We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Resort in Kumarakom Allepey region” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vasundhara Sarovar Premiere

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Vasundhara Sarovar Premiere to your Saves list
Vasundhara Sarovar Premiere
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   VP 11 / 326 B, Vayalar | Cherthala, Alappuzha 688536, India   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 59 Hotels in Alappuzha
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
1 review
“Best Resort in Kumarakom Allepey region”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

I recently stayed at the resort for 3 days with my wife & daughter. We had a great time at the resort, it is beautifully designed at a great location. Fantastic interiors, spacious room and great food. We took jet boat ride, which was good fun. My daughter enjoyed her first fishing experience. Overall it was a very pleasant stay. It seemed that 3 days were too short, we needed at least 2 more days to enjoy and experience things around the resort. Swimming pool and kids play area were couple of highlights for us as our daughter was kept busy. I did use spa facility and found it really good, would recommend it anytime (Ayurvedic message)....value for money when compared to what i got done in New Zealand or Australia. Oh yes last but not the least the food was amazing. in taste and variety.

We plan to visit again on our next trip to India and most likely spend little more time along with my other family members.

Keep it up guys.

Anuraag Agarwal

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    260
    96
    30
    8
    3
See reviews for
184
103
3
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Kochi (Cochin), India
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

We stayed at the hotel to celebrate our anniversary. We booked the floating cottage. We had a indoor jaccuzi..superb...especially at the price offered. They had arranged a surprise private dinner for us with two waiters on call, that was really sweet. They had a good pool( which i didn't use as there were lot of people using it without any proper swim wear) .
The minuses: there was going on everywhere. the food was mediocre, and the staff are quite experienced.

Room Tip: Try to take the floating cottages.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anand N, General Manager at Vasundhara Sarovar Premiere, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Sir,
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedbacl. We appreciate your comments and shall certainly ensure that we look into the quality of food. We look forward to welcoming you back to Vasundhara Sarovar Premiere.

Warm Regards,
Anand.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I was here with my wife and son. We had a great time as property is nice and big.

YES :

1. Rooms
2. Interior and reception area has been beautifully designed.
3. Staff
4. Swimming Pool.

NO:

1. Food. Not much choice. They have printed saying 3 restaurants but only one operational. On room dining menu its written 24 hours restaurant but food is only available on particular times. They will not prompt for last order, it will informed to you that kitchen is closed although you are sitting and eating.
2. They don't have alcohol license so no bar.
3. I think they were less on staff when i was there. No attendant or life guard at swimming pool. No attendant at indoor games. You have to switch on lights and look for stuff.

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms have nice view but rooms in the reception building are more accessible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anand N, General Manager at Vasundhara Sarovar Premiere, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Sir,
Thank you for your comments on your stay with us. We shall certainly work on improving the negative points that you have mentioned. We do have a swimming pool attendant and the bar licence will be in place by April 2013. We have opened Chemmeen, the seafood specialty restaurant and are in the process of revamping the restaurant and In Room Dining menu that will offer you ample choice going forward.

Once again, Thank you for staying with us and giving us your valuable feedback. Look forward to welcoming you back to Vasundhara Sarovar Premiere for a more memorable experience.

Warm Regards,
Anand.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

This is one of the best properties in Alleppey/Vayalar/Cherthala zone to go on a family vacation. At the first instance, on seeing the approach road and entrance space I was little perturbed but that got changed once we were in. We stayed there during October end and early Nov 2012. We opted for a night at their own house boat (geetham) and took 2 nights in a deluxe room. The house boat is astounding with a 2 bedrooms and a nice lounge. Also on the upper deck they have a Jacuzzi and a great sitting area. The boat staff are very friendly and the food is yummy. The big advantage that you get in geetham boat is safety when you have kids as the lounge too is air conditioned and covered. The deluxe rooms are very spacious - literally ! The food in the regular restaurants and breakfast zone is great. The staff are friendly and they arranged a tour as a part of package. Don't miss the spa. The front office Ajai Raman is a great guy and could be of real help. Don't expect any sight seeing in Alleppey city/. instead go to Cochin/Ernakulam that is some 30 mins drive from the hotel. Excellent place to relax.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

