We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“christmas 2013” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Taamara

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Alappuzha
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Taamara
Save
You added Taamara to your Saves list
Near Kannankara Church Vaaranam | Thanneermukkom, Alappuzha, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“christmas 2013”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

We stayed at Taamara on Christmas Eve & Christmas Day a Haven of Tranqulity that you absorbed as soon as you set foot in the beautifully kept tropical gardens. Host Nirmala & her husband made us feel so welcome, they showed us to our comfortable room with veranda overlooking the lake and backwaters .They so thoughtfully put up and decorated a Christmas tree and filled pots with floating petals on the veranda which was directly outside our room. It was heaven just to relax after a hectic few days travelling .watching the sun rise and sunsets and the houseboats lazingly drift by was quite magical and calming . On Christmas morning Nirmala arranged for my husband to go fishing and I watched her cook an amazing Lobster Curry for Christmas Lunch . The food here is exceptional such a variety of authentic homemade Kerala curries , side dishes and breads just amazing !! (We came away with a few recipes ) Christmas evening we were taken on a boat trip to watch the sunset ..perfect end to a perfect couple of days at Taamara. I would also like to mention the staff there are just a few who were very friendly & attentive all adding to this lovely christmas experiance We would definatly recomend a stay here .
Angie & Brian Malone Bournemouth UK

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
5
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We spent two wonderful days and nights here and wished we could have stayed longer. The food was absolutely first class and the hosts were charming. The location was a perfect retreat from the hustle and bustle of the towns. The sunsets and sunrises over the lake from our room were stunning and we would recommend this to anybody. We would love to return one day.

Andrew and Sylvia Bath England

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

My wife and I decided to take a break in Kerala for a couple of days last December. I'm in the travel business myself, and quote aware of the numerous properties that dot Kerala. However, Taamara was still unknown to us because they hardly advertise or promote themselves actively. After reading a bit on tripadvisor and having a look at their website, we decided to book with them.

Right from the start the communication with Mrs. Nirmala Babu, (who owns and runs the property with her husband) was smooth and extremely helpful. Not the typical 'Reservations' attitude that you get from many. On arrival, we were blown away by the location and absolutely beautiful manner in which the property has been conceptualized and designed. Boutique, but in the most personal and stylish way. The rooms were gorgeous and welcoming with lovely bathrooms and views.

The one stand-out factor in this property though is the food! I'm a Malayali, but seldom have I had the opportunity to sample such mouth-watering cuisine, as what was served to us at Tamara. The attention to flavour, texture and taste made it one of the best culinary experiences I have ever had. If anything, come at least to eat here.

The staff here are minimal, as should be in such a small and private property. Do not expect room service, tv's and people at your beck and call. Frankly, then a larger hotel would be better suited to you. All that they have done, keeps with the exclusivity of the place.

Dont miss out on Taamara and their hospitality if you're looking for that elusive sense of privacy and peace in Kerala at a very reasonable cost!

Room Tip: Ground floor room with a private deck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

The view from the deck on the morning, evening was simply fabulous. The silence of the place is a boon, coming from a city. I spent only a night here. But I long to return. Worth every penny, definitely recommended.

Room Tip: Look a room on the upper deck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

Regrettably we only spent one night at this lovely little homestay, but the backwater setting was exquisite and the hosts absolutely lovely. We had a delicious homecooked meal and rooms were nicely appointed. Wish we could have spent more time!

Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Taamara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taamara

Address: Near Kannankara Church Vaaranam | Thanneermukkom, Alappuzha, India
Location: India > Kerala > Alappuzha
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 78 Specialty Lodging in Alappuzha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Taamara Kerala/Alappuzha, India

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taamara, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.