We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Add this to your places to visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Arakal Heritage

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Alappuzha
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Arakal Heritage
Save
You added Arakal Heritage to your Saves list
Arakal Heritage, | Alleppey, Alappuzha 688530, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 59 Hotels in Alappuzha
Colchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Add this to your places to visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012

If you want a quiet, secluded place close to the beach you must try this homestay run by a very welcoming and hospitable family. The accommodation is delightful. We had a comfortable double room with an attached shower and wc. The setting is delightfully Keralan. Palm trees, miles of white sandy beach within 5 minutes walk and very pretty countryside nearby. The food is plentiful and stunning. Homecooking at its best.

Room Tip: Ask for the bungalow with a tree growing through the veandah roof. Unusual and very pleasant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    10
    2
    5
    5
See reviews for
11
12
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
svendborg
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

Reading the reviews of this place I am unable to understand why they so positive. For the price of INR 6000 for a double room incl. meals I had expected a bit more (In Fort Cochin we paid INR 4800 for a very nice room at a good hotel where everything worked and INR 1000 for meals). There was absolutely nothing to do here except sit in a chair and relax. However in the evening there were a lot of moscitos and we had to go inside. The moscito net was too little
to cover the whole bed. The food was ok but nothing more. It did not have the touch of somebody who really cared (example: the honey was in an old pineapple jam jar, the rice was served in pots on the table). I am writing this because it says on the home page how fantastic Mini's kitchen was. It was not. The beach was very dirty (people had gone to the toilet in the sand). We left after one day because we could not stand it. The couple was nice enough but
at that price we felt cheated. It is realy far out. I think it is an ok place for young people and back packers but what do you do all day if there is nothing to do? I cannot recommend it.
In my opinion it should cost max. INR 5000 for everything, the kitchen should improve considerably and the beach should by cleaned up.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

A last minute addition to our holiday plan and what a gem. We had a terrific 3 days at this wonderful homestay where our cottage was excelent and the hospitality was excelent. Nothing was too much trouble and the food was perfect. Our only complaint......we could not fit all the wonderful food in without bursting ! The beach is reached via a short walk through palm trees and past fishermens cottages, with happy children anxious to talk to you. You will find that apart from fishermen mending their nets and launching their boats, you will be the only ones there. Paradise.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birmingham
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

We stayed for 2 nights in October with our 5 year old Granddaughter. We had a really lovely time and the family were absolutely lovely, making us feel very comfortable and welcome. Minni cooked us some delicious meals and went out of her way to accommodate our granddaughter who is a very fussy eater - it did'nt help that the bag I had packed with all her food in was mislaid by the airline. The area surrounding the cottages was fantastic, with hammocks hung between the trees and a pond containing lots of fish. The walk down to the beach through the trees and over a backwater inlet which was crossed by two tree trunks and a rope slung between two trees was just magical for both our little one and ourselves, and the night that Abi took us on a walk around his property to show us the wooded area beyond his house which was alight with fireflies was amazing......a moment I will never forget. The cottages are clean and the bed was comfortable, I really loved the open air bathroom, both during the day with the sunlight pouring in but also at night with the dim lighting giving it a fairytale feel. As others have commented the beach could do with a bit of a tidy up but its not the worse beach i have ever seen. All in all would highly recommend this as a place to stay and I certainly hope I am fortunate enough to visit again some day. thank you once again Abi & Minni for making our stay so enjoyable. Jackie Paul and Maddi Moomins

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2011

Whilst our stay was a while ago, the memories of it are still fresh! Arakal heritage was the first place we stayed in Kerala and it was a great place to start! We were greeted by our friendly hosts and a view of intricately carved rooms surrounded by palm trees with hammocks ready and waiting between them-amazing!

Off the beaten track and without a sign so definitely worth asking autorickshaw/taxi driver to give owners a call for directions!

Homestay a walk away from a beautiful beach where we were able to sunbathe without any probs. Never before have I been to a beach which was pretty much deserted! A real highlight was watching the fishermen fish and the ladies gathering together the catches as the afternoon drew on. Ladies will let you get involved too if you fancy it!

The room was basic but comfortable and complete with walled outdoor bathroom which was a real novelty!- birds calling and butterflies flying overhead! Room also had its own verandah which was lovely to sit out in.

Mozzies and flies of some kind came out to play at night but repellant coils were provided and verandahs are fumigated with some kind of insense to keep bugs at bay. Definitely worth keeping lights off in room at night as another way of keeping flies out.

On the pricey-side but rate inclusive of room and three meals a day and tasty ones at that..king fish curry a favourite!

A good stay!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2011

We decided to treat ourselves to a 3 day stay as recommended in the guide book. Having traveled all day with our 2 year old we arrived at 3.30pm and had to wait over an hour to get into our room - not a great start! Room was dark, bathroom small, fan was old &rickety and could hear the neighbors (arranging to check out early). There is lot of standing water around and you can't sit out in the morning with the mosquitoes. We changed our room which was better but a bit rustic, not sure how clean the outdoor shower room really was with constantly leaking cistern, mosquitoes in the room and to top it off the AC broke down. Worse part is that Abi made up the bill in his head when checking out and tried to charge us 500r for drinks and didn't seem that bothered about charging full room rate with broken AC. If this place was half the price we wouldn't complain but it is totally over priced and needs some serious investment in the property to justify charging what they do. On the plus the food is quite good and location peaceful..

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2010

I rocked up here without a booking and checked out the room. I was unsure at first as the rooms are quite dark but we decided to stay for a night and I glad we did. The rooms are really clean and the people who run it supply mosquito coils and other mosquito defences, which are necessary as there can be lots of them. There's a caretaker who always sweeping up, cleaning empty glasses from outside your hut etc which was good.

It's close to the beach which is great, but the local fishermen are always working there, so you can't really sunbathe or swim. Otherwise there's not much around, you get dinner and breakfast included but I didn't see anywhere else to get lunch or snacks from as it's not a touristy area at all.

I didn't experience any of the bad things other reviewers wrote, the food was nice and never cold. Having stayed in lots of places in Kerala I can say that this is pretty good overall if you're an adventurous sort.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Arakal Heritage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arakal Heritage

Address: Arakal Heritage, | Alleppey, Alappuzha 688530, India
Location: India > Kerala > Alappuzha
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 59 Hotels in Alappuzha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Arakal Heritage Alappuzha
Arakal Heritage Hotel Alappuzha
Arakal Heritage Kerala/Alappuzha, India

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arakal Heritage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.