We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“View, view, view!!!!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Deshadan Backwater Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Deshadan Backwater Resort to your Saves list
Deshadan Backwater Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kaipuram, Muhamma, Alappuzha 688525, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 59 Hotels in Alappuzha
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“View, view, view!!!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013 via mobile

From the minute we arrived we knew myself and my wife made the right decision staying here, finding a hiden gem! Our room was lovely and had a great view of the lake as well as having a lovevly bathroom, with wifi in the room, and a modern tv, which we hooked up our hard drive to.Theres loads to do,the hotel arranged some fishing rods for us to fish, they also arranged some push bikes so we could explore the nearby village all of free of charge, unlike some hotels..The hotel was very helpful in organising a boat cruise for us, at very short notice.The staff are very kind and friendly and helpful. Its the little things that count and they would constantly do little things that made our trip better...For example we had a very early morning flight, where we left way before the kitchen opened...they made sure we had a proper breakfast before we left inspite of the time.We had a lovely valentines week there, and would return! For a establishment thats only 4 months old, this hotel has the potential to becoming the best resort in Alleppey.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anup B, AGM- Business Development at Deshadan Backwater Resort, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Sir,


Thank you for rightly mentioning the term what we are known as.

We hope our valued guests will come and experience the best of Deshadan experiences at all times.

Warm Regards


Anup
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    54
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
46
38
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
West Malling, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

A great new hotel in an awesome location on the lake. Facilities are excellent, the rooms are great, very clean and comfortable, and staff can arrange a boat trip for you at a good price. It's also worth using the push bikes they have for guests to explore the local area. We met some real characters in the nearby village and sampled some local cuisine!
Unfortunately the hotel hasn't quite got up to speed with the food situation as yet and a lot of what's on the menu isn't available and the service is slow. I think that they are aware of this and things will improve once the hotel becomes more established.
If you are a drinker be aware that the hotel doesn't always have alcohol so you might want to check this.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anup B, Director of Sales at Deshadan Backwater Resort, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for showcasing the property as the up coming best property in town.

We will maintain the best services at all times and keep Deshadan Brand at its peak.

Warm Regards


Anup
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

This sparkling new establishment showed great potential to be a first rate resort in the not-to-distant future. Excellent rooms, nice grounds (including infinity pool) and acceptable service. Would definitely return here

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anup B, Director of Sales at Deshadan Backwater Resort, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Sir,

We would like to thank you for your great comments which appreciate the fact that Deshadan Backwater is the property to reckon with in the future.


Assuring the best services at all times and we would keep your foresight as our priority.

Warm Regards

Anup
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Got it reserved through 'booking.com' for my family stay at Deshadan backwater. Having experienced Deshadan's hospitality before in Munnar, I was sure that I can expect more fun in this splendid Backwater resort. The scenic ambiance, the best in class guest service and authentic Kerala cuisines made our vacation a most memorable one. I would love to visit this place again in the coming years. Definitely, a recommended destination to enjoy your holiday with beloved ones.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anup B, Director of Sales at Deshadan Backwater Resort, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your great comments.

Such enthusiastic comments give us the privilege to say come to Deshadan and feel the warmth and take everlasting memories back home.

Assuring the best services at all times.

Eagerly waiting to serving you again.

Warm Regards


Anup
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Working in the hospitality field, i consider myself a hard to please client and booking into Deshadan after hearing some gutt comments from websites and friends back home in India. All i wanted was some peace and quiet and that was all more than what i got. Muhamma is far enough from hustle and bustle yet you dont seem feel lost. I had a villa by the pool and away from the rest which also helped. The chef seemed to cook up amazing local cuisine but was also willing to go the extra mile at breakfast for some continental dishes.
Only draw back i could find was lack of a bar, but i took that on the stride and was glad that i could stay off the drinks for few days.
Staff seemed busy but was friendlily yet not too intruding....we were left alone for much needed calm....loved it and will be back

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anup B, Director of Sales at Deshadan Backwater Resort, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear Sir,

The best comments we have received till date.

We are making sure to maintain the best of Deshadan hospitalizes at all times.

Looking forward to serving you again at any of our properties.

Warm Regards


Anup
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

This was the 3rd hotel in a tour of Kerala and Tamil Nadu taken bt me, my wife and a friend last October. We had the opportunity to stay here for one night before the official completion of the complex. Our room faced the infinity pool and the lake. The room, service, food and facilities were of a very high qualityand we had a very enjoyable stay. Thanks to the chef also for the cookery instructions for my wife. This hotel has great promise

Room Tip: Our room facing the lake was ideal
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anup B, Director of Sales at Deshadan Backwater Resort, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for your great comments.

Looking forward to receiving such wonderful comments from all our valued guests.

Regards


Anup Balan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We are just back from a first time holiday in Kerala and was recommended to stay at the Deshadan Backwater Resort by some friends who had stayed there in December. It is a brand new resort so we were expecting to find part of the hotel not totally finished but in fact, we were delighted with our stay. We had a beautiful room facing the pool and the lake. The surroundings were wonderful and the staff was extremely courteous and very keen to make our time there very memorable. We had a brilliant holiday and will visit again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anup B, Director of Sales at Deshadan Backwater Resort, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear Sir,

It is wonderful to read such an encouraging comment which in turn keeps our confidence at greater heights.

We are making sure that such comments becomes our regular affair.

Warm Regards


Anup
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Deshadan Backwater Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deshadan Backwater Resort

Address: Kaipuram, Muhamma, Alappuzha 688525, India
Location: India > Kerala > Alappuzha
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Alappuzha
#4 Luxury Hotel in Alappuzha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Deshadan Backwater Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Deshadan Backwater Resort, Muhamma, Aleppey is situated on the Vembanad Lake. 22 rooms which 02 private pool villa. The property has an infinity pool along with the kids pool. Restaurant along with Ayurveda center is situated on the waterways. The property can be checked-in through Road and Boat access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Tingo, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com and Odigeo so you can book your Deshadan Backwater Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deshadan Backwater Resort Kerala/Alappuzha, India

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Deshadan Backwater Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.