i was here with my family for one day. initially we were thinking it will not be good, so that we booked for one day only, after going there we realized our mistake, cannot extend because our tight schedule after that. Very pleasant stay, the staff are very helpful, even they upgraded our room with out any extra fee, because there was some problem in electrical circuit of the allotted room. The food was very good, slightly expensive. one hour free boat ride was very beautiful and enjoying. Next time i want to go again in Sep 2013.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anand N, General Manager at Vasundhara Sarovar Premiere, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Mr. Venkat,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Vasundhara Sarovar Premiere and giving us your valuable feedback. It will be our pleasure to welcome you back in September. Please do get in touch with is for any further assistance.

Warm Regards,
Anand.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

This was supposed to be a very long-awaited holiday with our two young children after a very gruelling year for us. The property is lovely... on the shore of a gorgeous, quiet lake. It's got a lovely shaded treehouse-type platform that overlooks the lake and has some nice free activities for kids. The rooms, generally, are large, plush, with swanky bathrooms and nice balconies. But there are big problems and the management is not at all honest about these.

• There is no liquor license, so good luck getting a beer, never mind anything else. The management will not admit this. They allege the lack of alcohol was due to 'political problems'. They were going to charge us £50 each for a special Christmas eve meal, until we refused.
• The service is patchy. Some of the staff are completely useless. One evening, it took nearly 3 hours to get a cold drink in our room (the bottle opener alone took an hour plus). Often, requests were mangled... or things never arrived. Very irritating when you're tired and looking after kids.
• There is NO shade over the pool or playground, and even in December, it will be too hot for most children to play beyond 10.30 am, even with sunblock.
• There is one small, buffet style restaurant, far from the water, with no view. The other, more adult place down by the water is not up and running yet despite the property being active since 2012.
• There is no babysitting, despite assurances to the contrary - very very disappointing as we were really relying on this.
• The rooms above the reception are bombarded by Muzak as well as live music all evening, which drove me insane. Over Christmas, it was an non-stop medley of Jingle Bells... and very loud Keralan music until at least 9.30 p.m. so impossible to be quiet or enjoy a movie.
• On the first morning, I spotted broken glass at the playground; then shards of a broken glass by the pool. They serve drinks in glasses all around the pool and don't seem to see the safety issue... again, insane and totally unnecessary.
• We had to complain vociferously to get a better room. We were told we'd get a suite... we did not in the end. One room offered to us was overrun by huge cockroaches. I can understand this might come with the tropical climate... but with a crawling infant, not acceptable.
• A Balinese massage in the spa cost about £50 (!!) and was frankly, terrible.
• Our first room had two twin beds...!!!!!!!! Not able to snuggle with husband or kids. Our second room (we rejected two other rooms before being offered that one) finally had a proper big bed and was quiet. We did enjoy the final couple of days more...
• As I said, the general manager is not honest about these problems and not very pro-active in dealing with them. Other managers were apologetic, but that's not very comforting when your only annual holiday is ruined by idiotic short-comings.

Properties like this only underscore that compared to Thailand or Sri Lanka, India is no longer very good value for money. Things are now EXPENSIVE, but not up to scratch.

