We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very relaxing experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kayaloram Heritage Lake Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Kayaloram Heritage Lake Resort to your Saves list
Kayaloram Heritage Lake Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Punnamada Alleppey | Alleppey, Alappuzha 688006, India   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 56 Hotels in Alappuzha
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A very relaxing experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

The place is very near alapuzha town but when you enter you feel a shock of quiet and calmness. The view is just unbelievable! Kayaloram literally means at the banks of the backwaters and thats the main highlight of the place.It was so soothing to just sit and watch the gentle waters. One disappointment was that we woke late and so missed the sunrise!
I really loved the old ,kerala heritage feel of the rooms, and the beautiful landscaping. The rooms are cosy and aesthetically furnished.
We didnt have much time to try the fitness centre and other features. But I did try the ayurveda centre. They have a lot of options in massages and spa treatments.I took a nice, relaxing general body massage.
If you love sea-food you'll love the karimeen polichathu.All in all , a very rejuvenating experience!!

P.S.While you're there, I would also recommend highly the government's initiative 'see Kuttanad'. 50 Rs for a 2hr ride and you get a real taste of the backwaters and the paddy fieds!!!

Room Tip: rooms with the view of the backwaters are really nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    45
    23
    16
    16
See reviews for
38
61
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chennai (Madras), India
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

A fabulous Stay”

We had a fabulous holiday in this delightful little resort. Quiet, set away from the bustle of Alleppey and yet a perfect boarding point to a houseboat cruise along the fascinating backwaters. Value for the money you pay and we would recommend it our friends.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

Very good view from the hotel. Stayed in lake view room & experience was very good. Please be aware of food charges on the bill as sometimes its different on the menu & posted on the bill is different. Dont take Shikara or house boat from the hotel or else take it directly from the vendors. Hotel people double the charges of the same if you go through them rest everything is really good. Rooms were really good & experience of no roof bathroom was amazing too.

Room Tip: Lake View Room !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alappuzha, India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

We were not planned our trip , while chatting to a colleague of ours who suggested this resort. The staff were pleasant and the rooms were amazing with a open bath area. We loved the food, the boat tour was excellent. I enjoyed our spa a lot , We stayed at the lake view which had an awesome view . I would suggest this place for a quite and relaxing stay, it truly a heaven

Thanks to the management and staff of kayaloram ..we will definitely come back .

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

It faces the lake (and not a canal). Unrestricted view till the horizon where the sky just mixes with the lake...so serene...absolutely relaxing...the house boats the place is quite green too...and the cottages (with the innovative outdoor bath) have a charm of their own....its a well spread out property...you will certainly have a sense of space...

but the management is quite unimaginative....during our stay we actually saw only one person serving all the food...which by the way, was quite poor. DO NOT expect good kerala cuisine or any cuisine for that matter.

We also took a package for ayurvedic treatment/massage...we have had kerala massages in Goa....by comparison, the quality here was pretty poor...the person who does it didn't seem to be formally trained (basically someone trying out his own ways)...so I would certainly recommend that you can find some other reputed place for massages...

To sum up, if you simply want to laze around doing nothing and you dont mind the bad food...this could well work out for you.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012

We spent a fabulous couple of nights here at the end of a 5 week India trip with our kids. We wanted a relaxing resort with a nice room and swimming pool at an affordable price. Kayaloram was the perfect choice. We negotiated a great price ( you dont have to pay the advertised price!!!) for a lake facing room. These are gorgeous in old Keralan style - very tasteful with wonderful outdoor bathroom. The view was stunning, cool breezes off the lake and a hammock to lie in. Perfect.

Then we tasted the food- huge disappointment. My son was served stone cold spaghetti and other dishes were very poor but with a very high price tag. ( Worth taking a tuk tuk into Alleppey and eating at Indian Coffee House, Kream Korner or Harbour Restaurant). The waiters are really friendly but the young guy at reception is rude to customers and has no idea about customer service.

The lovely swimming pool does not self clean as they insisted. The pipe with the bag on it which is not actually in the pool does not perhps come up to international standards.

Then th interesting bit ( and i see other similar complaints). We were having such a good time that we decided to book in for an extra night on our return from our houseboat trip ( booked with another operator). We stepped off the boat the next day planning to return to a room. The terrible young man on reception said ' no room', no sorry or we are terribly sorry.....just no room! What could he mean as we had booked! It turned out that the room we had booked had now been given to someone else. Apparently there was a computer error but we suspect it was that someone offered full price when we had negotiated a cheaper deal. The youn man at reception was exceptionally un-understanding. In the end we stayed and swam and shot off to Alleppey's best b and b- Venice Castle!

All in all this place would be fantastic under new management and a new chef!!!! I would recommend coming here( with a bag of your own groceries) as it is truly magical here and if you are on a limited budget it is somewhere that is affordable with good facilities.

Room Tip: Lakeside rooms are fabulous. Other rooms are nowhere near as nice! The pool side rooms are only wor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012

I had visited the resort back in Aug 2011, and I had booked for a package which included house boat also. Because of the improper planning, the resort was not able to provide the house boat(overnight stay option)..and it was Onam time too. The GM promised me to refund 6000 rupees as they were not able to fulfil the reservation.

Its been 5 months since Iam working with the MIR headoffice in Kochi..and yet to get a word on the refund. Since my sister is a lawyer, Iam taking legal route to really teach them a lesson.

There are lot of good resorts around..please dont go here. These guys are good in marketing but really bad in service.

One more thing..the room that we were offered firt was leaking and we had to change the room admist heavy rain.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Kayaloram Heritage Lake Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kayaloram Heritage Lake Resort

Address: Punnamada Alleppey | Alleppey, Alappuzha 688006, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Kerala > Alappuzha
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Alappuzha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kayaloram Heritage Lake Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kayaloram Lake Resort Managed by Mir Group of companies, Kayaloram Heritage Lake Resort,set in the enchanted landscape of Alleppey, offers impeccable services at par with international standards. Ideally suited for business travelers and tourists alike, the resort is set in lush green settings of Punnamada in Alleppey, the Venice of the east. Kayaloram is a true blend of the rustic ambience of Alleppey and the facilities of a modern resort.The resort also offers an Ayurvedic centre which has all the major treatments.Kayaloram has been classified under the title of Heritage Resort, by the Government of India.Sizzling backwaters Cruising along the stunning and unique backwaters of Alleppey gives you the most enchanting holidaying experience. The back water cruise along the narrow canals that interweave the rustic villages of Kuttanad gives you the most awesome experience. Hear the ripples of Vembanad Lake and feel completely relaxed in the rustic charm of the villages. It is fascinating to watch the village girls engaged in the various house hold chores in front of every house & men doing their daily works. Enjoy the savor of fresh coconut water; watch the toddy tappers tapping fresh toddy & village folk active in making coir from coconut husk.Alleppey gives you much more beyond these. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Kayaloram Heritage Lake Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kayaloram Heritage Lake Hotel Alappuzha
Kayaloram Heritage Lake Alappuzha
Kayaloram Heritage Lake Resort Kerala/Alappuzha, India

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kayaloram Heritage Lake Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.