We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful family - true Keralan hospitality in beautiful traditional farmhouse” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Thevercad Alleppey Homestay

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Alappuzha
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Thevercad Alleppey Homestay
Save
You added Thevercad Alleppey Homestay to your Saves list
Kainakary, Alappuzha 688 501, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 135 Alappuzha B&B and Inns
Exmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“Delightful family - true Keralan hospitality in beautiful traditional farmhouse”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

Stayed for 3 nights and thoroughly enjoyed our visit - 150 yr old farmhouse, 6th generation in family - lots of character in the 2 rooms converted from an old granary - all wood and new bathrooms. Nothing was too much trouble - the whole family went out of their way to serve us and make our stay comfortable. Food, as everyone else has mentioned, was excellent, some of the best we have had in nearly 3 weeks in Kerala. We went on a 4 hour boat trip, organised by George, and also took a tuktuk into Alleppey which was fun - again, George/Bindu made sure the driver knew where to take us and stayed on hand. Lots going on right in front of the sit-out - endless rice barges, ferries, canoes, salesmen etc as well as lots of people going about their everyday lives (plenty of smiling school children on their way to the two nearby schools). Out the back it was entirely different - a vibrant green landscape of paddy fields. Would certainly recommend - a very enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
30
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chichester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights over new years eve and had a great time. This is wonderful, caring family who went out of their way to make our stay as enjoyable and comfortable as possible. The food was sensational (thank you Bindhu). Bindhu and George went out of their way at every meal to try and cater for our very fussy children (aged 3 and 6). Their sons were delightful and our children adored playing with them - cricket one afternoon, and then fishing in the river - we even caught a little fish! They put on fire works and sparklers on new years eve as a surprise which was amazing, and organised a boat trip for us. When our son became unwell again they were very attentive making sure we had the help we needed. The room was beautifully finished in dark wood and had a big comfortable bed, and we loved the outside bathroom.
We had a great stay here and would totally recommend it.
Thank you George, Bindhu and family.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

Simply can't say enough good things about the two days we spent at this beautiful homestay with this lovely family! Loved the peace & quiet, the local walks, the tropical green landscape and beautiful rice fields, friendly villagers and school children, and the sunset boat cruise George arranged. George was away most of the time, at a funeral, and then picking his son Thomas up from the seminary in Alleppey where he is studying to be a priest, but Bindhu and Alex (George & Bindhu's 17 year old son) made us feel so welcome and at home, and we really enjoyed the time we spent talking and getting to know them. As other's have said Bindhu is a fabulous cook, and we enjoyed the delicious meals. The house was beautiful and our room and outdoor bathroom were very comfortable, with a very comfortable bed and excellent air conditioning, which we really needed because of the heat & humidity though the mornings were cool and comfortable. Have never slept so well! Enjoyed this so much more than a houseboat because we had the opportunity to walk along the paths through the rice fields and along the canals, and meet people along the way to experience the life in the backwaters. Some of the children spoke a bit of English and as we passed one of the houses along a canal a man who was outside in his garden invited us in to chat. He was a retired anesthesia technician who spoke good English. All in all, it was a perfect homestay and a wonderful respite from the noise and chaos of India. An absolute highlight of our 3 weeks in Southern India.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

I spent a couple of days at Thevercad with a friend at the beginning of November. Having stayed at several backwaters homestays, I can say this is really the best kind of homestay you can find in the area. Beautiful nicely restored heritage house stands right by the river. You can arrive by a local passenger boat from Alleppey, as we did. It is a colourful little trip in itself with all the locals on board. And then you will be welcomed by the lovely family! George and one of his sons came to meet us in the boat stop. His wife Bindu was waiting for us in the house with refreshing welcome drinks... We started to enjoy our stay right from the very start!
The next day we went to see the sunrise with the local boatman (to the background you will hear temples playing music which hovers to you over the water, magical... :) and came back for the breakfast waiting for us. As I think all other reviewers also have mentioned, in this house you will probably get some of the best meals of your trip to India. With graceful service by Bindu and George. This is something we really appreciated most - that all family members interacted with guests. We fondly remember our chats about life in Kerala with Bindu at mealtimes and her advice about Indian jewellery. We'll try to find that shop next time :)
In the daytime you can easily take long walks in the neighbourhood, either on your own or with a guide. We did both. Local people are very friendly so you can always ask for the way if it seems that you got a bit lost. The local guide pointed out some Indian birds to us, so you will know who is a drongo or a golden oriole or that the Indian robin doesn't look like the European robin at all :)
The family can also arrange boat trips for you. And it's equally lovely just to sit on the verandah, sip tea or some beer and watch the world go by.
Our total relax stay was over only too soon. However, I (we) will do our best to be back by April next year :)

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knysna
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

Thevercad is the perfect location from which to enjoy the Backwaters, The house is a beautifully kept heritage house with 2 skillfully converted guest rooms, with unusual outside bathrooms. Each has its own verandah on which to watch the daily life of the river pass by. There is always so much to see, from ferries, the local fish man, rice barges carrying tourists and canoes carrying
anything from passengers to heavy loads of goods to goats!
George and Bindu are very gracious hosts and are always there to give suggestions about where to go and what to see. They will happily arrange ferry rides or canoe trips around the smaller backwaters, which is truly unmissable. Their two younger sons were at home while we were there and they were as charming as their parents. Alex took time to proudly show us the films of his father's snake boat races of which he is the captain.
Bindu is an excellent cook and each meal offered up some new delight. She loves doing what she does and it shows. She and George go out of their way to make you feel at home and we were very sorry to leave.

We hope to be back in the future.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

We had a wonderful stay - we were welcomed as part of the family and were treated with great kindness and respect (my 83 year old father absolutely loved it). The houseboat trip George arranged was good fun and the food was great. Hope to come back with the rest of my family one day.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

We enjoyed a lovely stay at Thevercad and from the moment of booking to our departure George and Bidou were fantastic. We were a little concerned as the Backwaters were the most touristic area we visited in Kerala but Thevercad is well away from the noise of Allepey. Days were spent walking in the area or taking the local ferry. The food was excellent and Bidou was kind enough to have my wife in the kitchen with her to add to her many recipe notes. George has limited English (still better than my Malayalam!) but was extremely attentive and always had a smile. Alex was great to chat with, they are a wonderful family. We absolutely loved the outdoor bathroom. To shower under a pink sky with fruit bats passing overhead was something we wil not forget. We stayed well clear of the houseboats, a flow of westerners doing there bit to create noise, pollution and have no connection to the people was not our bag. Far better we thought to get away from the main rivers and glide silently by paddle power with a local guide. We enjoyed it so much we will return, thank you George and Bidou, we would thoroughly Thevercad as the perfect and tranquil base for this watery world.

Room Tip: Ear plugs might be useful, you can easily here people talking in the adjoining room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Thevercad Alleppey Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thevercad Alleppey Homestay

Address: Kainakary, Alappuzha 688 501, India
Location: India > Kerala > Alappuzha
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 135 B&Bs / Inns in Alappuzha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Thevercad Alleppey Homestay Kerala/Alappuzha, India

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thevercad Alleppey Homestay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.