm. Both were great. Definately worth the price. The boat house is just 5 mins drive from here. So it was pretty easy for us to navigate around. Also this place is very near from the KSRTC bus stand. Overall - Great!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    34
    7
    1
    6
See reviews for
13
14
34
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chennai (Madras), India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

I stayed there for 2 days and 1 night with a few friends. We had a very good time there, this place has a beautiful garden and it is very clean. The rooms have an AC and a TV with hot water supply 24*7. They also let us use WI-FI. The manager Mr. Unni was a very welcoming and friendly person. Made us feel at home and ensured we had all that we needed. Also helped us out with the info about the must see places in the city. Very good service, definately worth the money. I would definately go back to this place when ever i go to Alleppey.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

i stayed at this beautiful property for 4 nights. We were stuck in Alleppey due to the strike that was taking place. However, not for once did we feel uncomfortable. The staff at the hostel were really friendly and arranged for all our meals. The Gobi Manchurian that they made was super delicious, one of my best meals in India. The property itself is really pretty, with wonderful flowers and greenery all around. Really enjoyed my stay here.

Room Tip: The wifi connection seems to be better in the rooms by the reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

My sister Norma and I stayed here for two nights. We had an air conditioned room with en suite shower room and we enjoyed the experience. Apart from a squirrel in the roof for a short time and a large caterpillar coming under the front door, we had a good sleep. There was a power cut for one day which left us very hot and tired, but this was beyond the control of the staff. Michael is excellent, is good with guests and will do everything in his power to help solve any problems. He seems to work very hard with little support. Hopefully his internet is now working and he will be able to read this.
We loved our short stay at Vedanta and especially our trip around the backwaters on the top deck of the public ferry for just a few pennies - we recommend this.
It was lovely to meet the other young guests and to hear about their travels in India.
Top marks to you Michael - I hope you get your new bike soon.
Norma & Helen

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Wonderful clean accomodation not too far from the backwaters. The rooms are clean and the garden is quite spacious and relaxing. The staff were very courteous and were helpful in arranging a backwaters trip for me. Overall, nice and relaxing.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

This is a cute hotel located near the backwaters. Room was very nice with good ac. Bathrooms were good with hot showers. Service was good as well, the staff are excellent.

Strongly recommend this place to anyone visiting Alleppey and looking for a wonderful nights sleep with an element of fun.

Room Tip: Take the deluxe double room overlooking the garden!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goa
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

We came to Vedanta Wake Up! in Alleppey because of staying in the one in Kochi. 6 of us stayed and the rooms were immaculate, the garden was gorgeous and Micheal, the Manager, was extremely helpful and took us down to find a houseboat in the morning and also booked us taxis and tuk tuks when we needed them. Chai or coffee in the mornings and useful tips for the surrounding area. Worth staying in!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Vedanta Wake up! along the dreamy backwaters, Alleppey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vedanta Wake up! along the dreamy backwaters, Alleppey

Address: Near HMCA Chapel, | Punnamada Finishing Point Road, Alappuzha 688013, India
Location: India > Kerala > Alappuzha
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 77 Specialty Lodging in Alappuzha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Vedanta Wake up! along the dreamy backwaters, Alleppey 2.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vedanta, the highest state of consciousness and self realization can be achieved only while traveling. Vedanta Wake up! India’s finest chain of backpacking hostels, was conceived to address the primary concerns of backpackers and budget travelers. Vedanta Wake up! along the dreamy backwaters, Alleppey, is located along a network of rivers and is a perfect launchpad to enjoy a beautiful sunny day on the famous Kerala backwaters. The property is set on a vast expanse of lush green lawns and it’s architecture draws inspiration from local elements. Our rooms are designed keeping comfort and cleanliness in mind. We offer shared rooms with en-suite bathrooms as well as superior private rooms for families. At Vedanta Wake up!, we offer you an environment to meet fellow travelers in our lounges which are fully equipped with computers, free Wi-Fi, television sets, DVD players, movies, book exchange libraries, guitars, board games, maps and eateries. Our eateries will provide you with hygienic and sumptuous meals cooked by our in-house chefs any time of the day at very minimum charge. We encourage our guests to socialize and get to know each other through local bar crawls, sight-seeing trips, dinner outings, movie nights, karaoke nights and other fun activities almost every night (and there’s no curfew!). We provide assistance in arranging local tours and visits to nearby tourist attractions so that our guests can soak in the sights and sounds and have a memorable holiday experience. We also organize classes such as cooking, yoga, Indian classical music and Ayurvedic massages. You can check in any time of the day. Our young and energetic team will provide you with every comfort possible to make your stay fun and unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Vedanta Wake up! along the dreamy backwaters, Alleppey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vedanta Wake Up! Along The Dreamy Backwaters, Alleppey Kerala/Alappuzha, India

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vedanta Wake up! along the dreamy backwaters, Alleppey, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.