We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent homestay and introduction to Keralan cuisine” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Motty's Homestay

Save Saved
You added Motty's Homestay to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Motty's Homestay
Kidangamparambu Temple Street, Alappuzha 688013, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 59 hotels in Alappuzha
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Excellent homestay and introduction to Keralan cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We stayed with Motty and Lali in late December 2012 as part of our Kerala and Tamil Nadu itinerary. Even before we arrived, Motty was very helpful in making suggestions regarding our itinerary, booking a driver onward from Alleppey and arranging a houseboat. When we arrived, the room (in a separate building from the main house) was very clean and spacious and had everything that we needed for a comfortable stay.

However, the highlight was Lali's delicious Keralan home cooking. As a traveller, it's not often easy to get a taste of what the locals eat at home so it was great to have an excellent cook prepare meals for us. Having lived in Kerala all his life, Motty is obviously very knowledgeable about the local area, customs, etc. and took a lot of time answering our questions about life in Kerala and India more generally.

Overall, a highly recommended stay and I would not hesitate to return to Motty's should I ever find myself back in Alleppey.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOTTYMATTHEW, Manager at Motty's Homestay, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you Marcus and Jeanette for the nice review. We really appreciate the nice words.

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope we will have the pleasure of hosting you again!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    69
    11
    3
    4
    1
See reviews for
10
44
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Austin Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

I reccomend Motty's. We only were there one night and wished we could have stayed longer. The rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable. I loved the traditional outdoor, yet totally private, showers. I\nternet worked great. The garden is tranquil and quiet, yet the home stay is in easy walking distance to the main street. Motty was a gracious host, who served us tea and took time to converse with us about many things, including our shared passion for yoga. He insisted on getting up at 4 AM to ensure that our driver picked up to take us to airport, although we told him this wasnt necessary. I would stay there again and hope I will have the opportunity.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOTTYMATTHEW, Manager at Motty's Homestay, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Thank you Barbara for the nice words!!
Hope you got the yoga links?!!
Hope you will be back for a yoga break!
Best wishes,
Motty & Lali
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

From the moment we arrived to the moment we left, Motty and Lali were excellent hosts - providing maps, directions, and recommendations, wonderful and different snacks, tea, breakfasts and even a cooking class and dinner with drinks and dessert. They welcomed us into their home and culture while we had our own space a few feet away. The room was quaint yet comfortable. Having the bathroom and shower outside was a little different for us, which just added to the experience. Motty's is within walking distance to 'town' and some attractions, but I wouldn't suggest walking around at night as the road is not well lit. A fabulous stay in Alleppey!

Room Tip: Ask for a downstairs room if you want the outdoor bathroom experience and upstairs if you'd rath...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOTTYMATTHEW, Manager at Motty's Homestay, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Thank you Magan for the nice review!!
I hope you will be back!
And do let us know how you are doing with Keralan cooking!!
Happy 2013.
Motty & Lali
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

I stayed with Motty for 3 days at the end of a busy 3 week trip through India. Motty's place is clean and peaceful, yet central enough to be a 10 minute walk from the main part of town. The hospitality of Motty and his wife Lalai, who is an excellent cook, was lovely. I had two lovely breakfasts as well as afternoon coffee & snacks. Motty also helped organise a short half day tour of the backwaters as well as advising me the best route on my onward trip. For anyone looking for a peaceful stay in this area, I can vouch for Motty's homestead as a very good option to consider.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOTTYMATTHEW, Manager at Motty's Homestay, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Thank you Brian for the nice words! Thank you for the photo link ; they are good.

Hope to have you again with us!

Sincerely,Motty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012 via mobile

This is our second visit here over the last 9 years. As expexted, it was a wonderful experience. Located walking distance from the historic boat jetty, kidangamburam temple, market, etc, motty's home stay was perfect to explore Alleppey. Motty's knowledge on Alleppey and its history was educational! His wife Lalli's home cook malayalee food was a treat. She even gave us a cooking class on the local cuisine laden with spices. We even picked up her cookbook as mements. Overall great experience once again.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NatureTours, Manager at Motty's Homestay, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thank you for your nice words! Your appreciation will make us work even better to keep up expectations next time you come!!
Wish you a Happy New Year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
riyadh
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

We found this to be a very reasonable rated homestay with great homely services. The family owned property offered the good stay and the remarkable services with in a few amount of money. Its really nice to find such people now a days who are not at all carefull of making big money with the exploitation in the tourism sector. It was our first place in kerala and we really had the good opening of our tour. Good place for budgetted travellers.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOTTYMATTHEW, Manager at Motty's Homestay, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Thank You! Hope to have you again with us !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

I stayed there with my family back in Feb 2012 and I cannot sing Motty's and his familys praises highly enough. Delightful food, company, hospitality, I didnt want to leave. From the moment we arrived, early in the morning, we were entertained and educated about the houses and the local areas history. I thouroughly reccommend getting up earlier than usual and assisted Motty's wife in making breakfast, the recipes and simple techniques you can learn will allow you to develop any keen interest in cookery and make some amazing authentic Kerala dishes.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOTTYMATTHEW, Manager at Motty's Homestay, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Thank You! Hope to have you again with us !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Motty's Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motty's Homestay

Address: Kidangamparambu Temple Street, Alappuzha 688013, India
Location: India > Kerala > Alappuzha
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Alappuzha
#4 Romantic Hotel in Alappuzha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique Heritage Homestay accommodation offering peace and tranquility in the quaint little town of Alleppey -the gateway to the Backwaters" This traditional Syrian Christian home with it's gardenn view verandahs bring back old world charm . Comfortable en-suite bedrooms offers warm hospitality and excellent food. Guests have exclusive use of the comfortably furnished sitting room with its beamed ceiling and wooden antique furniture, and guests own private entrance. Emphasis is on the food which is cooked for you by the lady of the house using fresh local ingredients and home grown produce. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers so you can book your Motty's Homestay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motty`s Homestay Hotel Alappuzha
Motty's Homestay Kerala/Alappuzha, India

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Motty's Homestay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.