Room Tip: If you are going to stay... ask for one of the first floor rooms down by the floating cottages (1124...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anand N, General Manager at Vasundhara Sarovar Premiere, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear M'am,

Thank you for your detailed feedback. We have gone through your points in detail and will certainly be addressing all the points mentioned. If you re-collect, we had gone out of our way to ensure that you and your family is made comfortable in every manner possible and that your holiday is not spoilt.
- Due to the lack of a bar licence, we had send a complimentary bottle of wine to your room and offered to serve you anytime in the room.
- Since you were not happy about the twin beds in the room, we shifted you immediately to a Deluxe suite with a king size bed. Since that room was near the restaurant with live music, you opted not to stay there and hence moved to a Deluxe room. This upgrade was also done at no additional charges.
- Though one of our associates initially mentioned that baby sitting was not available, the Front Office Manager came back to you with the information that we do have such a facility and we can offer you the same but it was never availed.
- Since your stay was during the last week of December, we had organized live music concerts on all the days during dinner to make the stay of our guests more lively and enjoyable as we had a theme dinner for every evening. It is unfortunate that the music had the opposite effect on you though our intention was quite the opposite.

Once again, my sincere apologies if you felt that we were not being honest. At every juncture during your stay, we had been in touch with you to ensure that you are comfortable and every member of our team was briefed to ensure that you will not have any further reasons to complain.

Please be rest assured that our shortcomings are being taken up very seriously to ensure that discerning guests like you will not walk away un-satisfied.

Warm Regards,
Anand.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Brunswick, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

I was in Kerala visiting family and friends and thought to take time off from a hectic schedule to relax. Backwaters in Kerala is a destination revered for its natural beauty where time still stands. I found Vasundhara resort a newly opened five star boutique hotel with all amenities including it's own deluxe houseboat located on the backwaters.

Myself and family stayed at the resort for three nights - the rooms were deluxe yet with traditional Kerala decor. The restaurant serves some of the best Kerala dishes I have eaten with nightly live musicals. A nice touch when you are having mouth watering dishes! Being Indian I asked the singer to play a oldie favorite of mine and he obliged - which I thought was a memorable touch. Also, there is nightly traditional Kerala entertainment like traditional folk dance.

The staff and service totally what you would expect from a Taj or Oberoi hotels - superb! My wife enjoyed the spa which I heard is now among the top in Kerala. The swimming pool kept the kids busy and overall this was a fabulous resort which didn't put a dent on my wallet.

We had a fabulous time and didn't want to leave! All of us cannot wait to be back again next year. Varghese, New York, USA.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anand N, General Manager at Vasundhara Sarovar Premiere, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Sir,
Thank you very much for staying with us and for giving us your feedback. I shall certainly share the compliments with the entire team who made your stay enjoyable.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Vasundhara Sarovar Premiere soon and in case of any assistance required, please do not hesitate to get in touch with us.

Warm Regards,
Anand.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vasundhara Sarovar Premiere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vasundhara Sarovar Premiere

Address: VP 11 / 326 B, Vayalar | Cherthala, Alappuzha 688536, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Kerala > Alappuzha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Alappuzha
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Alappuzha
#1 Family Hotel in Alappuzha
#2 Spa Hotel in Alappuzha
#3 Romantic Hotel in Alappuzha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Vasundhara Sarovar Premiere 4.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vasundhara Sarovar Premiere is a new premium backwater resort located on the tranquil and un-explored backwaters of Vayalar near Chertala strategically located mid-way between Cochin, Alleppey and Kumarakom. We have a wide array of rooms from Superior, Deluxe, Heritage, Deluxe Suite, Vasundhara Suite, Floating Cottages & Fully Air-conditioned Houseboat. A luxury Spa managed by Spa professionals offering traditional Ayurvedic and Western therapies offers 08 treatment rooms in a luxurious environment. An in-house Ayurvedic Doctor is always available for free consultation and conduct treatments like Rejuvenation program, spine care, skin care, slimming etc. The wide spread layout, amazing views from every room, multitude of activities both within and outside the resort, wide array of room categories to choose from etc will ensure that we can cater to your every request and ensure that you will have a memorable stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Vasundhara Sarovar Premiere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vasundhara Sarovar Premiere Kerala/Alappuzha, India

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vasundhara Sarovar Premiere, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.