We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good and value for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kayaloram Heritage Lake Resort

Save Saved
You added Kayaloram Heritage Lake Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kayaloram Heritage Lake Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Punnamada Alleppey | Alleppey, Alappuzha 688006, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 59 hotels in Alappuzha
Faridabad, India
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Very good and value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Overall experience: Very good - 1). good location (right on the lake) 2). good food 3). courteous staff 4). clean rooms

Couple of things that stood out for us was: 1). Staff is very courteous and helpful. We were travelling with 5 month old infant and the staff was very helpful in taking care of the kid while we dining or enjoying other facilities. 2). Location, right on the lake, you can just hop on to a boat to take a lake ride if you want.

Rooms: Clean with mosquito and insect nets. I felt the lighting inside room could have been better

Room Tip: Be prepared to pay in cash during check-out. Either did not have a credit card machine or may be it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    30
    37
    20
    16
    12
See reviews for
30
53
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013 via mobile

Staff friendly and accommodating. Need to ensure they have your preferred soft drink or beer in advance. They only had one bottle of beer at lunch & a couple bottles of soft drinks available. Rooms are clean with mosquito nets. For some reason they want you to pre order your dinner as it takes 45 minutes to cook. We asked if the chef could cook us some local southern Indian food of which she did. The dishes were not on the menu & they were delicious - worth the wait. The trip into town was easily organised but there is not much to see.

The pool was unclean ok to put your feet in.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Really a great lake side resort to stay in. Though its a bit difficult to reach but once you reach there it seems to be very great place. We booked a lake view room and room was very nicely done. We ordered lunch and dinner and I must say food was good and we enjoyed our stay very much. I would say this a value for money for me as I got 30% discount from cleartrip.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon, India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Theme of Heritage hotel is very good and I liked it. Your heritage room will let you feel like you are living in the ancient time.

Location is very good. You can see the backwaters from the hotel. They have provided the benches where you can sit and enjoy it.

But to reach at hotel, you need to go thru very narrow streets and it will take some time to find the hotel.

One bad thing is that you need to order the food in advance and they take hell lot of time to get it prepared. You will feel like this wait is never ending.

And beware of mosquitoes. There are lot of mosquitoes (may be in all hotels not sure). They will provide you the mosquitoes net. This net is very different and it actually feels good to sleep in that net. I liked this net :).

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhanesh123, Manager at Kayaloram Heritage Lake Resort, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Greetings from MIR Hotels & Resorts!

Dear Mr: Prashant Mahajan,

Thank you for taking the time to review our heritage property.We truly value the opinions of our valuable customers like you and we are happy that we had fulfilled your expectations.We will seriously consider and take necessary steps improve the food service & quality .Wish you a wonderful New Year 2013!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We have our booking in this resort from 22nd Dec 2012 to 26th Dec 2012. I have booked for Lake View room as shown in resort photo, but i was given a room which was neither lake view nor pool view. We checked in to resort at night, so could not realize the room location, but in morning when i asked the manager to change my room, they said they do not have any other room available, but would change it next day, but did not do that and i was in that room till 26th. Somehow i felt being cheated by the resort management.

Food is very costly and taste wise it is avg. Swimming pool was not cleaned regularly. One will find lot of insects, dead leafs etc in the water.

Only Good part of this resort is, its location .. it has the amazing view of backwater lake.

Room Tip: Book lake view room only after seeing it at the resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

How a good property with a beautiful locale and eye catching landscape can spoil a holiday by its poor managers; I learnt by spending a night at this "Luxury" resort, where all anti Luxury items were in plenty, for example power cuts, non functional AC, non working generator, live insects for company in bathrooom, TV without set top box, and very limited choice at the breakfast table. Unfortunately the smiling faces wth polite voices do not make up for poor performance, and it could not stop me from changing my plan from 2 nights stay to 1 night at the most........not to return till mprovements are evident.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

We opted for this hotel after seeing the rating & reviews on trip adviser, but after reaching there we were little disappointed. Entrance garden was not maintained at all, long grass, no flowers, and dirty canal, very poor landscaping. But as we proceeded to our room some hope emerged because the view from the room was amazing. But what followed took away even that hope.

It’s not only the doors and the room that gave it a heritage look but also the TV set, AC, and toiletries are antique. Ac didn't work for more than 5 minutes. During power cuts the generator broke down and the whole resort plunged into complete darkness. The dressing table was without any glass top and the underlying rails refused to hold anything. The pair of lizards in the room was also from the same era, kept chatting whole night. Bath room was without roof and insects/reptiles will keep you company.
The only silver lining was the constantly smiling & helpful restaurant staff.
Pine apple juice and fruits were excellent. Idly was also good but rest of the food was below par.
Our initial booking was for 2 days but we were fortunate enough that our travel agent arranged another resort for the next day which was too good.
All in all there is no sign of luxury in this “Luxury Resort”.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kayaloram Heritage Lake Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kayaloram Heritage Lake Resort

Address: Punnamada Alleppey | Alleppey, Alappuzha 688006, India
Location: India > Kerala > Alappuzha
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Alappuzha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kayaloram Heritage Lake Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kayaloram Lake Resort Managed by Mir Group of companies, Kayaloram Heritage Lake Resort,set in the enchanted landscape of Alleppey, offers impeccable services at par with international standards. Ideally suited for business travelers and tourists alike, the resort is set in lush green settings of Punnamada in Alleppey, the Venice of the east. Kayaloram is a true blend of the rustic ambience of Alleppey and the facilities of a modern resort.The resort also offers an Ayurvedic centre which has all the major treatments.Kayaloram has been classified under the title of Heritage Resort, by the Government of India.Sizzling backwaters Cruising along the stunning and unique backwaters of Alleppey gives you the most enchanting holidaying experience. The back water cruise along the narrow canals that interweave the rustic villages of Kuttanad gives you the most awesome experience. Hear the ripples of Vembanad Lake and feel completely relaxed in the rustic charm of the villages. It is fascinating to watch the village girls engaged in the various house hold chores in front of every house & men doing their daily works. Enjoy the savor of fresh coconut water; watch the toddy tappers tapping fresh toddy & village folk active in making coir from coconut husk.Alleppey gives you much more beyond these. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Kayaloram Heritage Lake Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kayaloram Heritage Lake Hotel Alappuzha
Kayaloram Heritage Lake Alappuzha
Kayaloram Heritage Lake Resort Kerala/Alappuzha, India

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kayaloram Heritage Lake Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.